We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One and only indeed”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the one and only for our honeymoon. We have never stayed in such luxury before. Many thanks to the tour agency that booked it for us and it certainly was a surprise (we just didn't have the time to even look at the details of our honeymoon accomodation). Everything from being collected at the airport, check in, room, service and meals were absolutely first class. It was a pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abz_Has
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

From the moment we checked in at the One&Only Cape Town we were treated like royalty. Attention to details in the kids room with small robes and shampoos. The staff was really exceptional especially the breakfast staff, hot-chocolates as they walked in, they thought they were in heaven. The food in the main resturaunt for 1 dinner was excellent. The reception staff and porters can't help you enough. Overall one of my best experiences in a hotel, they certainly know that keeping the kids happy keeps they parents happy and relaxed, Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Connecting rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenoniTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is the greatest hotel we have stayed in South Africa. From the moment you turn your Vehicle onto their driveway and approach the entrance you are escorted by friendly staff to do your registration.After registration you are taken on a tour to familirise you with all the facilities.Great room, extremely luxcurious.Reuben's Restaurant however dissapointing.

Room Tip: The Luxury Suites are a must if available !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joffre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Right by the V&A in Cape Town this is a resort hotel within a city. When it is warm enough to swim (kids have a slightly different definition of this to me) it has a great pool. Service is normally really good. Slightly bizarre situation on one stay when husband got locked inside room one night and I was locked out. Managers running around everywhere and eventually had to get lady next door to let husband out of room through interconnecting door. Unfortuanate event but handled as well as these things can be and we then got upgraded to a suite. Kids love the kids club for short visits and allows us to have an hour or so wandering V&A by ourselves. Restaurants also all nice and bar has stunning vistas.
It is expensive but you get large rooms and great views. Service needs to be bit more consistent!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We only stayed one night at The One and Only, but from the second we walked in we were treated like royalty, even in our ripped jeans&flip flops :) We had a double queen room on the island and it was huge. We took the kids to the kids club and went for a walk. When we came back the kids didn't want to leave the kids club so we went back to the room. It started raining so we called reception to ask how we could get the kids without getting soaked, they then went to fetch our kids and drove them to our room in a golf cart so we didn't need to get wet! They went the extra mile with everything, especially with the kids. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trassle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I had amazing time in this hotel. It's next to marina so we had great choice of restaurants , Aquarium is next door and 1st stop of City Sightseeing Tour is 3 min walk.
SPA is fabulous - I love ESPA and they use their products. Also my massage was excellent.
I was amazed to find out that they built underwater corridor for housekeepers to never meet guests. It's so respectful to quests.

NATO-SA - get over not having butter in your sandwich .
I mean really :) who mention such stuff ???

Room Tip: Island room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtoddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Having stayed mostly at guest houses in Cape Town over the years, I wanted to try something different and opted for the One and Only. It was just ok, at a stretch. The location frankly did not suit me, as I don't care for the wharf area and it is really in no mans land, relatively isolated from everything, certainly by foot. The service was spotty and in the restaurants poor to awful ( Nobu). I had two massages in the spa, the first very good, the second abysmal. The view of Table Mountain from my room was lovely, but is there a bad view in Cape Town? Well yes, probably the island rooms - I can't imagine the sense of confinement stuck in one of those. The long and the short, this is just an expensive hotel that falls way short of the elegant resort it's trying to be or charging for. Back to the guest houses for me!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luxurytravelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
0.9 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,283 reviews
0.4 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
0.4 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
0.4 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $786 - $2,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing