We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Premier Hotel The Winkler
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in White River
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Our room was robbed while we were eating dinner in their restaurant. Money and camera were stolen. Others in our tour group experienced the same.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burmesterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Mr and Ms Burmester,

On behalf of the entire team at Protea Hotel The Winkler, we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you by the room theft experienced while staying with us. I can assure you that the incident is certainly not reflective of the levels of safety and security we strive to offer to every single guest of our hotel, nor is it a true reflection of the genuine hospitality offered by the people of Mpumalanga South Africa.

We regard this incident in a serious light, and assure you that the incident is currently carefully investigated by local authorities and senior management at the hotel.

Yours faithfully,

Charmaine Kotze – General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Premier Hotel The Winkler
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

I loved this hotel for the most part. The grounds, lobby, pool, etc were wonderful....very peaceful. The rooms were good, nothing special but very adequate. Some minor problems. While the internet is free, you have to use it the lobby/bar area and it is VERY slow. Had trouble with hot water in the shower. It took forever to warm up and the water pressure was very light. I was not impressed with the buffet dinner but I don't normal like buffets anyway. My minor problem are VERY minor so don't let them influence you not to stay here as this is still a very nice hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Hi Chris,

Great comments from such an experienced TripAdvisor reviewer! Much appreciated...

Apologies for the lack of sufficient water pressure during your stay. This issue has already been discussed with the maintenance team and addressed accordingly. I am also glad to inform you that we are in the process of an extensive menu and buffet service revamp, in order to continue to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests.

Looking forward hosting you again upon your next trip to the Lowveld, one of the amazing parts of lovely South Africa...

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Hotel grounds are lovely (small terrace area off patio door of rooms) and kids well catered for both in terms of food and facilities. Nice bar snacks / area. Comfortable room with all you need for a one night stop en route to Kruger. Park the car opposite entrance to room so easy to unlaod luggage etc. Reception very friendly and efficient. Decent buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCBLEGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Thank you for the kind recommendations and your lovely feedback on your recent stay with us while enjoying the Kruger Park area. I will definitely pass on your detailed review to all team members involved. Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

12 adults and 2 children stayed here for just one night, and we wished we could have stayed longer, this hotel was just fantastic from start to finish. The check-in was seamless, quick and efficient, the rooms are large and beautifully decorated, either with a king bed, or a queen and single bed for the family rooms. The pool area is large and overlooks the forrest as well as the childrens play area. There is also a games room for children for those rainy days or in the evenings. The restuarant was just brilliant for dinner, prices were really good for a hotel, each main meal +/ R 70.00, we were there on a day of A'lacarte meals, and not the buffett so I cannot comment on that. Everyone absolutely loved there stay, and I would highly recommend it to all that want a great place to stop over before or after the Kruger etc.

Room Tip: We were in room 130, and it was very large and spacious with a view of the gardens.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahMcGowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Fantastic review! We thank you for your kind words and are thrilled to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

See you back soon at Protea Hotel The Winkler!

Warm regards,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This hotel was breathtaking. The views were absolutely beautiful. The rooms were spacious, bright and cheerful. The bar area and common rooms had a very cool, South African decor that made them welcoming and fun. Service was excellent. I had to change rooms because there were an unusual number of bugs in my room, but the staff was helpful in switching me to another room. The food was not great, but decent enough to eat a full meal. If you have the option to eat elsewhere, do so.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countryboundgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you for the positive comments on your experience when staying at Protea Hotel The Winkler. We will most definitely share your constructive criticism on the food quality with the team and improve on our restaurant product delivery.

All of us at the hotel sincerely hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcoming you back soon!

At your service,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed with my family in a corner suite with splendlid views over the valley. This place has a retro feel and have been revamped recently. It has that old school SA large country hotel feel. I like it. Its perfect for kids with the enormous grounds, they can roam free for hours. Further adding to old school feel is the restaurant which serves meals buffet style. So nice to experience this as its a dying phenomenon with all boutique and designer outfits these days. But, do not expect any sparks to fly in the restaurant dept other than good and friendly staff. The room was very clean and fresh and good enough for 4. Absolutely nothing to complain about. The rate was also very fair and because of that, I would easily recommed the hotel and go back. I almost forgot to say that this is excellently located near Kruger Park of course. And cheaper. Althogh to in the park its close enough and then one can do lots of other tours in the area too. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Excellent comments, especially your remarks around the service experienced. I will most definitely share your feedback with the entire team at the hotel.

Looking forward welcoming you back soon upon your next visit to the Kruger Park area...

Yours sincerely,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I had booked a trip to South Africa through and tour company and this was the hotel that was chosen for our stay close to Kruger National Park. The hotel is setup more like a motel verses hotel, but it's in a quiet scenic area. The backyard area is huge with a lovely pool and a small playground for children.

The hotel rooms are clean and very spacious. There is even a back patio with a view of the pool area. There is a small room with one public computer and free internet in the lobby area. The restauarnt and bar area are very nice. You can take your drink out on the patio outside of the bar and enjoy the scenery.

My only complaints are the slow service at the front desk and unresponsive service in the dining room. During our stay we enjoyed the buffet dinner in the hotel restaurant. Unless you were ordering alcoholic beverages, getting a glass of water or soda was like pulling teeth. Thankfully the dinner was included in our tour package or I would have been fuming. One evening we grabbed our food from the buffet line and sat down at our table. No one came to our table to ask if we wanted anything to drink and drinks were not supplied at the buffet line. We asked one waiter for water and he never brought us any. We asked him again 10 minutes later, but still did not receive anything. So we asked another waiter for water and were never brought anything to drink. By that point we were done with our food and just left.

Don't let this discourage you from staying at this hotel. Overall it's a really lovely place and who really eats at the hotel restaurant every night? We only did because it was part of our tour package and we didn't have a car to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear Guest,
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and overall positive comments on your stay with us. Its much appreciated.

We have already addressed the issues raised around the service experience at the front desk and our restaurant and will be able to provide you with a better experience upon your return to our beautiful hotel.

Greetings from Mpumalanga, South Africa!

Yours sincerely,

Charmaine Kotze - General Manager
Protea Hotel The Winkler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
6.2 km away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
215 reviews
17.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
26.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 10 in White River
186 reviews
5.4 km away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#1 of 10 in White River
318 reviews
30.5 km away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 13 in Hazyview
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel The Winkler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel The Winkler

Address: R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in White River
Price Range: $96 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel The Winkler 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its ideal location, Premier Hotel The Winkler is the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area. Only 20 minutes drive from the famous Kruger National Park and with easy access to attractions like the Blyde River Canyon, Sabie Waterfalls and Pilgrim's Rest. Premier Hotel The Winkler provides visitors with an incredible base from which to explore the rich African beauty of the Mpumalanga province. Founded around 1890, the town of White River has a rich history and has become both a tourism centre and a point of interest for those wishing to witness one of the most unique farming cultures in South Africa. Premier Hotel The Winkler is situated just 14km for the Kruger Mpumalanga Airport, a short 20 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, 10km outside of White River and a 30 minute drive to Nelspruit. The climate is said to be one of the best in South Africa, neither excessively hot in summer when rainfall is at its highest, nor overly cold during the sunny winters. Known for its scenic beauty, Mpumalanga offers visitors a front row seat to the majesty of Africa. The largest and most famous game reserve in South Africa lies at the heart of the Lowveld, a 20 minute drive from Premier Hotel The Winkler, the Kruger National Park is a wildlife experience like no other and allows visitors the opportunity to immerse themselves in the unpredictability of this iconic piece of Africa. The waterways of Mpumalanga offer explorers the opportunity to experience a different side of Africa, from the views over the sheer edges of the Blyde River Canyon 800m above the riverbed below to the tropical rain-forests that dominate the eastern side of the Crocodile River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Hotel The Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing