We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
82
76
42
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
76
42
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new management general manager views of the mountains family hotel mini golf heated pool hotel grounds easter weekend nature reserve sun city great weekend monique spa protea kiddos venue conference
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 241 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018

We were spending the night in Rustenburg and required last-minute accommodation. We drove up, walked up to the reception desk and asked for the most basic room since we only needed it for the night. Every part of the experience was pleasant; from the security guards at the entrance to the staff at the desk. The room was lovely, spacious and comfortable, and certainly exceeded what would have been expected from a standard room. Initially, we had indicated that we would not need breakfast, but our plans changed in the morning, so we had a chance to try out their selection, which was standard, but certainly more pleasant than some other places. The location is lovely and the hotel is nestled in a beautiful valley, which provides lovely views while you're in the restaurant, or when you're out on the deck having a drink. On our way out we noticed that they also had a little putt-putt course, which would no doubt prove entertaining to many guests. I'd certainly return to the hotel when next I find myself spending the night in Rustenburg.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KendallPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018

A beautifully located, garden hotel, with associated golf course and pool. All was fine, but, for this time of the year, just too cold.

The room did not warm up properly, and it was not even the peak of the cold season.

We had made a telephonic reservation which was not registered at the hotel, but there were enough rooms, so not a problem.

I assume during warmer periods of the year, an exellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepeyangu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-HuntersRest, General Manager at Protea Hotel Rustenburg Hunters Rest, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Dear sir/madam,
Thank you for staying with us at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Hunter's Rest and furthermore, for providing us with your candid feedback in regards to your stay. I am immensely sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay. I will investigate why your booking wasn't captured in our system and will take corrective action on the room heating to ensure this issue doesn't re-occur.
I sincerely hope you will visit us again in future to experience the hotel in it's full splendour.

Sincere regards,Pieter Buitendag, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2018

Amazing places and environment. Quite refreshing I must say. Clean and spacious.
Was there for a wedding and it was well planned from the staff of Protea and was very much impressed by a gentleman named Themba. Excellent guy. Organised and knows how to communicate with people of all ages. Level-headed at all times even to chaotic elderly people. Keep up the great ob you are doing. You are destined to go far in this industry.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank inagnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2018 via mobile

After having booked at a guesthouse in the area to support our daughters netball tournament, we found ourselves desperately looking for alternative, cleaner, more decent accommodation.
We arrive at Hunters Rest to be greeted by friendly and efficient reception staff. Even though there didn’t appear to be a room available for the full duration of our stay, we were told that they would make a plan. And they certainly did.
We were accommodated in a spotlessly clean and very comfortable room.
Whilst this older room could do with a bit of a revamp, especially in the bathroom it’s really fine and not really lacking in much.
The only thing I can fault is that there are none of the small extra amenities like tissues and face cloths in the room.
The breakfasts are adequate, with a reasonable selection. Food from the room service menu was surprisingly pleasant.
The spa, is magnificently decorated. The therapists friendly and efficient. The treatment rooms are beautiful. The massage was one of the best we’ve had.
I would definitely recommend this resort when traveling in the area.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank ab2015189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2018

At just over an hour outside of Johannesburg, this remains the ideal destination for a "city escape" and a recharge of the batteries. Whilst the hotel has lost it's independent owner run feel and now wears the corporate clothing of yet another chain, the staff and management do their best to make your stay as individual and tailored as possible. A mention here to the Petra, the GM, who's door is always open and who makes herself available to address any concerns that are beyond the scope of her team
Service and hospitality are excellent and the rooms deliver on comfort and cleanliness.
Food and Meals are good, although the evening buffet remains a little pricy for what's on offer. None the less, you won't go to bed hungry.
The pool and gardens are immaculate and the 9 hole golf course is perfect for tuning your short game and putting.
A great weekend and a thumbs up to everyone at Hunters Rest

Room Tip: There isn't really a bad room
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews