We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian food”

Bukhara CBD Cape Town
Ranked #196 of 1,288 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: US$10 - US$80
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed April 25, 2017

We had previously eaten at (and loved) the Bukhara restaurant in Stellenbosch, but the branh in Cape Town is bigger and much better. Very quiet when we went, though, so we were able to get a table outside. delicious & good quality food.

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabi S, Owner at Bukhara CBD Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

David, thank you so much for your review, we are very happy that you enjoy it.

Hopefully we can see you again soon for some of our winter promotions.

All the best,

Bukhara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 773 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

Had 4 dinners in Cape town and this was the most expensive and most disappointing so far. The place is very big with kitchens open / behind glass which is unusual. As it was practically empty and it is so big there was no atmosphere. My husband is an Indian food fanatic and he very disappointed with the flavour or lack or it. The nan bread was lovely though . Our waitress recommended a wine that would have cost us about €60 and seemed irritated when we went for a €20 bottle. I wouldn't recommend

1  Thank Breda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabi S, Owner at Bukhara CBD Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Hi Breda,

I apologize for what you received from Bukhara, we pride ourselves in our atmosphere, food and service and it seems you didn't get any of these.

I am taking a bigger role at looking after our clients more now than ever so I will be looking into this matter. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, we do hope for another chance to see you again.

Best,

Bukhara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

Visited this restaurant for the first time and will NEVER visit again.

We have been to many other fine dine restaurants in cape town (and other major cities for that matter) but this restaurant - although portraying itself as a classy establishment (good interior decor) it is far from it.

First the location. It is located in an alley way and the streets look unsafe with beggars following you closely.

Interior was pleasant but looks are deceiving. We were recieved by the waiter and were shown to our table. We ordered salted lassi but got sweet instead. This was replaced after some considerable time. The starters and mains including the breads and rice were all brought together at the same time. It was as if they wanted to process us out as quickly as possible.

The food was pathetic. The prawn curry was completely watery. Garlic naan was dry and cold. Our table waiter was serving several other tables and service was very slow. We asked another waiter for some cut onions. She told us this will be brought shortly but never did. After about 20 munutes we again asked/reminded our waiter for the onions and were told they were out of stock - apparantely issues with their supplier. We couldn't comprehend a supposedly high class indian restaurant having no onions due to supplier issues!

We couldn't finish our food and asked for the bill. Although prices are unreasonably high for the low quality of food, we nevertheless paid cash and didn't bother for the change. Before leaving the waiter counted the cash and stopped us at the doorway demanding for a minimum 10% gratuity. We were completely shocked/dumbfounded at the sheer arrogance and attitude by the waiter to stop us to demand in such an extortionate way for a tip. We reluctantly paid an additional amount to avoid a scene vowing to never return to such an establishment.

We have never faced such an arrogant behavior in any of the restaurants we've visited - and we have visited many. You could also clearly see arrogance and disagreements between the manager and some of the waiters.

We would NEVER again visit this restaurant and would NOT recommend to anyone. Do a bit of research online. It seems others have also experienced similar instances with service, food quality...etc.

3  Thank Zulfikar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabi S, Owner at Bukhara CBD Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Hi there,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it. I would like to address the concerns you have.

Location - 90% of the best restaurants are in locations like ours, its something we cannot control. As for the beggars outside, it is something again that sits out of our control.

Food - It is interesting that you would mention this here on Tripadvisor, yet our waiters have never even heard of you or your apparent complaints. In future, if you have an issue with the food, consider addressing it with the waiter at hand so we can fix it, we are well aware that mistakes with food happen, its a natural thing that happens to every restaurant. We of course would like to fix these things sooner, so please consider alerting us in future.

Tipping - We have recently been made aware of our waiters doing this and have since got rid of 2 waiters that were found guilty on this subject so thank you so much for bringing this to our attention.

Going forward I can assure you that we are not as bad as you are making us out to be, and if you want to come see us again, we can prove it.

All the best

Bukhara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2017 via mobile

Must go if you like Indian food had great beautiful kitchen super tandoori and savory spices just splendid super wine list also!!

Thank rogersgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabi S, Owner at Bukhara CBD Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Amazing, thank you so much.

We are looking forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2017

nice enough restaurant in the mall above the wharf.Nice views Food had very little choices in Vegetarian food and food was nice enough but wont go back.Service was alright but nothing special.

Thank Ajay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabi S, Owner at Bukhara CBD Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Hi,

This review is for our V&A Branch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bukhara CBD Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Bukhara CBD Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing