We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jock Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
US$1,887
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveller rating
545
52
10
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
52
10
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday bedplunge pooloutdoor showerour honeymoongame drivesthe riverdry river bedevening drivewild dogshis knowledgewake up callamazing experienceprivate concessionspot animalshigh teablack rhinowonderful memories
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 613 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Safari:
We stay 3 nights /4days and we went out on Safari 6 times (4 hours each).
Our safari was better than our best expectation because of our ranger JV.
JV is so knowledgeable about wild life,birds,snakes,galaxy........
The most important condition on a safari is your ranger, he is always with you ,so if you choose Jock ask for JV and will be assured of a 1er class safari with a one of a kind ranger!!!
Food;
The food was 5 stars,every things was perfect.
Lodging:
The layout is perfect,very intimate,big bedroom and bathroom,outdoor shower,
camp bed outside for day rest,plunge pool,and sun bath long chairs.
The only complain is that it's need maintenance to be 5 stars.The pool has to be paint,the camp bed sheet was stain and appearing not very clean. It is not so wear off that it's a no go but to be call 5 stars you need to be impeccable!!!
But the layout and room are well thought of and have potential to be easly 5 stars.
Getting there:
We flight for JoBurg to Skukuza air strip with Bateleur Air a private chartered air.
Small 8 seats plane landing directly in Kruger Park at 40 minutes very slow driving to the lodge and able to see on your way some animals.
For us it was wroth the money since the other option is to commercial flight to an airport outside Kruger Park and commute for 1.5 to 2 hours drive to lodge.
Booking;
All our airport transfer from JoBurg to BateleurAir and the Jock Lodge booking has been done by Rudie of Felleng Tours who is a very very good and experienced private tour operator in JoBurg.(go see on TripAdvisor-Felleng Tours)
All went very well and was one time because of Rudie.

Recommendation:

Yes ,yes go and book with Rudie (Felleng Tours)and ask for JV ,it's a must!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yves48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here in April 2011 with a small family group for 2 nights. It was great hotel in the middle of the national park. The rooms overlooked the plains with a small plunge pool outside. All meals and drinks were included, all of which were delicious. As a vegetarian, I often struggled in South Africa, but special dietary requirements were not a problem at all. During the day we had the pleasure of doing several safari tours with Jaques - a highly personable and professional guide that ensured we got the most out of our time in Kruger. So much so that we managed to see the Big 5 for 2 days in a row! It was an awesome experience and made the very early sunrise starts all the worthwhile. Highly recommend this hotel and would easily stay here again if visiting Kruger again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A buddy of mine suggested we go here on a safari for his 40th birthday, and as part of my 'bachelor party tour' lol. We arrived at the end of February and stayed for 3 nights - unbelievable!! All I can say is, forget the 'Big Five' - ask for Paddy and the 'FAB FIVE'! You will not see anything like it anywhere else - trust me! Paddy is an amazing guide - he spots things that everyone else looks right past continuously. We told him things we wanted to see, and others said we probably would not see it - Paddy found them! Trust me - it is worth every penny, and this is coming from someone who usually goes to islands for vacation to party or scuba dive. The food is excellent, accomadations are great, and the people all go out of their way to help with anything you ask for. This is before you even consider the animals and environment you are in the middle of - an experience that everyone should have at least one time. Trust me - book with this company and ask for Paddy - super cool guy and amazing skills in finding animals, etc. This is the first time I have ever gone on Trip Advisor and written a review - I use it quite often to read reviews, but have never gone somewhere that convinced me to write a review until this trip. Just remember if you book - ask for Paddy and the 'Fab Five' - and bring extra memory cards and batteries for your camera - you will need them!
The massage therapist did a great job - ask her about her little 'mascot'.
A couple of tips - there are no worries with Malaria - we were told by some people we needed Malaria tablets, but found out when we got there that it is perfectly safe in this part of the park. Bring a sweatshirt, even in the summer, as it gets pretty cool on the drives early morning and late evening.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fbfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We spent 5 days at The Jock Safari Lodge, in the middle of February. We have to say this is the best 5 days holiday we have ever experienced.
We arrived somewhat jet lagged after travelling from the UK and had to decline the first evening Safari from exhaustion, but we were met at the door with a welcoming drink and shown around the complex and to our very welcoming room.
The room was beautiful and the decking outside with the plunge pool and the double mattress view over the river was outstanding, the outside shower was great - being able to shower outside in the warm air in complete privacy . The communal areas including the restaurant, bar and lounges were comfortable well designed and gave access to some wonderful views over the rivers – in fact on one occasion we sat by the pool and a herd of 17 elephants graced us with their presence, a fantastic sight for us to sit and watch them. Basically the whole lodge was wonderful.
All staff without exception were friendly and helpful, I thought it was a nice touch that the General Manager Loui helped out and greeted everyone from the Safaris and was genuinely interested to hear what you had seen
The Food and wine was consistently excellent - other All inclusive places we have visited previously have compromised on the quality of beverages, this is certainly not the case here.
All the Rangers that we met were lovely and there was always a great camaraderie between them, especially Lazareth, David and Patrick.
Which brings us nicely onto Patrick – he was absolutely amazing, not only did he find us some amazing animals, on one occasion on a night drive he spotted a chameleon on a leaf in a tree, the size of his finger – we were all so shocked at how he could spot such a thing whilst driving ! He was just so informative about everything, he was funny and everyone on our truck thought he was wonderful.
We thought it was a really great idea that the people who shared a safari truck with you also sat with you for breakfast and dinner. So you made some really good friends, and on 2 out of the 4 nights, Patrick sat with us also – so we got to meet him more and had a few laughs.
We had read that taking a safari during the rainy season might disappoint, because the animals would be hidden by long grass and shrubs. This was far from the case we managed to see pretty much every species at close range, including lions, leopards, elephants, Giraffe, wild dogs and Rhino right on the road. ( we have enclosed some phots as proof)
Without going on and on I think that is all we can say really, but if anyone wants to know more please contact us so hopefully be back again one day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at Jock's for 3 nights for part of our honeymoon. We arrived around lunchtime from Mpumalanga and were greeted with a welcome drink and congratulated on our recent wedding. We were shown around the property and to our lodge where we were surprised with a small bottle of champagne - which was a lovely start to our stay. Our lodge was just how we had envisaged an upmarket safari lodge to be. It was in-keeping with the surroundings, spacious and just beautiful. There were a couple of things that could be fixed - a cracked toilet cistern and leaking air con and then it would have been perfect.
We were in time to catch the early evening drive and were teamed up with our ranger Patrick and two other guests. Patrick is truly an expert at his job and loves it (especially the cats). He's quite a character too! We got to see the Big Five and so much more. On our last day we also tracked down a pack of wild dogs which apparently is a very rare sight indeed.
The food at Jock's was really good and there was always plenty of it - you will certainly not go hungry here!
We went towards the end of Feburary and had some lovely hot weather, but we also got to witness the most impressive thunder storm. It can get chilly in the early mornings (and they are early! 4:30am wake ups!) and in the evening, so I would advise a jacket, or better still, a hoodie. A hood is very useful to stop the bugs getting in your hair and sticking to any remaining suncream on your face/body when driving at a pace following a leopard sighting! Don't let the thought of the bugs deter you though - I am well known for being a big baby when it comes to such things, and by the end of my trip I was sharing the outdoor shower with 2 spiders, a beetle and some ants (until day three I was using the indoor bath with shower attachment!). At this time of year, the bush is quite thick, so sightings are probably more difficult (not that you'd believe it with Patrick on the case!).
Your experience will, in some part, be dependant on those you're teamed up with, as not only are all of your drives together, but also breakfast and dinner. We were lucky and had great company, but this is something to be aware of.
We would recommend Jock safari without hesitation and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nadine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews