We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on The Golf Coarse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sabi River Sun Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Alberton, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxury on The Golf Coarse”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Beautiful, modern big chalets. Our family of 6 stayed for a week over Xmas. The chalets are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Everything you might need is at your fingertips and the units are serviced daily. Manicured lawns as far as the eye can see greets you. The men enjoyed their daily golf fix and us girls parked at the pool which is but a few meters away from once's chalet. There are a numbers of pools to choose from so every day was different. We enjoyed our afternoon walk to go and see the hippo's cross the golf course to the other side of the river. They all line up and can't wait for the quard to lift the boom. It 's incredible and very special to see. The Restaurant's food is also recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubblySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    309
    88
    28
    24
See reviews for
444
207
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Stayed in chalet #63 (#63 and #64 are the last building, closest to hippo pond) Dec 3-9. Wonderful to sit on our patio having breakfast, watching the hippos. We even got up at 4am a few mornings to watch them come back from the river to the pond. Once in a lifetime experience, for sure. Can't think of another golf course that has "hazards" like hippos.

We ate once at the restaurant (buffet dinner) and it was good. We cooked our other meals in our full kitchen. Ours was two bedrooms (each with King beds) and a loft with two twin beds. Two bathrooms, one with tub/shower and one with shower only. We've traveled a lot and our chalet wins the prize for hottest water and best water pressure in shower. Beds were comfy and furnishings were in good shape. Both bedrooms had AC units that worked quickly and all rooms had ceiling fans.

The resort felt safe, as there is a front gate manned 24 hrs/day, along with security staff that patrolled with a German shepherd and a Rottie. They seemed to spend most of their time around our chalet, since we were closest to the hippos- which was good for us.

Good location to get to Kruger, Panorama Route, etc. Lots to do within an hour or two from there. We had a lot of exciting day trips during our stay.

We stayed here because it was a choice through our timeshare (Interval International). We are happy that we did and would definitely recommend it even if you're "paying cash".

Room Tip: If you want to see/hear the hippos as much as possible, request #64-61. The pool is in front of #55...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed here for a week in a 2 Bedroom/2 Bath with loft Chalet. The chalet was wonderful, full kitchen, 2 sofas in living room w/ fireplace & patio w/ table, lounge chairs & grill. Granite & tile in kitchen & bathrooms. Grounds are immaculate! Maid service every day. Ours was located on the pond with the hippos & nesting birds! Watch the hippos walk across the golf course every evening at sunset. About 10 minutes from the Phebeni - Kruger Park Gate. 5 minutes to several grocery stores and restaurants. The restaurant onsite did a pretty good job on pizzas. On another night we had the buffet. It was like any other buffet - some things you like, some things you don't. Staff was very helpful arranging safari trips into the K. Park, Elephant rides & ultra-light flight.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstahura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brielle, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

What a wonderful place in paradise. The lodges are excellent with modern furnishings. The golf course is very good indeed. Food was excellent especially breakfast. The security is very good and all units have a free safe. We stayed in a 6 persons semi detached lodge on the 11th tee. Getting up in the morning and drinking coffee watching golfers tee off on the challenging 11th was fun. The grounds are immaculate and the staff were very friendly and helpfull. We exchanged via RCI timeshare and it was the best week we have had anywhere. Don's miss the hippo's and croc's on the 16th and 17th holes. Every night at sunset the hippo's leave the pool on the golf course to graze on the Sabie river till sunrise . Watching the hippo's leave is a event not to be missed.

Room Tip: Try to book one of the lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west england
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed one night. Perfectly OK if somewhat corporate. Great to see hippos and crocodiles in their lake. Not so great was the food – dinner from the carte was fine if a little basic. Certainly better looking than the dinner buffet. Breakfast buffet was also unappealing.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed for a week again this year (2011). Always getting better service and the environment is just top notch. Housekeeping is on the ball. Plenty to see and do including daily visits to the Kruger Park.

The golf course is being up-graded and should be perfect in 2012.

Room Tip: Avoid a chalet near the hippo dam....the birds from October to February can be noisy and smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konsoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed in a chalet which comfortably accommodated six people. There are two bathrooms, one is an ensuite, nice size kitchen/dining and a lounge area. We also had a spacious verandah overlooking the golf course. When we were sitting on the verandah we could watch the hippos playing in the pond across from the golf course. Each set of chalets has its own pool away from the busy main pool. We enjoyed an awesome couples massage. Was only a short drive to the Kruger National Park (we bought tickets for a safari - the only way to go, you sit up high and get a great view). Absolutely loved it. We would stay at this resort again without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the chalets are spacious and more private and are worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.3 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
5.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.8 km away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.8 km away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
3.6 km away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 13 in Hazyview
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Property: Sabi River Sun Resort
Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sabi River Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing