We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rockwell Rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
Ranked #53 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Great hotel for family. Stayed at the Penthouse, 2 bedrooms with massive lounge and dining area. Kitchen has all amenities. eg, stove, fridge, washing machine and dryer.
microwave.

Balcony with chairs and table to have snacks on a balmy evening watching the famous Table Mountain.

Awesome!

Will go back!

Staff friendly,

breakfast great!

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin J, General Manager at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Faz M
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. And thank you for the positive feedback. We pride ourselves on that "something extra" we offer in all our apartments.
(Did you know that every apartment in the hotel has a balcony. )
Once again, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to hosting you again inthe near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2017

Very nice place to be and Well located . Apartments are very nice and well equipped. parking secured .Breakfast very good and also nice to have the opportunity to have dinner served .
Nice swimming pool and gym .

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nathalielP8094QN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin J, General Manager at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Dear Nathalie,
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is honestly for this reason we do what we do.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Overall the Rockwell is good - but I have a few suggestions to make it even better.
Add full length mirror and plug near a mirror where you can sit to use a hairdryer with decent light. I did not use the other facilities but colleagues have and say they are good

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T8761IKlynns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh-Ellingson, Director of Sales at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear T8761IKlynns,


Thank you for your review.
We will definitely look into your suggestions.

Kind regards
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

The two room apartment was very spacious and had great views of table mountain. The apartment has lots of light during the day from the floor to ceiling glass windows. However, the lighting at night is quite dim. The WiFi signal is quite weak and only accessible from a corner of the kitchen. The washer/dryer is very small and slow, so plan accordingly if cleaning clothes before departing. The staff were great. The breakfast was fantastic, but sort of pricey if not included. The location is great for setting out into the city.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PatrickGTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh-Ellingson, Director of Sales at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Patrick,

Thank you for the kind review.

We agree with you that our location is excellent and the restaurant service and food are great. Thank you for announcing this for us and we promise to keep delivering the same quality service to all you have told.
We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.


Kind regards
Kayleigh Ellingson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Could walk to many things. Very nice staff, close to waterfront. Food was good, also wines and drinks. Only thing was he mattress was too hard for me and Friday night the bar at the corner was loud till late but the windows are pretty soundproof.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Doc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh-Ellingson, Director of Sales at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Doc H,


Thank you for your kind review.

We strive to make every guest's stay a great one, by providing excellent service and food in our hotel and restaurant.
Being a city hotel, sometimes there is a bit more noise, however we do try to restrict this as much as we can.

We hope you visit us again.

Kind regards
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

The hotel is okay but bit dated. Frontside room 1st floor not recommended. Very noisy. Especially when theater is performing. Halls created lot of noise at night. You could hear doors slamming on 5th!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank StevenHVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh-Ellingson, Director of Sales at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Steven,

Thank you for your review.
We have heard your concerns raised about the noise levels and have taken your comments into consideration and will try make the necessary changes.


Kind regards
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel from 3rd to 5th Nov. This was our first stop after travelling from London so had no other South African accommodation to compare it to.

The property is a 25 minute walk from the waterfront. There is a secure underground car park which is convenient however we did not expect to have to pay for it being guests.

We had a situation whereby we stupidly left our safe open. When we returned to the room there was a letter from the duty manager stating the cleaner alerted her to this & she accompanied her whilst she cleaned the room & politely reminded us of our own responsibilities. Very professionally handled. Thank you.

Pros:
Reception staff were welcoming & helpful.
Breakfast good - usual selection.
Lovely quality clean fresh linen.
Appartment clean.

Cons:
No natural light in bedroom - looked out on  corridor so unable to open blinds making room very dark.
Room by lift so very noisy at weekend.
No toilet paper first night (however this was rectified on day two after bringing this to the attention of staff).
Only 1 hour of wi-fi use in room per day.
Decor a bit dated & tired.

We had an amazing time in wonderful Cape Town & the above cons are not meant to be all criticism but constructive comments.

After staying in 7 other properties throughout S.A & comparing them,  I am not sure this warrants the 4 star rating it has.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sweepie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh-Ellingson, Director of Sales at Rockwell All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Sweepie,

Thank you for your constructive review.

We appreciate the feedback and have looked into all the concerns you highlighted.
We have also implemented FREE WIFI throughout the hotel.

Kind regards
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
914 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,086 reviews
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#49 of 112 in Cape Town Central
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Waterkant Village
#103 of 112 in Cape Town Central
213 reviews
New Kings Hotel
#71 of 112 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwell All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwell All Suite Hotel

Address: 32 Prestwich Street | Cnr Prestwich Street & Alfred Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: C$119 - C$465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwell All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally & conveniently located in trendy De Waterkant Village in Greenpoint, just 20 min from Cape Town International Airport & moments away from the hussle & bussle of Cape Town CBD surrounded by the natural beauty for which Cape Town is famous. Comprising 29 two-bedroom apartments, 16 one-bedroom apartments & 8 penthouses – all boasting separate bedrooms & bathrooms, fully-equipped kitchens & a generous lounge area, allowing for self-catering entertainment within a chic urban setting. Outdoor entertaining is equally attractive, with private balconies affording magnificent views of Table Mountain, Signal Hill, Fan Park & the Cape Town harbour. The new conference facilities are ideal for large events to intimate board meetings. Equipped with modern data projectors & Wi-Fi. Additional features include: Bar Lounge, Restaurant,Gym, heated indoor pool, 24hr security & undercover parking. The Rockwell All Suite Hotel & Apartments truly is your home away from home… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rockwell All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwell All Hotel Cape Town Central
Rockwell All Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing