We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cuckoos Nest Guest House(Louis Trichardt)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Misty Mountains(Louis Trichardt)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ultimate Guesthouse(Louis Trichardt)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaas Guest House(Louis Trichardt)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avoca Vale Country Hotel(Louis Trichardt)
US$60
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Azimbo Lodge(Louis Trichardt)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Softwaters Farm Guesthouse(Louis Trichardt)(Great Value!)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
139 on Munnik Guest House(Louis Trichardt)
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H12 Leshiba(Louis Trichardt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
7
16
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
16
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspel's fishing owlself cateringtentknpcampingcampsitekrugerablutionsbirdersbirdsfacilitiesparadisewalks
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 32 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Pafuri River Camp came as close as any place has ever come to our dream arrangement. We arrived in the early evening to our site by the river, finding it swept clean and strung with lit paraffin lamps. Climbing the stairs to our tent on stilts, we found two cots in the midst of a cozy room, with wall flaps down half of the tent walls that, when opened, allowed us to lie in bed directly surrounded by all of the sounds of the riverside forest. We heard greater galagos (aka bush babies) in the trees right above us!

The kitchen is right underneath the tent, with wire mesh windows that keep the fresh air from the river flowing in. Across the kitchen/sleeping unit is the bathroom/shower tent, again neatly-swept and hung with paraffin lamps. The shower is open to the sky, with a pebble floor - it felt like the ultimate luxury to take hot showers underneath a starry sky!

Coleen and Corey were generous, warm hosts, and we enjoyed our evenings at the bar chatting with them and other guests, as well as being shown around the Pafuri River Camp by them. The location right next to the Pafuri Gate to Kruger makes it a very good jumping off point for exploring the Pafuri picnic spot, which lived up to its reputation for being extremely rich in bird-life.

All in all, we are longing to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Pafuri Rivercamp is located on the banks of the Mutali River only a few km from the Pafuri Gate into Kruger NP. It is a perfect location for visiting the Pafuri picnic spot in Kruger - much closer than Kruger's Punda Maria. We stayed in one of the tented treehouse lodges each situated in a clearing among tall shady trees close to the river's edge. The managers, Corie and Colleen are very welcoming and have a host of interesting stories to tell. The tents are raised up about 2.5 m from the ground and are well ventilated. The kitchen (underneath the tent) is well equipped and the kero lamps provide sufficient light but can be tricky when it's very windy (bring head torches). The gas chest fridge worked well (frozen food was still partially frozen after 3 days) .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EileenMulga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent two nights here whilst exploring the northern section of the KNP. We drove from OR Tambo and arrived within 6 hours following a relatively easy drive (except for the very last bit where a bridge had been washed out in the January floods and the very short diversion is not sign posted clearly but a local pointed us in the right direction). The camp is next to the Pafuri gate so access to the KNP was very easy.

Owing to a change of managers no-one was expecting us. No problems though. Colleen showed us several camping pitches and allowed us to choose. While we set up she went off to make sure that we would be catered for at dinner time. Simple, wholesome food served al fresco in the boma after a welcome G&T at the bar. Lots of helpful suggestions of things to do and we could have stayed longer.

Camping pitches are well spaced out and tended. Hot showers and flush toilets. The tents on stilts are well equipped. Spotted genets like to visit the camp fires at night. Good birding to be had with a resident ground hornbill in the fields behind.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safarifiend2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Mike and his wife are are terrific hosts. Very helpfull. Determining the birds. Showing the good game viewing spots (on the map) in Kruger.
4 km from the tar road. If you have a sedan with a low clearance, it is not easy to drive to the camp. Bush shower, it works; but if you can't handle it, someone will help you. You can't use your cellphone. Everything is quiet. Relax. Tents on stilts, near the river. Food is o.k.
regards
schliek

Room Tip: ask fot the tents near the river.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews