We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We brought rain to Pafuri”
Review of Pafuri River Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louis Trichardt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pafuri River Camp
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We brought rain to Pafuri, and it wasn't designed for bad weather! We arrived, with friends, in blazing heat, and were charmed by the stilted tented accommodation, and rustic kitchen and ablutions. We had 2 tents in our own campsite, everything set for a wonderful weekend of relaxation on the river banks.
The welcome was warm and helpful, and the central lapa, bar and pool are great.
Unfortunately on day 2 the heavens opened, without any prospect of relief, and the camp is just not designed to manage this. There is nowhere private to sit, and one has to walk through mud everytime you move.
To be fair, rain of this nature is rare in Pafuri, and if I was guaranteed good weather I would try again.
The River Camp is not in Kruger (as per the tripadvisor title) but just outside the Kruger Pafuri gate.

Room Tip: The camp is designed with groups of tents, so it would be possible to be private with just your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Pafuri River Camp came as close as any place has ever come to our dream arrangement. We arrived in the early evening to our site by the river, finding it swept clean and strung with lit paraffin lamps. Climbing the stairs to our tent on stilts, we found two cots in the midst of a cozy room, with wall flaps down half of the tent walls that, when opened, allowed us to lie in bed directly surrounded by all of the sounds of the riverside forest. We heard greater galagos (aka bush babies) in the trees right above us!

The kitchen is right underneath the tent, with wire mesh windows that keep the fresh air from the river flowing in. Across the kitchen/sleeping unit is the bathroom/shower tent, again neatly-swept and hung with paraffin lamps. The shower is open to the sky, with a pebble floor - it felt like the ultimate luxury to take hot showers underneath a starry sky!

Coleen and Corey were generous, warm hosts, and we enjoyed our evenings at the bar chatting with them and other guests, as well as being shown around the Pafuri River Camp by them. The location right next to the Pafuri Gate to Kruger makes it a very good jumping off point for exploring the Pafuri picnic spot, which lived up to its reputation for being extremely rich in bird-life.

All in all, we are longing to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Pafuri Rivercamp is located on the banks of the Mutali River only a few km from the Pafuri Gate into Kruger NP. It is a perfect location for visiting the Pafuri picnic spot in Kruger - much closer than Kruger's Punda Maria. We stayed in one of the tented treehouse lodges each situated in a clearing among tall shady trees close to the river's edge. The managers, Corie and Colleen are very welcoming and have a host of interesting stories to tell. The tents are raised up about 2.5 m from the ground and are well ventilated. The kitchen (underneath the tent) is well equipped and the kero lamps provide sufficient light but can be tricky when it's very windy (bring head torches). The gas chest fridge worked well (frozen food was still partially frozen after 3 days) .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EileenMulga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent two nights here whilst exploring the northern section of the KNP. We drove from OR Tambo and arrived within 6 hours following a relatively easy drive (except for the very last bit where a bridge had been washed out in the January floods and the very short diversion is not sign posted clearly but a local pointed us in the right direction). The camp is next to the Pafuri gate so access to the KNP was very easy.

Owing to a change of managers no-one was expecting us. No problems though. Colleen showed us several camping pitches and allowed us to choose. While we set up she went off to make sure that we would be catered for at dinner time. Simple, wholesome food served al fresco in the boma after a welcome G&T at the bar. Lots of helpful suggestions of things to do and we could have stayed longer.

Camping pitches are well spaced out and tended. Hot showers and flush toilets. The tents on stilts are well equipped. Spotted genets like to visit the camp fires at night. Good birding to be had with a resident ground hornbill in the fields behind.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safarifiend2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Mike and his wife are are terrific hosts. Very helpfull. Determining the birds. Showing the good game viewing spots (on the map) in Kruger.
4 km from the tar road. If you have a sedan with a low clearance, it is not easy to drive to the camp. Bush shower, it works; but if you can't handle it, someone will help you. You can't use your cellphone. Everything is quiet. Relax. Tents on stilts, near the river. Food is o.k.
regards
schliek

Room Tip: ask fot the tents near the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sjors S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank mouriette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louis Trichardt hotels
0.0 km away
H12 Leshiba
H12 Leshiba
#1 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
135 reviews
131.3 km away
Mashovhela Bush Lodge
Mashovhela Bush Lodge
#5 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
58 reviews
132.6 km away
The Ultimate Guesthouse
The Ultimate Guesthouse
#3 of 21 in Louis Trichardt
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Misty Mountains
Misty Mountains
#2 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
80 reviews
135.5 km away
Lalapanzi Hotel & Conference Centre
Lalapanzi Hotel & Conference Cen...
#14 of 21 in Louis Trichardt
29 reviews
142.0 km away
Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge
Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge
#1 of 21 in Louis Trichardt
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pafuri River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pafuri River Camp

Address: Louis Trichardt 0920, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Louis Trichardt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Louis Trichardt
Hotel Class:4 star — Pafuri River Camp 4*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing