We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
295
136
18
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
136
18
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge watering hole double shower cheetah brothers morning drive rooms are huge outdoor shower elephants coming private concession wild dogs high tea main park amazing sightings south africa special thanks fantastic stay animals including
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 471 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2018

We had a great stay at the Black Rhino! The food is very good and the rooms are big and spacious. Very nice service and a special thanks everybody in the restaurant who song birthdaysong for our daughter and to our driver Jesse! We went on game drive 2 times a day and stayed here for 4 days in July. We were lucky to see the five big the first two days and many more animals. Highly recommend warm clothes if you go in July (wintertime). When driving in open jeeps it's cold! Preferably hat, mittens, wool underwear and warm jacket. Thanks for a great stay, we will be happy to return.

Room tip: Apartment no 14 and 15 is closed to the waterhole
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaGroenli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Dear MonicaGroenli -
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Black Rhino Game Lodge, and for sharing your handy tips for an even more enjoyable safari experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and we're honoured that you would recommend Black Rhino to future travellers - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018

We come here after a very short search while we were locked in JNB for an hurricane over Indian Ocean. Since I am dumb, it took me sometime to realize that lodges are used to arrange everything for their customers. Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Tea, safari and suggestion for how to come over. So we gave them a ring in early morning to find convenient contact with Taxi service and we stayed one night. Arriving for Lunch and leaving late morning next day. Perfect. The room was spotless and wide, nicely decorated. We found dinner a bit on a lower key although nothing to complain about. The place is small, much less expensive than some competitors in Pilanesberg and - very important for us - accepting guests for one night only.
Safaris were fine, morning is best time, we could spot all the big five and some minor, except only Cheetah.
We just has a bad encounter with a black mamba, when the ranger sent us to have a look to the valley while he was preparing tea and biscuits. I did not see the mamba, but my wfe had it in front, facing her, and she rushed like crazy back from the path. True that there is an advise "you come down from the jeep at your own risk" however... however we would have been happy to skip such adventure.
All in all it was fine. We may consider on a better planned trip to stay a da in Suncity and enjoy what they offer there.

Room tip: Bugalows are sparce in the garden. Ask and check your position before booking
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Dear Carlo S -
Thank you for sharing your impressions of Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will visit again for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018

We had the most amazing time at Black Rhino Game Lodge!!!

The rooms were incredible! All of the staff that we encountered during our stay were friendly, helpful, and great!

Our ranger was Daffy, who was the absolute best! I'm not sure if you're able to pick your ranger, but try to request him! He had a wealth of knowledge that he shared with us during all of our game rides. He worked hard to fulfill whatever requests we had (in terms of which animals we wanted to see). We saw lions, a leopard, a hippo, rhinos, elephants, zebras, giraffes (but only from very far away), warthogs, impala, etc. It was incredible!

Each day was scheduled as is:
6am meet up; 6:30am game ride; around 7:30am you stop for coffee/hot chocolate; breakfast when you return; lunch around 1:30pm; high tea at 3:30pm, game ride at 4pm; stop for sunset drinks (they'll take your order before you leave for the drive); dinner when you return. All food is included in the rate but drinks are extra. However, they provide you with free bottled water in your room that they will replenish 2x each day while you're on a game drive so if you make use of those, you won't have to buy water. My only critique would be that they should have something small to eat before you leave for the 6:30am ride, as you don't eat breakfast until you return to the lodge.

We absolutely loved our time here and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to go on a safari.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sm72515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear sm72515 -
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of your stay at Black Rhino Game Lodge and for sharing so much useful information with future travellers. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your safari experience, and honoured that you would recommend Black Rhino Game Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2018

This is the place to go for an unwind and a chance to see the Big 5. Food is to die for, staff extremely friendly and efficient and the game drives themselves an epic adventure every time. We managed to see the Big 5 in 2 days as well as hippo, hyena, zebra, jackal, kudu. 3 different lion and leopard sightings as well as a rare black rhino. Lodge is perfectly placed around a waterhole where we were lucky enough to see a herd of elephants. Special praise to Donald and Tebogo at the Lodge. These guys were so efficient and helpful.

Lastly make sure you get Marcus as our guide, He made the stay for us and his enthusiasm is contagious and dedication both to the animals and guest experience was 100%. He knows the park like the back of his hand and is seriously without doubt the best ranger I have ever come across. He is a passionate photographer and knows all the best spots. Best safari ever!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisH1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Dear Chris H -
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay at Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect your stay (especially the game drives), and we very much hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Located in the North-Western side of the Pilanesberg National Park, inside a private concession within the park, you will find the beautiful Black Rhino Game Lodge. The lodge is just 2 and a half hours from central Pretoria with only a small stretch of gravel road which can easily be traversed in a small hatchback. The entire lodge is beautifully tucked away between big bushes and trees, and while walking on the pathways between the main lodge and the chalets you feel as if you are truly in the African bush. Our open-plan room was beautifully decorated, very spacious and private, and like most of the rooms we had a view directly into the bushveld. We enjoyed all of our meals and were lucky enough to also experience their braai (BBQ) dinner which they have on certain days. From the main lodge deck (where you also enjoy your meals) you look over the green lawn surrounded by trees with a firepit area on the one side and a watering hole in the background. They also have a hide overlooking the waterhole where you can watch the wildlife and different bird species coming for a drink. Their game drives are done on their private concession as well as the greater park itself and we saw a lot of animals including 2 of the 5 Cheetahs found in the park. Our assigned ranger (Phillip) was very friendly and informative and never rushed us at sightings. This is a medium sized lodge which means less people and a more relaxed experience and as they also only have Wifi at the main building you will be able to completely shut yourself off from the rest of the world. There are also 2 small pools available for you to cool off in the hot summer months, which makes them an ideal all year round destination. The entire team was so friendly and welcoming and we had such a awesome time that we really didn't want to leave.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Black Rhino Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Dear Dewald R -
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of Black Rhino Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and we very much hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews