We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$260
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nabana Lodge(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$71
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rissington Inn(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreamfields Guesthouse(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
aha Casa do Sol(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
US$103
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$173
US$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hippo Hollow Country Estate(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$259
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 56% below average rates

The price you found is 56% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$454/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tanamera Lodge(Hazyview)
US$276
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
120
107
39
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
107
39
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsphabeni gatesand riverkruger national parkswimming poolbed unitchess setlack of wi fiself cateringberlin fallsstaff at receptiontimeshare unitswonderful weekan awesome experiencestayed here for a weekthe check in processtime sharegreat facilities
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 284 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2018

I have had time share in Sanbonani Resort for a few years and it is such a pleasure to go there. The staff are excellent, the units are always well looked after, and the added bonus of being so close to the Kruger Park is a big plus. The facilities there are fantastic and there is always some sort of entertainment for the guests. We are fortunate to have two units which face onto the Sabie River and most nights the hippos come out and graze on the grass in front, what a privilege.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank ItalyfanDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes1242, Manager at Sanbonani Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The staff appreciate your kind words and we take the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2018

We spent a midweek at this lovely resort. We had a lovely and well equipped chalet overlooking the river and can just confirm that everything in the chalet was of 5 star quality. The staff at reception was professional and the grounds were well kept by very efficient and friendly staffers. Especially the women can be mentioned as doing the resort and themselves proud.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Spike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes1242, Manager at Sanbonani Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to rate Sanbonani, we pride ourselves on being 'the Jewel of the Lowveld' Kind Regards Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2018

Beautiful Resort sadly no Contingency plans.Stayed for a week in March encountered negligible comms , no wifi unless you pay extra , cell comms /telkom in room non existant.Total blackout one night,two candles no prior notice.A note placed on table after we had gone out and on return in the dark no electricity to cook,hot water for cooking etc.Unable sleep without leaving outside patio doors open for air as No Windows and fans/aircon no power.Telephone to reception not working for many units.
An emergency call was made by son to Reception from Pietermaritzburg which had to be relayed by runner and cleft stick to room for us to call home.,Imagine an accident in a unit with an elderly person...no means to call assistance from Resort without physically driving to reception as intercom does not work and cell comms deplorable.
Very very much a case of the resort living on its past reputation.Not even a sign at Resort entrance alerting there was no power and to collect hot water from reception.
Finally to add insult, parking area no drain off so had to stand in a puddle of rainwater to load car on departure .Needs a supervisor to circulate when raining.
A wake up call to catch up with 21st Century WIFI requirements for a traveler essential without worrying about patty cash to hook up and use in the reception area.

Room Tip: Take a good torch,a flask, a travel gascooker,Vodacom cell,MTN useless.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2018

We stayed for 7 nights in Sanbonani with three children. We had a lovely time. Our children loved the pool and putt-putt and several other activities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes1242, Manager at Sanbonani Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2018

On behalf of the Management and Sanbonani Team we thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write a review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Resort Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018

An excellent resort nearby all amenities. Loved our Chalet on the Sabi River, Hippo's came out one night and grazed in front of our Chalet, what an awesome experience. The Restaurant and resort facilities are excellent Also very near Kruger Park entrances.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank StephanPhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes1242, Manager at Sanbonani Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you for your kind words, Sanbonani Resort guests and staff are privileged to experience the hippos grazing on the banks of the Sabie River at night, in the winter months these huge creatures sometimes walk around the Resort. Regards Resort Manger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews