We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three unparalleled days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Stayed here as part of a small group excursion from a Crystal cruise.
The trip entailed 2 morning and 2 evening game drives sandwiched between relaxing down times in beautifully appointed lodgings that overlooked a stream frequented by a small herd of elephants during our stay. The meals exceeded my expectations and the staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. Nevertheless, the highlight(s) were the game drives -- in our case, led by our ranger/guide Sheldon and his tracker. Every drive was great with multiple sightings of most every animal you wished to see -- even had a great leopard encounter on the last morning.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are in individual air-conditioned buildings located along an elevated walk-way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2017

We stayed here Jan of 2017 for 3 nights. All the staff that we interacted with were great, especially our guide and tracker. They were both very knowledgeable about the various animals and the flora.

My fiancee and I had a great time at this wonderful oasis in the bush, and would highly recommend it to couples.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank wushu4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Overall a great experience staying at lukimbi lodge. Special mention to the chef for preparing vegetarian food all days.our ranger took a lot of efforts to show us lions and sure he did. The rooms were neat clean and luxurious.the staff were quite friendly, and took care of us very well. Overall a fantastic experience

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sathish /
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

I went to Lukimbi with my parents, brothers and sister. It was amazing! The staff, rangers and trackers were extremely friendly, and we all really liked the personal touch of our stay. The rooms are beautiful. For me it was he highlight of our trip trough South Africa. And the food, wow! The safaris are extremely professional, and the ranger and tracker really try to show you the beauty of the bush. I hope I get the chance one day to return and share this experience with my own family, good job guys!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Lukimbi has a private concession within the Kruger National Park meaning their land and tracks cannot be accessed by the public. The safari drives can of course go anywhere in the public park. Lukimbi guests have the best options then with no traffic pile ups within the concession and going on the public areas only when something incredible has been sighted like mating leopards!!!

The rangers and trackers are fantastic and extremely knowledgable. The game drives and walk about could not be better.

The accommodations, staff and meals are hard to beat.

When I arrived in my suite, a herd of elephants was drinking from the river 40 feet from my balcony!

I will come back here for another safari.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jme93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

This place is amazing. Offers real 5-star service. Very friendly and helpful staff, always ready to fulfill your wishes. Accommodation in spacious houses, equipped with all needed facilities and repellents against insects. The only weak points were the leaky mosquito net around the bed and Internet connection. Amazing and excellent game drives, the real safari, off road rides, great guides and attendees. the greatest experience in whole Kruger Park. I highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Agata W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

The Kruger park has only a few so called lodges, that is places where you can enjoy full service and off road game drives. Some of these lodges are very expensive, some are in the price range of lodges in the game reserves adjacent to the Kruger such as Timbavati or Sabi Sands. Lukimbi is such a lodge. We stayed two nights around 1500 euro with very little to be added to the prepaid price. The lodge is beautifully located next to a pond in a dry river. We saw elephants, buffalo, warthhog and antilope visiting the water. The game drives are excellent, with Morne as ranger and Stranger as tracker. On the first evening drive they found us three male cheetah's which is really a real treat. Lukimbi hosts a number of rhino's and a small lion pride. We just missed the leopard who was forced out of the tree just prior to our arrival and there were tracks of wild dogs, but only tracks. Lukimbi lodge is fairly large with up 36 guests. This sometimes gives it more the feeling of a hotel rather than a lodge. On the other hand, the staff is extremely friendly and really works hard to let you feel at home. Lukimbi is an excellent place to stay if you are staying in Johannesburg and only have a few days to enjoy the Kruger Park. Through Malalane gate it can be reached by car in about 6-7 hours and obviously much quicker from the airport in Nelspruit, which is well connected with O.R.Tambo airport in Johannesburg.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Geert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
44.9 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#3 of 13 in Kruger National Park
441 reviews
18.4 km away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
422 reviews
20.5 km away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#29 of 178 in Kruger National Park
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.3 km away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#32 of 178 in Kruger National Park
357 reviews
108 km away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#39 of 178 in Kruger National Park
265 reviews
331.3 km away
The Outpost
The Outpost
#30 of 178 in Kruger National Park
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lukimbi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukimbi Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park | Malelane Area, Kruger National Park 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 178 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $1,329 - $1,470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lukimbi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lukimbi Safari Lodge is a stunning luxury safari lodge situated in the easily accessible southern portion of the Kruger National Park, South Africa. Kruger is home to the Big Five and a wide variety of other animals and birds, which roam freely in their natural habitat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lukimbi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukimbi Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing