We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is no better place to saty in Cape Town!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penthouse on Long

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penthouse on Long
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“There is no better place to saty in Cape Town!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

The hostel is located in the heart of Cape Town, in the middle of Long Street. Which makes it really easy to get around, whether you wanna go to the beach, climb Table mountain or do anything else this amazing city has to offer!

The hostel has a great atmosphere!! All the rooms are painted and decorated in different themes, there is a huge kitchen where you can find anything you need, a chilled out TV-lounge, nice showers where there is always warm water, a reading area with couches and lots of books to borrow. And of course there is the roof top bar, my favorite place! It has an amazing view over the hole city, you can even see Lionshead and Table mountain. During the day it's a great place to chill out and in the evenings it's THE place to be :) whether you want a relaxed evening with a few drinks or a big night out! There are always lots of people there, the cheapest drinks you can find in Long Street, cool music and some awesome bartenders.

My absolute favorite thing, what made Penthouse on Long the best hostel to me, is the staff! They are so helpful, if there is anything you need you can be sure they will go ou of theire way to help you. It is a wonderfull goup of people and they take care of you like your family! I ended up staying at Penthouse every weekend while I was working as a volunteer, and I must say I feelt much more welcome and at home there than I did at my host family. Thank you all for everythig, my stay would not have been the same without you!!

So if you are every in Cape Town stop by the Penthouse on Long and I am sure you will love it :)

Ps: Do not forget to try the roof top braai on Fridays, it's a South African style barbeque with lots of amazing food!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanett-Stonex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    32
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
2
16
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

This place is amazing, its in a great loctation and Kathy was like our second Mum/Sister friend! We stayed for two weeks, we walked and checked out all the other hostels on long and for the money and the company this place was best!

Not just the people and location, but the amazing big kitchen filled with everything you need, the very clean and well kept showers/tv area and up stairs bar serving cheap drinks and good music! The people who run this place will go out of there way to make sure you have a good stay, dont just take my word for it, stay and im certain you will agree! After 8 months of traveling around the world, this is certainly one hostel we will always dream of coming back to!

Thanks again, you were all amazing,

Love Tamar and Andrew

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamarashaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Couldn't have been better. Twin ensuite with aircon (v rare but necessary), great people, amazing rooftop bar, quiet at night, comfortable, right on Long St so easy to find bars, restaurants, and all the things the guide books tell you to see and do. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AldoWanKenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

Had a great stay,helpful staff,clean,good food and a great bar.Great venue,close to bars,restaurants and shops.
Nothing like laying on the roof top looking at the moon and stars in the middle of a city. Can't believe it's so tucked away.
Would recommend it to every1. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbolene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

If you want to get into the heart of Cape Town, the only place to be is The Penthouse on Long. The amenities are fantastic, clean comfortable dorms and private rooms, all air conditioned and cleaned daily. The kitchen is a dream for the self catering,and they offer wholesome cooked meals for a pittance. Of course what really makes the Penthouse is the fabulous staff. Cathy, the manager, is like a breath of fresh air, always available, and full of local knowledge, and the rest of the team is just as dedicated. I would recommend, that if you come to Cape Town, your trip wouldn't be complete without a couple of nites stay at the Penthouse. In one word "awesome"

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel1000CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucheon, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

I want to say that the staff at Penthouse was AWESOME! They help with whatever need you might have, which is great especially if you're not from Cape Town. I still miss their breakfasts, which had a very "home" cooked feeling (though I'm not even from South Africa). The newer bathrooms/showers were great. The old ones...not really, to be honest (Sorry Cathy - LOVE you still!). But no problem with hot water! A few friends in the large group did not like sharing a room with 10 people so they asked if they could switch to a double, which the staff had no problem doing.

If you're looking for a Trump Plaza quality, with a hostel price - forget it - that won't happen ANYWHERE. BUT if you want a friendly, fun, and a caring staff, in a great location, with Internet access, breakfast, and laundry service for an AWESOME price - I highly recommend Penthouse for you!

This last bit is just me, but if you're by yourself (for the extra cautious), you may want to get a a single or double room - because Cape Town, overall, isn't the safest. But if you have a friend or 2 you'll be with, the bigger rooms should be no problem. You should bring a lock to lock your valuables. If you don't bring a lock (like me), then you can pay a deposit and borrow one, and get the deposit back later - awesome. Enjoy!

PS. I REALLY REALLY recommend the Ethiopian restaurant around the corner!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steward2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

I have been to many backpackers, many of which I'd rather not return to. Penthouse on Long is a pleasant exception! Much more than your average backpackers, it is impeccably clean, carries an atmosphere of fun, and has fabulous unique features - like a massaging sofa chair (no cost!), and a rooftop bar-launge with a view of the city and Table mountain! The staff are friendly and available, attend promptly to any concerns, and provide useful extras, like wi-fi, laundry, and breakfast, at a small additional cost. Also available on Fridays is a rooftop braai (South African-style barbeque, a cultural experience!). It is located centrally to shops, entertainment, restaurants, and more. For an affordable and valuable Cape Town venue, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FayeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#57 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Backpackers
#34 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Unique Lodge
#321 of 498 in Cape Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse on Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse on Long

Property: Penthouse on Long
Address: 112 Long Street | 6th Floor Twinnel Building, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us in our new, family run backpackers on viby Long Street. Right in the middle of all the fun - but a good nights sleep guaranteed.We offer a full range of accommodation from dorms to ensuite doubles and family rooms. All our rooms are individually decorated. We are very women friendly with some girls only dorms with full length mirrors and hair dryers. Fully equipped kitchen, tv lounge, fantastic indoor entertainment area and our own secret garden and bar on the roof. Friendliest welcome in Cape Town. An added bonus is our in-house tour bus offering day tours of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penthouse On Long Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing