We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well located!”
Review of Strand Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Strand Tower Hotel
Ranked #51 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
McLaren Vale
1 review
“Very well located!”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Very well located, clean, safe, friendly staff and generous breakfast! Value for money, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are a couple make sure you get a twin bed or a double bad...not two single beds together...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Irina S,

Thank you very much for your review about the Strand Tower Hotel. I always value the feedback we get from guests!
Please contact us next time you come to Cape Town, as I look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    281
    111
    31
    20
See reviews for
91
239
57
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
OSLO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2012

After staying at a cheaper hotel nearby earlier on in our trip, we just walked into the hotel and booked a room. Comparing to what we had gotten other places, the hotel was good value for money. The pool and sundeck was a big plus for us, and having breakfast out here, with the mix of roaring sounds from the busy street and the grand piano from the inside was great. Our room was spacious, the bed good sized, and the bathroom comfortable. Everything was clean and nice. Big plus for a corner room with views to Table Mountain, Signal Hill and the Green Point Stadium. The area is good for walking to different sights in the city centre, both waterfront, Bo Kaap and Gardens.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrine_aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Andrine_aa,

Thank you very much for posting a review of the Strand Tower Hotel! It gives me great pleasure to read that you had a great stay at the hotel!
Please come and stay with us again during your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Deal that I have got on website was just amazing, so value for money was more than I have expected. On top of that I could use Executive lounge and eat breakfast or use internet or just have a soft/warm drinks included in the price.
Room was small, but I don't care about this factor on holidays.
Location is superb.
Pool was good.
Staff was very polite and nice in assisting whatever you need, specially in lounge.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidCRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear IntrepidCRO,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Strand Tower Hotel. It gives all of us at the hotel a great deal of pleasure to ensure that our guests are happy and more than satisfied with our products and services. What I can read from your review, this is absolutly a mission accomplished!

We look forward to welcoming you again in Cape Town and of course in the hotel!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed here for two nights at the end of March in a deluxe room, with access to Executive lounge, which suited me brilliantly as I could use all facilities like email, internet and scanning services complimentary as well as snack and drink in comfort and quiet. My room was on the 16th floor with views of table mountain, the city, the harbour, the city etc... In short - just breathtaking. The food was plentiful and tasty - I had snacks, breakfast (above average) and lunch (Delicious choice of dishes). If you looking to be in the centre of the city close to everything that matters, it is hard to beat and i would definitely say it is better for business people, couples wanting a city break and solo travelers needing to be close to everything, including good public transport. The rooms have all that you expect, nothing special, but comfortable and a little on the small side, especially by South African standards, but hardly an issue - A slight complaint is that the carpets throughout the Hotel, especially in the lifts looked like they needed a vacuum clean all the time. However the best and most important reason to stay here, is the staff - in all departments they excelled - smiling, happy, chatty and just very friendly - they made my stay wonderful and they are without doubt why you should choose this Hotel if you going to stay in the city. I must especially compliment the staff in the Executive lounge - charming, helpful and professional.

Room Tip: The higher up the better and the corner rooms have two awesome views.I stayed in room 1602 and loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Stuartgood,

Thank you for your review! It gives me great pleasure to read that we made your stay unforgettable! Thank you for the tip with regard to the lifts and corridors. We have improved the procedures as a result.

Please contact us again for your next visit, as we would love to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

WE GOT FOOD POISONING FROM THE STRAND HOTEL!!!
My colleague and I booked The Strand for our last minute business trip to Capetown. The accomodations were fine - rooms were small, but clean. Nothing special. However, we did get access to the business lounge. We ate breakfast there, and all seemed fine. However, a little later, my colleague began feeling sick, and got sick. We figured it was a fluke, ate nowhere else for the day, and went back to the business lounge later that evening to get some work done. We tried the light snacks - some fruit, bread, a little soup. We went back to our rooms, and a few hours later, we were both sick. It was terrible. All night, running back and forth to the bathroom. We alerted management of the issue, and he seemed not to care at all. His attitude was awful. From there, we went back to the business lounge, checked out the food, and left. We returned later that afternoon, and just as we suspected, IT WAS THE SAME EXACT FOOD!! They had it out all day, no refrigeration or anything. Disgusting. So, thought the price seems right, the hotel is not worth your health. Stay somewhere else and have the piece of mind.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrspalmerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear mrspalmerjones,

Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor. I am really sorry to read that your stay was not as expected, as both you and your colleague got ill during your stay. I must however point out that we only use fresh products and do refrigerate them at all times in our Executive Lounge..
Once again, thank you for posting a review, and please contact me next time you visit Capr Town, as I would like the opportunity to prove to you that our hotel is more than worth staying at!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed 6 nights at Strand Tower Hotel. Staff very helpfull and friendly. Room clean ; food good and plentifull; Location excellent.Bus stop to Waterfront close by as well as stop for Hop on - hop off bus to all main attractions. Sauna and steam room great! Yes we can recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spend their vacation in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Table Mountain - higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leweomtetoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Ieweomtetoer,

Many thanks for your review! I am very pleased to read thaat you had a great stay at the Strand Tower Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel for your next visit in Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bacau,Romania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at Strand Tower Hotel for 11 nights and found the personnel extremely friendly and helpful.The room was spacious and clean and the breakfast was very good and plentiful.We think the hotel offers good value for money and we recommend it to anyone who wants to spend their vacation in Cape Town.

Room Tip: preferably not a room with windows to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adria vero v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerSTH, General Manager at Strand Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Adria Vero V,

It gives me pleasure to read your review about the Strand Tower Hotel. Thank you for the wonderful feedback! I am also very happy that we could contribute in a successful stay in Cape Town.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Jerome van Helden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
Fountains Hotel
#82 of 109 in Cape Town Central
527 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
880 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
782 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#55 of 109 in Cape Town Central
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Tower Hotel

Property: Strand Tower Hotel
Address: Corner of Strand and Loop Streets, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#56 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Tower Hotel is located in the hub of Cape Town’s CBD on the corner of bustling Strand and Loop Streets. It offers 4 Star accommodation, making it the ideal place to stay for business, conference and leisure travellers.Free internet of 100MB daily is available to all our guests. Secure on site parking.Cape Town’s business centre is within easy walking distance from the Strand Tower Hotel. The city’s many major tourist attractions, such as Table Mountain, Robben Island and the V&A Waterfront, are also within easy access from the hotel. Other notable landmarks nearby include the Cape Town International Convention Centre. With three World Heritage Sites, Cape Town has a wide range of attractions that include a diverse mix of cultural, historical and historical sites, as well as a host of outdoor and leisure activities. From entertainment, nature and environment to world-class wining and dining – the Mother City offers something for everyone.Boasting a gym, sauna, bar, restaurant and satellite television, the Strand Tower Hotel is almost entirely self contained. So much so, that our guests don’t even need to go outside.The hotel has plenty of facilities to keep you entertained and relaxed. The pool deck, which is located on the second floor of the hotel, provides guests with a lush, tranquil oasis in the heart of the city. The gym area, sauna and steam room allow guests to destress after a long day while having fabulous views of Table Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Strand Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Tower Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing