We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hotel, excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We recently got married (Feb 1st) at the 12 Apostles and stayed there for 3 days.
We had a wonderful time in a fantastic location made possible by a hotel with excellent staff.
To a person, everyone was incredibly friendly and accomodating and always extremely proffessional. Nothing appeared too much trouble and our day was made perfect as a result.
What seems to differentiate this establishment from others, is that the employees (from porter or maid to senior manager) seem to show a genuine enjoyment for their work. It really is the mark of difference when you are judging a top quality hotel from another 5 star, where formal service sometimes can translate into stuffy pretentiousness.
Whilst all of the staff were excellent, i would like to single out two for special praise.
Firstly, Stephanie Hall, our wedding cooordinator. Stephanie was simply magnificent. Making a day run as smoothly from simply a set of e-mails is the mark of someone on top of her game. I simply don't know how she pulled it off so well. Everything exceeded our expectations, and more than anything, she made it fun for everyone. Most of the stresses and pressures who can have with a wedding simply evaporated by her never ending smile and boundless energy.
She was ably supported by the banquetting manager Willem. Again, proffessional to a tee but forever relaxed, friendly and a great asset and credit to the hotel.
Overall, an excellent hotel in a beautiful location with excellent staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPCKAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    159
    57
    25
    26
See reviews for
221
842
32
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times and each time we return we enjoy it even more. The location is outstanding,nestled between the ocean and the twelve apostles. The view from the bedroom is full on -an uninterrupted panoramic sea view. All the staff,without exception,treat us like family and take care of our every need. The food is fab and the cheesecake is just the best ever!the rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWilds42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zefender
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed three nights in one of the superiour sea facing rooms. The room was superb, well furnished and with a balcony that had a perfect view of the bay.
The service at this hotel is absolutely top notch. All the staff were very friendly and professional, wihout the dreary fawning that some premium hotels engage in. One evening, we were sitting on the balcony and a member of staff must have spotted us from the hotel's balcony bar and arrived in a few minutes with some nibbles, which was a nice touch.
Food was of a high quality too, and varied. The two pools are modestly sized but great for a cool dip. The spa has particularly good, experienced staff and is to be particularly recommended. The concierge booked the cable car tickets to Table Mountain (though the fit can just walk up since the mountain is just behind the hotel) and also arranged for a private helicopter charter from the hotel to the Waterfront - only about 8 minutes flight but this was a fantastic treat.

This is hardly a budget hotel but they have almost everything very well sorted. I can confidently say it was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zefender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We experienced exceptionally good and friendly service at the Checking In desk. Although we were too early to check in, all the formalities had been done ahead of time. We decided to go out on an excursion to Table Mountain until the room would be ready. The booking for this was done there and then and the tickets printed for us by a very friendly young lady at the front office.
Without exception, every member of staff was friendly, courteous and tried their best to accommodate every wish of ours. We decided to make use of their picnic basket and to go out to one of their picnic sites that they have close to the hotel. They have various types of baskets which are more than worth the money. While we were waiting for the basket, we were offered a complimentary glass of wine and were then accompanied to the site by two very friendly staff members who laid out the food before leaving us alone.
At dinner time we were surprised by the big selection of food available, as well as the wonderful selection of wines on their menu. In 40 years of traveling we have never seen such a variety of wines on one menu. We were never rushed into the next course, which meant that we could enjoy our meals at our leisure.
The breakfast selection was more than enough and was enhanced by the fresh oysters that were available every morning.
On our second night’s stay we ordered a room service dinner , and what a service we got! Not only was the food of the highest quality, superbly prepared and presented, but it also arrived within the shortest imaginable time. In all our years of traveling here and overseas, we had never received our room service meals within ten minutes of ordering!
All in all this was one of the best ones we had ever had at a hotel and would recommend this establishment without any prejudice.
Johan Jordaan

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Just wanted to say that we had the most magical first wedding night at the Twelve Apostles.
The staff were outstanding! They collected us from the wedding venue in such style!
The room was out of this world and the small touches like the congratulations card to us and the rose petals scattered around the room were second to none.
We are both from the service industry in London and we were shocked at how amazing and friendly every single staff member was.
Collecting our car and having it waiting for us when we were leaving to replacing our used drinking water with fresh cold bottles! Fab! would recommend it to anyone for a special occasion - it will not disapoint!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We have received your review on your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and are naturally delighted that you had such a splendid time. We trust that you will visit us many times still in the future.

Also remember that there are other properties in the Red Carnation Family, these are Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Twelve Apostles. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband and I booked a couple package at the 12 Apostles spa. We were welcomed with a healthy complimentary buffet and drinks. We were shown around the facilities and then left for an hour to enjoy it on our own. The floatation brine pool was fabulously relaxing. We then had the rasul chamber treatment, which we really enjoyed. Finally we were taken up to one of the top gazebos for a Swedish massage, which was may I say the best I ever received. The view of the Apostles mountain and the seafront was breathtaking and the therapist were very nice and caring. I will definitely go back there. Hopefully you will enjoy as much as we did!

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel, just used the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Temperlilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Spa with other "Spa Goers". Our staff take great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable massage with us. On your next visit please also try one of our signature massages from our unique product range B AFrica, the B Harmonised is a particular favourite.

Our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family also have award winning Spas so please consider these when you are next in Durban or the Cedarberg.

Thank you again for visiting us,

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

This resort is amazing, located adjacent to the twelve apostles mountains and facing the ocean. The service was outstanding and the staff was very friendly. We stayed here for a wedding and the event space and catering were superb, with amazing sunset views. Located just a short drive from Camps Bay which has some great restaurants and beaches.

Room Tip: Opt for an ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Preston P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are naturally delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will consider returning to us on many future occasions. Please also consider our other properties Bushman's Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
4.2 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
3.4 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.5 km away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
10.0 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
9.8 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing