We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll feel at home immediately”
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rouge on Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Everything about my stay at the Rouge on Rose was fantastic. Great location--plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The daily breakfast included with the stay was delicious. The room was spacious and comfortable. But the best part unquestionably was the staff. They were friendly and helpful even before I'd arrived in Cape Town—helping arrange a tour, an airport transfer, giving advice on what to see—and they were even more friendly and helpful in person during my stay. Each time I came back to the hotel after being out, I had the wonderful feeling of coming home.

Room Tip: My room had a kitchenette, which was great for doing simple meals or snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Really enjoyed stay in Rouge on Rose. The staff are exceptionally friendly and will go above and beyond to help with any query -restaurants, bars, taxis etc. Central location and 24 hour reception and security. Within walking distance of long street, shops, restaurants, cafes etc
The breakfast far exceeded our expectations. Couldn't say enough about the place, really recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ojbireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great place. A very comfortable stay. Free Wifi. Great breakfast. Rooms are decorated with beautiful antiques. Owners are very friendly and helpful. I attended a group meeting and all the members of the meeting were set up here (about 5 to 7). They took good care of us. Highly recommended. Rooms have microwaves, stoves, refrigerator and cutlery etc. So, you can also cook or at a minimum stock the refrigerator.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloNY2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We just came back from our 2 weeks trip in South Africa. We stayed 4 nights at Rouge on Rose with our 3 children aged 10,8 and 5 years old. What a great establishment! Great rooms, great location, delicious breakfast served daily and importantly, a wonderful staff and service. We can't raved enough about this place. We arrived with a small glitch on the accommodation as our booking, for whatever reason does not reflect our 3 children and all family rooms are taken. Ursula, efficiently managed to sort the issue out and with great expertise managed to convert a room for us to a family room accommodating all 5 of us!

Location is great, 5 min drive to V&A Waterfront, Wharfs and less than half hour drive radius to drive to major attractions such as Table mountain, Kirstenbosch Park, Camps Bay etc.

Our children looked forward daily for their delicious breakfast....it's a real gourmet! The best breakfast ever!

We already recommended this wonderful place to people we met during our drive on Garden Route that were looking for accommodation in Cape Town.

Thank you Ursula, Angie, Tennison (the wonderful chef!) and Ritish for many our stay such a memorable one!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron-Shima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Beautifully decorated, great breakfast and warm and helpful service. Our stay in Cape Town was made all the more special by staying here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed at Rouge on Rose four different periods of time while in Cape Town for work and then vacation. My first stay obviously made a quick impression of how enjoyabe and comfortable this is accomidation was so I booked in several more stays. Each stay I visited a new room and each one delightful in comfort and presentation. Ursula and Michel were almost like family by the time we left sharing experience of Cape Town and providing suggestions and guidance. The staff were great and help full and the breakfasts were amazing. Location is great as it is central and easy to get around on foot or with a car or Taxi.

Room Tip: Rooms with a little bar fridge, cook top and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at Rouge on Rose in the Bo Kaap area of Cape Town for six delightful days. Our room at Rouge was stylish and contemporary. We had wonderful views of both Table Mountain and the colorful houses of the Bo Kaap area from our third floor corner room.
Breakfasts at Rouge were creative and delicious. The Ursula and Michel are extremely helpful and made us feel at home in Cape Town. We hated to leave!

Room Tip: The third floor corner room was great! Did not see any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnWoodward542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,472 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,354 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
672 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
290 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $162 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing