We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$159
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$132
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Parliament Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$46/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Commodore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$459
US$312
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
11
8
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
8
2
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 23 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you are looking for a good place to stay in the Bo-Kaap, 22 On Rose would be a good option; The room in which I stayed for the night had a large outside deck, on two different levels, complete with lounge chairs - A great way to watch the city come to life (or go to sleep!). You will be provided with the makings for your breakfast every morning, which you can then assemble to your preference. The rooms were clean, and well furnished.

All in all, I found it to be a great place, safe, and very close to Long Street, Green market square, and more or less most of the sight-seeing stops in the City. The staff is helpful, friendly, and really know the do's and don'ts of Cape Town, so it's well worth asking!

If you are looking to explore Cape Town, and experience the culturally rich Bo-Kaap, 22 On Rose is well worth considering; A good balance of value and comfort.

Room Tip: The upstairs room is more isolated, plus has a big rooftop deck, while the lower rooms have doors leading onto the the communal area.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobus1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Manager at 22 On Rose, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your positive review.
Regards,
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose 22 on Rose due to it's close proximity to the Waterfront (about 20 minute walk). However, be aware that Rose Street is in a less afluent area of Cape Town and therefore expect unemployed people loitering or just a little further on homeless people setting up camp.

It's also in a muslim area so at 5.30am the local Iman calls locals to prayer. it only lasts 10 minutes but it's enough to disturb your sleep.

On the positive side, the accommodation is comfortable and clean. If you like the flexibility of preparing your own breakfast at a time that suits you, Rose on 22 offers that. There is a small basic kitchen so you could choose to prepare your own dinner or order a take-away if you decide on having a 'night in'.

It is also secure which was important for me as I was visiting to ride Cape Argus and needed somewhere secure to store my bike.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarkieBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a full week's holiday in Cape Town, and stayed at 22 on Rose. It's always an interesting experience when trying to choose from the places on offer - will it live up to expectations, will it be in a good location, will the other guests be interesting? In the end you just try to determine if it is the right place for you. AND IT WAS. I cannot imagine choosing a better place to stay (though another time I would try for one of the 2 other rooms in this B&B) - number one is larger and the one upstairs (no. 3) has a balcony. However, the room was absolutely fine. Just off the bedroom is a communal dining room where you have breakfast (help yourself to the food from the fridge and cereals etc), and if you want, you can have dinner there as well - as it has a fridge and microwave - so is well set up for those who don't want to eat out every night. It is incredibly well located - a short walk to the centre of the city and to the V&A Waterfront - nothing is too far away. We were particularly delighted to make the acquaintance of other guests and even went out for dinner with our new friends on the last night. The manager is ever helpful with anything needed - printing our airline tickets and booking an early morning taxi. - thanks Bruce. It was lovely to be staying in a small house rather than an impersonal large hotel. I thoroughly recommend it for self-sufficient people who are looking for something a little different.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The set-up of '22 On Rose' is a bit unusual (starting with the unusual name!). Its actually a row of adjacent houses/cottages, each cottage having 3-4 rooms, with a common dining, which has basic cooking/catering amenities, which include - microwave, fridge, egg-boiler, electric kettle, dishes and crockery, glasses (even wine glasses), etc. So basically when you check in, you get a key for your room, and another for the main door.
The first thing that you will notice when you reach is the unusual color of the cottages. In fact the whole neighborhood has houses/buildings painted with unusual shades, and its really cute (and good for photography). The rooms are really cosy, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is self-service, and they stock up really well.
As far as the location is concerned, though the neighborhood doesn't feel like it, you are actually quite close to the city centre, which is around 5 mins walk. Very convenient.
However, what impressed us most was the amazing hospitality of Bruce. He was our manager/advisor, and helped out whenever we required any information or assistance. Whether it was booking a car, or the ticket for sight seeing, or guidance with Forex, he had an answer for everything.
If you are looking for a cosy B&B and good value for money, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ani_wantstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights. It is a very cosy room, clean and comfortable, 4 minutes walking distance from the city center. You have a small dining room in the same floor, shared with other 2 rooms. It is very convenient if you want to have dinner at the room, since you have basic kitchen facilities and plates, glasses, etc. I had pizza one night, and I could use all this comfortably. The breakfast is very good also.

You are in Bo Kaap, and therefore you can hear the museleems praying 7 times a day, but is is a small inconvenience when sleeping for the overall value/price.

Bruce, the host, is very professional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcBcn1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews