We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveller rating
637
133
27
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
637
133
27
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dash restaurant dock house premium room table mountain sister hotel boutique hotel huge bathroom beautiful hotel waterfront area perfect location our honeymoon small hotel few minutes walk four nights water front the ground floor our room was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 812 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Overall we had a very nice stay at the Victoria Albert, a very nice plus is that you get access to the dock house pool area. Which is quiet and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast I would say is very good, good choices for a sit down as well as a small selection of other buffet options. Room was comfortable. Some improvements however, the cleaning staff kept forgetting to put new towels in the room, they would take old towels and then not replace. This happened 3 times over a 1 week stay, also they didn't replace shower gel. I assume they just forgot however something to keep an eye on. The pool at the dock house has seagulls swimming and excreting into it the whole time which did kind of take the edge off wanting to head for a swim. The final element which we did find a little bit irritating is that we requested a late check out and they said for 3 hours they wanted to charge us another £90. When you are paying £250 a night anyway if the room is free then they shouldn't be trying to charge extra for a couple of hours. However all said, you can't beat it for location and it is a really nice stay, staff are very friendly and thought the bar man in the Queen Victoria and the dock house pool bar were especially good.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AllySimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Good Morning

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us this review of your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House.

We are very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectation. We will certainly address shortcomings you experienced as we continuously strive to provide a high standard of service and ensure we exceed guests expectation.

We hope to be have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in March 2018 and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The hotel was beautiful, a very spacious room, comfy bed, very clean and a central location that allowed us to explore the V & A and Cape Town. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants comfort and exceptional service and some wonderful breakfasts that set you up for the day.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JontyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, General Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House. The location is certainly very convenient and we are glad you were able to enjoy all the Cape Town has to offer. We do pride our self on providing excellent guest service and are delighted you enjoyed you experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

This Hotel is perfectly located just in front of Cape Town Waterfront, walking distance from restaurants, bars, shops, etc. Area is safe and nice to walk around.
Hotel included breakfast with good a la carte options, rooms are huge, clean and very comfortable.
Great customer service from all staff.
Enjoy Cape Town, it is a great city and do not be scared about the water problem.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House. We are delighted that we were able to create memorable experience during your stay with us. Our unique location certainly makes for a great starting point from which to explore our wonderful city.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

This was our fifth stay in the Queen Victoria, obviously a favourite. From arrival to departure the staff are excellent, friendly and chatty. The hotel is very stylish, modern facilities. The location is excellent, a short walk from the Waterfront. The garden is a peaceful respite in the afternoon.

The views of Table mountain from the terrace ensure you don't forget where you are.

We dined in Dash restaurant on three evenings as we believe it is better than the Waterfront places. There are good choices, excellent, efficient service with good quality food. Highly recommended.

The breakfast menu has been updated and the food was very good. Lots of choice.

A very good place to stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieQ321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back.

The location is certainly very convenient as a base to explore our wonderful city from and does allow for amazing view. Dash Restaurant is producing amazing fair and we are delighted you enjoyed the offering and service

We hope to welcome you back to the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House in the near future.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

What a gorgeous hotel. Everything about it is perfect. The staff are super friendly and helpful, the rooms are gorgeous, the location is perfect. It's an absolute treat to stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tertiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, Manager at Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Queen Victoria Hotel and Manor House. We are delighted that we were able to create memorable experience during your stay with us.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews