We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner ”
Review of Orange Restaurant

Orange Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 118 Restaurants in Nelspruit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Orange Restaurant opened its doors in the Summer of 2007. Situated in Nelspruit, Mpumalanga approximately 60km from the Kruger National Park, it boasts with the most magnificent views of the Lowveld escarpment.Imagine yourself surrounded by sophisticated decor, white linen and over-sized napkins enjoying fine-dining cuisine prepared by passionate and experienced chefs.This ideal restaurant is also the perfect venue for weddings, conferences, and other special occasions & events.
Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

The restaurant looks very upmarket, the decor and seating arrangement is simple yet elegant. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the food was very nice.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank BotleIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEE-ANN B, Owner at Orange Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear Iris

Thank you kindly for your lovely review.I am so glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind Regards

Lee-Ann :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 618 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2019

This restaurant overlooks the town of Nelspruit and has a beautiful panoramic view. The food was very good, service was good and the staff very friendly.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Gibbsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEE-ANN B, Owner at Orange Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear Gibbs Family

It was lovely to have you as our guests and we really appreciate your lovely review.Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Lee-Ann :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

I have been waiting to come here for ages and was so so disappointed. Food was ok but the arrogance of the waitresses was absolutely horrendous. We spent close on R6k on our bill and the attitude was terrible. Won’t hurry back

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank tessmack18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEE-ANN B, Owner at Orange Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Dear Tess

I am really sorry you feel that ALL my hostesses are arrogant and "horrendous" as they are known for there extreme professional and friendly service.We remember your table and as I recall nothing they did was to your liking but what is interesting is that the other guests seemed very happy and the gentleman that actually paid the bill still thanked my ladies for a great evening??

Kind Regards

Lee-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2019

As international travellers we thought we would try oranges but unfortunately this restau rant does not live upto any standard the food was very poor both in cooking and presentation and the service of the waitresses was just as bad. The restaurant owner clearly needs to travel a bit or even pop to the Cape where you will find the top fine dinning restaurants in South Africa and the staff need to stop swanning around in short black dresses with little knowledge of the service industry. The view is what keeps this restart going. Go see by all means but you will get a much better meal at any of the big franchises at a third of the price.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank KJS8612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEE-ANN B, Owner at Orange Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Dear Reviewer

I remember your table clearly that night and I still returned the food you sent back to your table personally.I do humbly apologise for the food not being up to standard that night and I totally agree it could have been better presented but unforunately our head chef just found out that his father passed away about an our before shift started and that did unfortunately make the entire kitchen disorientated.
As for my hostesses,my uniform is black clothing and their dresses are not more that four fingers short above the knee like we used to have at school and only one had a dress on that night?
I also recall that when you arrived you were very sun burnt and irate so this could also have added to your irritation with us all.
Oh and I agree that Cape Town has definately got some of the top 5 star restaurants in the world as I actually do travel alot but also believe that I am entitled to do my own style of food and service which I have been for 27 years and we don`t seem to be doing that bad being number 1 on Tripadvisor....
I hope you would give us another try and let us show you what we are all about and give you a better dinning experience.

Kind Regards

Lee-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2019

Took my Girlfriend to Orange for her Birthday dinner and was not disappointed!!
We were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our table which they had made up for the special day! Candles, roses petals, wine and flowers where waiting for us!
The food was amazing!! I had a steak which just melted in my mouth!! Staff very helpful, as i am a very very fussy eater and they got it spot on!
Thank you Orange for a most amazing evening!!!!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ZacL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orange Restaurant also viewed

Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Orange Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.