We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence exceeding Expectations!”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
johannesburg, south africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellence exceeding Expectations!”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I spent a total of four nights at the Taj in February and despite earlier hesitation as to whether staying in the CBD was a great idea, I decided to have a rather optimistic approach. As I had arrived during the running up to the opening of Parliament, there was quite a bit of activity around the hotel.

Taj is a well reputed brand, and it delivered all the best of service one could imagine at their Cape Town establishment. Arrive either by a stunning Jaguar XJ or hired car (free valet and parking) all you will be whisked away promptly to the intimate reception area. Here you are met by well-humored and genuinely friendly members of staff.

The hotel offered a complimentary upgrade to a one bedroom suite. The suite is breath-taxingly gorgeous! It is massive, surely surpassing 100 square meters. The suite consists of a dining area, a very comfortable seating area in front of the bed, the incredibly comfortable king size bed, many stand alone, mirrored closets as well as the marble-clad bathrooms. The most stunning aspect of the suite is the glassed balcony overlooking the gorgeous St George's Mall. The atmosphere is relaxing. As I have been multiple times to Cape Town, I chose to just relax in the confines of the comfortable suite.

The location is ideal for business travel, however if you are a leisure traveler this should not mean that the Taj should not be considered. The V&A Waterfront is a mere 15 minutes away, the famous Long Street is not even a 3 minute stroll away- hosting a variety of amazing restaurants and nightlife.

The breakfast was somewhat of a disappointment in regard to variety. The Bombay Brasserie restaurant on the contrary, was superb.

The Taj is a beautiful and intimate establishment in the heart of one of the most beautiful cities in the world. I would like to extend my thanks especially to the housekeeping team who had brought me a new pillow off of the menu each night as well as for the turn down services and treats. I was made to feel at home, easily!

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the new tower rather than the heritage building if you prefer a more modern soph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozi-sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    343
    84
    28
    27
See reviews for
273
701
85
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our room was in the heritage wing on the 4th floor overlooking St Georges Mall - it was a quiet room although the view from outside the window was not particularly inspiring. The room provided every comfort we required with great air con control, bathroom facilities and comfortable bed. It is well situated in the heart of Cape Town. The hotel doesn't have a vast common / bar area and these are confined to the ground floor - it didn't bother us too much as we either spent time outside the hotel or in the room. This hotel should really be given 5 stars in this review but fails on service. Don't get me wrong everyone was polite and helpful and the consiege service is 1st class providing restaurant bookings, drop off by limousine and local knowledge but if fails on room replenishments - every day we had something missing be it the tea pot, cups, tea, wine glasses etc - it varied every day of our 8 day stay and the duty manager was unable to solve the problem despite trying hard.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Taj Cape Town for seven nights in February. We were looked after very well and would agree with all the complimentary posts.
Service is exemplary, without being overbearing. Concierge and valet-parking all hassle free. Rooms are well appointed, quiet and the lifts are efficient. Excellent location with most sites only a few minutes drive or walk away.

Room Tip: As you might imagine, the higher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryBoyyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed at the Taj Cape Town for three days.
My room had the most gorgous view of the mountain, it beautifully appointed with all the extras of a 5 star hotel. It has a iron in the room which is is great when you travel on business. A pillow menu, but a hard bed, for my liking.

The bathroom is amazing, well thought out, its the star of the show!

Room Tip: All i can say is upgrade, but really all the rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwabisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Very happy with this hotel as usual in S.A. Good friendly service upgraded to a suite which was really good. Very central to everything loved the place. Thank you didn't eat dinner at hotel only because we spent a lot of time at Q & A breeky was just ok but that was alright.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Taj is modernized but still has enough bits and bobs of grandeur that make you feel every inch the heiress or the celebrity when you stay there.

The staff is friendly, helpfull and pretty (although mint's staff was slow, but being Cape Town its to be expected)

Its the perfect hotel to use as a base, to explore the city and catch a quick meter taxi for destinations further away. Pack your oversized sunnies and sit outside on the patio drinking vino with the oh so fashionable cape town crowd ambling past. You might not be cool enough to hang with them but by staying at the Taj you at least will score some brownie points.

The rooms are absolutely scrumptious, the beds are so comfortable and luxurious that I had pushed the snooze button until the sun was above the mountain.

I am rather proud of the fact that I still experience a pretty woman moment each time i can sit in a tub and watch telly.... thank god im not blase... nothing like drinking bubbly in bath big enough for a small cape townian familly and watching telly....

Cant wait to return to the taj.....

ps under my top 10 for best bathroom products

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 10 floor, drinking coffee from the balcony with a view of the city and the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I have previously been guests of Taj Hotels in India which was the reason we chose the Taj in Cape Town as we thought we knew what to expect of a Taj Hotel!
We have just arrived home following a 16-night stay at The Taj, Cape Town - a base from where we fully explored the city and its surrounds.
We had a lovely, albeit slightly small room for such a long stay, on the 17th floor with magnificent views over the city and harbour. The room however was well equipped to accommodate all of our needs. Sadly, a poorly fitted shower cubicle door meant that after use, one had to pad around on wet towels on the bathroom a hall floor as it became very wet and slippery. On 11 of our 16 nights the floor was dried-off and fresh towels were produced (during the nightly turn-down service). Note: On the 'missing' nights, we have no idea why our room was missed - 1st inconsistency!
The room maid service proved highly inconsistent, in terms of standard - sometimes our dustbin was emptied, other times not! Sometimes we returned to our room to find that it hadn't been cleaned well at all while on other occasions, it had clearly been given a thorough clean throughout. Coffee cups/pot used was sometimes taken away and not replaced etc. Finally, bird 'messages' remained on our balcony for several days until we requested it be cleaned!! All in all, not the consistent standard we'd expected from a Taj Hotel.
On a positive note: The staff were, in general, very good with a few worth noting for their special care and attention: James Borland (Beverage Manager) who went 'above and beyond' to ensure our stay was memorable. Chantelle (Concierge) - always to be found with a smile and willing to assist in all ways possible. Jonathan (Mint, Breakfast Waiter) - very attentive and extremely welcoming. John (Hotel Driver) - Courteous and friendly.
Despite the length of our stay, we remained unnoticed as guests until we had need to make a complaint to a duty manager (something we've rarely done before anywhere in the world) - thereafter we were treated like royalty which rankled - in a 5 star it shouldn't take a complaint to be treated this way (but especially at a Taj Hotel).
In all fairness to The Taj Cape Town, our complaint was noted and clearly acted upon (not simply ignored) and so they are obviously listening to guests and try to improve their standards.
The Taj Cape Town is, in my opinion, an excellent business hotel and maybe has some work to do in order to improve their offer for longer-term (tourist) guests.

Room Tip: Perhaps consider paying extra for a Club Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H1CAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTCT, Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor, it is only through detailed feedback like your own that we, being a relatively new hotel, measure and improve our performance.

Please accept our apologies for the inconsistencies you experienced with regards to service levels during your stay with us. All details have been addressed with the relevant departmental teams involved. We truly aspire to provide an exceptional Hotel experience to all our guests. We have also noted your comment with reference to the shower cubicle door, and are looking at solutions to prevent this problem in the future.

Thank you also, for noting which staff members you felt provided excellent service, we have passed these comments on and recognised these team members for their excellent service standards.

In closing, we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Cape Town in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Michael Pownall - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.8 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
1.9 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
1.8 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
2.4 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,185 reviews
2.6 km away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Property: Taj Cape Town
Address: 1 Wale Street | corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Taj Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing