We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never, EVER, EVER, again!!!”
Review of Strand Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Strand Tower Hotel
Ranked #53 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never, EVER, EVER, again!!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

WE GOT FOOD POISONING FROM THE STRAND HOTEL!!!
My colleague and I booked The Strand for our last minute business trip to Capetown. The accomodations were fine - rooms were small, but clean. Nothing special. However, we did get access to the business lounge. We ate breakfast there, and all seemed fine. However, a little later, my colleague began feeling sick, and got sick. We figured it was a fluke, ate nowhere else for the day, and went back to the business lounge later that evening to get some work done. We tried the light snacks - some fruit, bread, a little soup. We went back to our rooms, and a few hours later, we were both sick. It was terrible. All night, running back and forth to the bathroom. We alerted management of the issue, and he seemed not to care at all. His attitude was awful. From there, we went back to the business lounge, checked out the food, and left. We returned later that afternoon, and just as we suspected, IT WAS THE SAME EXACT FOOD!! They had it out all day, no refrigeration or anything. Disgusting. So, thought the price seems right, the hotel is not worth your health. Stay somewhere else and have the piece of mind.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrspalmerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear mrspalmerjones,

Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor. I am really sorry to read that your stay was not as expected, as both you and your colleague got ill during your stay. I must however point out that we only use fresh products and do refrigerate them at all times in our Executive Lounge..
Once again, thank you for posting a review, and please contact me next time you visit Capr Town, as I would like the opportunity to prove to you that our hotel is more than worth staying at!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    281
    111
    31
    20
See reviews for
91
239
57
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White River, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed 6 nights at Strand Tower Hotel. Staff very helpfull and friendly. Room clean ; food good and plentifull; Location excellent.Bus stop to Waterfront close by as well as stop for Hop on - hop off bus to all main attractions. Sauna and steam room great! Yes we can recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spend their vacation in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Table Mountain - higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leweomtetoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Ieweomtetoer,

Many thanks for your review! I am very pleased to read thaat you had a great stay at the Strand Tower Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel for your next visit in Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bacau,Romania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at Strand Tower Hotel for 11 nights and found the personnel extremely friendly and helpful.The room was spacious and clean and the breakfast was very good and plentiful.We think the hotel offers good value for money and we recommend it to anyone who wants to spend their vacation in Cape Town.

Room Tip: preferably not a room with windows to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adria vero v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Adria Vero V,

It gives me pleasure to read your review about the Strand Tower Hotel. Thank you for the wonderful feedback! I am also very happy that we could contribute in a successful stay in Cape Town.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Good points ?This hotel is in a great location, the buzzy centre. The choice of meals was excellent. The staff were very helpful. However, our room on the 12th floor was a disppointment. Cape Town was our last stop after a gruelling two week tour all the way from Swaziland. There were a group of us, staying for three nights and we all had two large suitcases to sort out before catching the plane back to the UK. We were readily shown alternative rooms on the same floor but they were all a similar size and with the same facilities. There was a wardrobe with 4 hangers each, the rail approx 6' plus high, no good for the little ones among us unless you stood on a chair. The wardrobe had two open 'boxes' to put things in. There were no drawers anywhere so most of our clothes ended up scattered on the floor, or remained in our cases. This hotel is just right for business people who are travelling light. Oh, and don't waste your time trying to get the TV working, it is so complicated, just ask one of the staff to show you !

Room Tip: Aim high to avoid the disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentOldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear KentOldboy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. Ii gives me pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Unfortunately we have a limited capacity for luggage storage, that in most cases is sufficient. With regard to the television, we will try to simplify the procedure and give an easy explanation for it. Thank you for your valued feedback as it ensures we can improve on our services offered!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed a total of three nights on 2 visits in February. The hotel rooms were clean and the staff efficient and very helpful. Ate a couple of meals in the restaurant which were tasty and well presented. The restaurant staff were extremely pleasant. The Buffet breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.
The location was very good, there was a stop for the Hop-on Hop-off bus close by and it was easy to walk to many different areas.
I would stay there again if visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWN1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear JWN1942,

Thank you for your review and your staay at the Strand Tower Hotel. I am very glad that we were able to assist you and your partner in an enjoyable stay. We value the feedback we get and we strive to make it even better upon your next visit!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I spent eight nights at the Strand Tower in February of 2012. The room was clean and comfortable and reasonably priced. It was easy to walk to the waterfront or the museums in the day and around Long Street at night. Internet service was inexpensive and reliable. Unfortunately gained 3 pounds on the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: We had the twin beds made into a king, and it was firm and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Thomas S,

It is great to read that you had a great stay at the Strand Tower Hotel! It was a pleasure accomodating you, for your next visit I recommend our gym on the 17th floor, where you can loose all the pounds gained ;-)

We look forweard to welcoming you again in Cape Town.

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaals, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Great hotel - the hotel and especially the bedrooms are very clean. Staff helpful and friendly. Management there to help you at all times. Breakfast has a wide selection. several computers to check your email was an additional convenience. Would recommend this to any traveller to Cape Town

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Xander H,

Many thanks for writing a review about the Strand Tower Hotel. It is great to read that you had a great stay with us, and thereby making your visit to Cape Town a memorable one!
Please contact us next time you visit Cape Town, as we look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
Fountains Hotel
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
527 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
881 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
782 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#56 of 109 in Cape Town Central
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Tower Hotel

Property: Strand Tower Hotel
Address: Corner of Strand and Loop Streets, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Tower Hotel is located in the hub of Cape Town’s CBD on the corner of bustling Strand and Loop Streets. It offers 4 Star accommodation, making it the ideal place to stay for business, conference and leisure travellers.Free internet of 100MB daily is available to all our guests. Secure on site parking.Cape Town’s business centre is within easy walking distance from the Strand Tower Hotel. The city’s many major tourist attractions, such as Table Mountain, Robben Island and the V&A Waterfront, are also within easy access from the hotel. Other notable landmarks nearby include the Cape Town International Convention Centre. With three World Heritage Sites, Cape Town has a wide range of attractions that include a diverse mix of cultural, historical and historical sites, as well as a host of outdoor and leisure activities. From entertainment, nature and environment to world-class wining and dining – the Mother City offers something for everyone.Boasting a gym, sauna, bar, restaurant and satellite television, the Strand Tower Hotel is almost entirely self contained. So much so, that our guests don’t even need to go outside.The hotel has plenty of facilities to keep you entertained and relaxed. The pool deck, which is located on the second floor of the hotel, provides guests with a lush, tranquil oasis in the heart of the city. The gym area, sauna and steam room allow guests to destress after a long day while having fabulous views of Table Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Strand Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Tower Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing