We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Surprise Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
The Marly Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camps Bay Retreat(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Seacastle Guest House(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bay Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$116
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
POD Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Place on the Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Royal(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$423
US$298
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
50
30
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
30
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrica roomking suitebeach roommovie roomgreat locationguest housegreat place to staystayed nightscape towntable mountaincomfortable bedsfew minutes walkthe main stripwould definitely stay here againcamp's baycharitybalcony
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 89 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Just got back from our second visit to Villa Surprise and are glad to say that it is still a great place to stay!

We had a split stay with 8 nights in the Africa Room over Christmas and then another 2 nights (after a 4 night mini tour down the coast) in the Morocco (cum new Africa) Room for New Year. The Africa room is still as comfortable as before (see previous review) and had a small make over since our last stay with the addition of a wall mounted flat screen TV and a large walk in shower replacing the bath - very nice touch!

The Morocco Room has also begun to be changed into a 2nd Africa room but with the Moroccan influence being maintained in the very spacious bathroom. The point of entry for this room was from the garden (which we were originally concerned about) but this was great for access to sunbathing by the pool. Again, a comfy lounge area, free safe, fridge, flat screen TV and comfortable beds made this a lovely room to stay in.

Rolf had built a new Cabana style shaded patio which was a lovely place to avoid the hot midday sunshine and the pool area was great to catch the sun and relax under the new large umbrella in the hammock when desired.

Marko, Rolf, Janet and the staff all made this another wonderful stay with lovely gestures over Xmas and New Year adding that extra touch (New Years Eve drinks were fabulous - many thanks)! We were made to feel so welcome and part of the family!! Breakfasts were as good as we remembered and they kindly looked after our extra baggage while we scooted off for 4 days exploring between our stays. The mini bar was well stocked and the laundry service was very quick and reasonably priced.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough and I hope to return again in the future. Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JanieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2008

My boyfriend and I have just got back from two weeks in Cape town and the western cape. We spent the first 10 days at Villa Surprise in Camps Bay as I'd read good reviews about this as a base.

Villa surprise was easy enough to find from the airport - we took the scenic route as we came off the N2 at wrong spot but still arrived in under 30 mins. The room (the Africa room) was lovely and spacious with a nice bathroom. It comes with a fan which was more than adequate for cooling the room. Marko showed us about and we felt instantly at home. There is off street parking, the property felt secure, there is a lovely area outside for breakfast and afternoons by the pool if its too hot on the beach.

The villa is about a 5 min walk from the beach and many restaurants in Camps Bay (10 mins on way back as uphill!). Camps Bay was a great place to stay, 10 mins drive to Cape Town and the N2 and N1 for other destinations, 5 mins to the Table mountain cable way, is practically on the coast road which is spectacular - recommend stopping at the twelve apostles hotel for a drink in the bar to watch the sunset. It is also a short drive from the quieter resort of Clifton whose 4 beaches are worth a visit.

The breakfasts were good, cooked breakfasts were a bit extra but no trouble if you wanted them, we also got our laundry done there which was returned same day, folded and ironed and shirts hung in wardrobe.

What really stood out was the constant helpfulness of the hosts Marko and Rolf. They were always happy to recommend/organise tours, suggest which vineyards to visit, which roads to use and even provided beach towels, umbrellas and a bat and ball set for us to use. When you are trying to fit a lot in to a short space of time this kind of local insight was fantastic.

I would absolutely stay here again if i get to visit again and would recommend it. I felt instantly relaxed staying here and had a great time.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2008

We stayed 4 nights in the King Suite. Booked directly with owners (www.villasurprise.co.za) and was very efficiently handled. The place looks even better than the web site suggests.
Arrived in the afternoon and was promptly shown to our suite which was gigantic (separate lounge / bedroom areas). The view from the balcony was fantastic and the decor was quirky (but good). If you're not a fan of uninspiring hotel chain style, then you'll love this place. The breakfast area where the coffee, fruit and biscuits are on tap is constantly open. The purchase of wine, beer etc. is by a honesty card (like an honesty box but you just tick what you've taken and get billed at the end) which is a nice touch.
We met Ralph, Minna and Marko who were very friendly and were willing to assist in any way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The rest of the team who we bumped into were also very friendly.
If you like air conditioning, there isn't any but we didn't find this a problem as the fans were adequate with the (almost) constant breeze from the sea.
Breakfast was excellent - continental style and more than adequate. If you wish, Marko will whisk up excellent eggs.
We were on the 1st floor and if you like a late lie in, then go for these as the ground floor rooms may be noisier due to traffic into the breakfast room.
Location wise for Camps Bay beach, restaurants, bars and shops, it is ideal as many of its rivals are sited much higher up this hilly area.
As for security, we were warned but did not encounter any problems.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennyboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
29
Reviewed April 10, 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Villa Surprise Africa room in 2005.

While there are more salubrious guest houses in Camps Bay, there are none so well located (less then 5 minutes walk from the beach)

The staff (especially Rolf and Marco) were extremely helpful, breakfast was nice, and if I were to go back to Camps Bay I would definitely stay in Villa Surprise again.

I think Tripadvisor have got the prices wrong as well we paid 900ZAR per night for the room - which is good value as Camps Bay goes.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zi mehr im ersten Stock haben eine Superaussicht.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzi S, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Surprise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews