We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum! What more can I say?”
Review of Magnolia

Magnolia
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in White River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: MAGNOLIA RESTAURANT & CAFE A Breath of Fresh Air on the White River and South African Culinary Scene Situated opposite the Casterbridge Hollow Boutique Hotel, Magnolia Restaurant & Cafe is a breath of fresh air on the White River and South African culinary scene. Inspired by rural French charm, it offers a sophisticated yet relaxed taste of the best the region has to offer. Unique in the diversity its multi-dimensional interior provides, it is simultaneously a romantic, intimate experience with inspirational views over the surrounding landscape; a relaxed outdoor venue set in gorgeously manicured gardens, or an upmarket business venue – perfect for large parties or small, informal get-togethers, vibrant cocktail parties, family gatherings or special occasions. The split-level interior and upstairs veranda create an interior with indoor-outdoor flow, a welcome breeze on hot summer’s days and delightful visual interest. The main restaurant is situated upstairs with a mezzanine level, which, with fantastic natural light, makes it ideally suited to private functions. Magnolia’s indulgent menu, created by leading chefs, is inspired by the use of fresh local ingredients – so whatever is in season makes it onto the menu. Meals are accompanied by a superb selection of South African wines, and rounded off with the most decadent desserts. The unique decor is a treat in itself... rustic, yet elegant – with a European twist. The quirky unexpected accents (most of which were made locally) and attention to detail create a pleasing and layered scene to be peeled away and explored bit by bit.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Lovely setting, decor and ambience. The food, service and location were fantastic. Service was attentive yet unobtrusive. We lingered over a long, lazy lunch and will definitely go back.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KerinS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant in our stay for the night was closed. The staff advised us and made a reservation for this restaurant. Wat a pleasant surprise! Various menu, great wines and good quality. Next time when we are around, this is a stop for sure.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank fhbroekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Oh my goodness, if you want an incredible dining experience - go to Magnolia. Everything was spot on, from the staff to the food and wine selection. Our starters were DELICIOUS. Our main courses were beautiful, delicious and bursting with freshness and flavour. The staff are friendly, the venue is beautiful and it exudes style and class. I cannot wait to go back.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 140mariuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is nicely decorated, the interior chosen give a nice and cozy atmosphere. The waiter Bongani is very helpful and friendly, the managing atmosphere from Gugu is very tactful and very much client oriented and friendly at the same time. The food is truly delicious, the Kudu is a veryyyy goooood choice, don’t miss it.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank JoseC9484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

We went here two times and enjoyed it very much!
The place is located at casterbridge Lifestyle Center near White River. You can sit either outside in a marvellous garden under the magnolia trees or inside a stylish and modern room.
Be surr to come with an empty belly as you will have To eat. We ate the springbok shank and the kingklip, both was awesome and quite a lot!! Thanks a lot To our waitor Justin Who was very attending and friendly! Also very nice is that the Manager Cucu personally came To ask us, if everything is fine!
All together we can just recommend Magnolia Restaurant and will definitly visit again when We come To South africa the next Time.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank bollonator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magnolia also viewed

 
White River, Mpumalanga
 
White River, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing