We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Basket fare at a venue that is screaming for a makeover”

Ocean Basket Nelspruit
Ranked #21 of 101 Restaurants in Nelspruit
Cuisines: Seafood, Persian
Description: At Ocean Basket Nelspruit you'll find friendly people, a home-from-home feeling and great value for your hard-earned bucks.
Restaurant details
Description: At Ocean Basket Nelspruit you'll find friendly people, a home-from-home feeling and great value for your hard-earned bucks.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

The food is consistent with what you would expect from Ocean Basket and seldom disappoints. Service is friendly and efficient, as it should be. We have however stopped going there because the noise factor and especially inside is simply too pleasant. This combined with stark lighting really gives for a place where you go to eat simply because you need to and you get out of there as quickly as possible.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 817gerritm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Good day Gerrit M,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you could please send us your details and feedback via our website so we can contact you directly to resolve this matter.

Regards Ocean Basket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here on the 23rd of September. Needless to say I have nothing good to say about this experience. The white sangria we ordered tasted like water. The bread was stale. Our oysters were frozen. The prawns where undercooked and the rice was cold. Very disappointing for such a large establishment. This was the worst ocean basket I have ever been to!!!!

Thank ColishaS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Hi ColishaS2,

We are concerned to see that your experience was not a good one. If you could please send us your details and feedback via our website so we can contact you directly to resolve this matter. We look forward to hearing from you.

The OB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

This year managed to join the special people as well early and enjoyed my day, special meal for lunch make my day and able to express my business while meeting new friend and reunion with the others lost their contacts.
other make you self pass by and have something you never eta before.

Thank MonasToursDayTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

This review is o-fish-ally awesome MonasToursDayTours.

So glad to read about your awesome experience. We look forward to having you back again soon.

The OB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2018

The food is excellent. I had the Kingclip and chips and a most refreshing apple mint drink.The service is very good and represents exceptional value. Highly recommended !!

Thank hendrix2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2018

We went here for Valentine's day.
The service was horrible and for everything we needed, we had to go find a waitress. After complaining about this, we got an attitude from the waitress.
When the food eventually came after a very long wait, the mussels were raw, the prawns were undercooked and the chips were stale.
For a restaurant that has become quite pricey of late, this was such a disappointment!
For an owner-run restaurant, I was very annoyed that the owner was nowhere to be seen on such a busy and important night of the year for a restaurant.
We will NOT be returning here ever again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Basket Nelspruit also viewed

 
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Ocean Basket Nelspruit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing