We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway with Kids is Possible!? Only at the Palace...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace of the Lost City
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Having stayed at The Palace a few times before, my wife and I were of the opinion that we had experienced all it had to offer. We were pleasantly mistaken. Even before we left, I was contacted by Sabrina Fick (Assistant Executive Floor Manager) and asked for any special requests - there were many and all were adhered to (and then some!).

We arrived with 2 kids (aged 5 and 8) and booked a suite. The room was perfect - ample space, sumptuous luxury and a balcony to die for. I had the kids during the day, my wife had the spa! The kids hopped from horses, to crocodiles, to waves and water tubes, computer games and then back to a room with all they could eat and their own TV with DVD player arranged by the hotel. As they faded off, we had our balcony transformed into the most romantic setting I have ever experienced. Andries (our butler) adorned the area with candles and set up a table outside. It was perfect. And he did it the second night as well!

The attention to detail was beyond belief - something I imagined reserved for presidential suites only. On requesting a particular desert (from a restaurant, not the room service menu), the chef refused to send it up with the meal - lest it spoil - opting to prepare it within 15 minutes of us calling for it. It arrived promptly and was perfect.

Good rooms are a dime a dozen but the staff have always been wonderful at the Palace. We always return. But off all the hotel experiences I have had - local and abroad - this was the first time ever that I had my breath taken away and was left wishing it would never end. Well done and see you again soon!

Room Tip: If you go with kids - stay in a suite. It costs a bit more but is worth every cent.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,943)
There are newer reviews for The Palace of the Lost City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,943 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed at the Palace again for a long weekend (myself, the missus and our two young boys). The hotel is amazing and despite being upmarket very welcoming for a family. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel comfortable without being intrusive. The service is great and the food is excellent. The facilities at Sun City are great for the family with the wave pool being the firm favourite.

Access to the Valley of the Waves and further on the entertainment world from the Palace is very convenient and following the paths through the man-made forests is really worth it, especially for our youngest who loves the outdoors and "exploring". If you are not feeling particularly like doing exercise then the shuttles that are on offer to and from the Palace and other venues in the resort are very convenient and regular.

I would recommend the Palace and Sun City for a family getaway anytime.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Junior Suites - two rooms (lounge with double sleeper couch and main), spacious and...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatmanGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Great resort, lovely ambiance and excellent client service

Room Tip: Suites overlooking the pools/entertainment areas offer great views.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 660NOBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The Palace is an amazing hotel and the rooms are great. But it doesn't feel right with the shanti towns being right next door and many staff obviously from there. As I said an amazing hotel...it just doesn't fell fair

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smbsstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is a gorgeous hotel that really looks and feels like a palace. I have stayed here twice and the service is excellent! Rooms are gorgeous and spacious, with a balcony overlooking the garden. The breakfasts is out of this world! The pool area is very nice to cool down in. You can book a private massage to your room, they will bring the tables etc. to you. We had a guide that took is through a little cave and hanging bridge untill we were at the Valley of the Waves. This is a man made beach with a wave pool. There is plenty of rides! There is a casino with shops, restaurants and cinemas. There is plenty to do here!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NicAl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is what an Africa holiday should be, all the safety and luxury with that real African feeling,

Wonderful Hotel, 5star +, really good service, some of the best food in the world from breakfast to dinner you will feel spoilt for choice.

Really good family holiday or couple's retreat they cater for both.

Within the Sun city resort so you have many more options in gambling entertainment and restaurants all over the resort.

This should be you first port off call on a Africa adventure.

If you golf you will be in heaven.

Room Tip: Any, I cant believe there will be a bad room in this resort.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed in August 2011 for 2 nights...it is really like a palace in every way...the entrance, lobby,main restaurant,everything was just too good...breakfast had a lot of variety...surprisingly no free internet in room unlike many other hotels in Soouth Africa...management should do something about it..our room was quite far from lift...on the whole really just too good for 2/3 days holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on higher floor near lift otherwise you will have to walk a lot
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalkrishnaShroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
0.6 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
623 reviews
1292.8 km away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
480 reviews
3.8 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
671 reviews
36.6 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
32.4 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 12 in Rustenburg
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace of the Lost City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sun City
Price Range: $354 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing