We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Such an INCREDIBLE journey!!

I can't speak highly enough about my experience with Lion World Travel. Their planning... read more

Reviewed today
B8948SYlisaw
EXCEEDED my expectations!!!

Just returned from an AMAZING South Africa and Zimbabwe trip by Lion World-Cape Town, Kapama... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Lovebeingretired
,
Malvern,PA
via mobile
Read all 585 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cape Town Central
from US$38.99
More Info
from US$146.59
More Info
from US$351.82
More Info
from US$31.96
More Info
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
570
7
3
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
570
7
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheryl gould jackalberry lodge victoria falls leopard tours apostles hotel game drives tanzania safari south africa zambezi river costco travel serena hotels hot air balloon travel agent thornybush reserve ngorongoro crater african adventure animal behavior
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 585 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2019

Cheryl Gould from Lion World Travel put together the trip of a lifetime for us. We flew into Kilimanjaro, Tanzania on July 7, 2019 and were driven to the first of the fabulous Serena hotels by our guide from Leopard Tours. Our Leopard Tour guide George was outstanding and all of the Serena hotels were 5 stars in every category. We saw an amazing number of animals at every national park which included Tarangire, Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater. All of the animals seemed healthy and well fed and did not mind having safari vehicles parked 6 to 8 feet away. We watched a pride of 18 lions feeding, thousands of wildebeests, cape buffalo and zebras migrating, hippos and crocodiles in the rivers, small herd of elephants and giraffes feeding near us, and basically George found every animal in the parks for us. Then we flew to southwestern Uganda for our gorilla trek into the Biwindi Impenetrable Forest. This was another unbelievable experience -- we were able to see many members of a gorilla family as close as 10 feet away! I highly recommend Cheryl Gould to everyone who wants a very affordable and absolutely outstanding Africa trip!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LeeannLWT, General Manager at Lion World Travel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Dear Nina,
What a spectacular way to get a taste for Africa - combining Uganda and Tanzania. Two equally stunning countries with hugely different safari/travel experiences! It sounds like you enjoyed an all-around epic wildlife adventure, we're so happy we could help you see so much wildlife, including close encounters with gorillas!!

Happy travels,

Leeann Phayre-Mallo, Lion World Travel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Cheryl is detailed, to the point, organized and the results are fabulous! I am in the travel business and really appreciate her attention to detail! I feel confident that I have booked with the best Tour Representative while going to a new frontier...Africa.

I also Volunteer at the Zoo and have spoken with many Zoo Keepers that run trips to Africa and after several conversations...Cheryl knows her stuff!

Pretty excited! Thank you Cheryl for all you did to make my first trip to Africa...one I can't wait to do!

Kind regards, Cindy

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LeeannLWT, General Manager at Lion World Travel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Dear Cindy,
What can we say, but thank you for trusting Lion World Travel with your Africa safari planning. You are in good hands with Cheryl, and we can't wait to hear from you again after you have traveled on your dream trip!

Happy travels,

Leeann Phayre-Mallo, Lion World Travel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2019

We traveled to Kenya on July 6, 2019 and it was the best trip ever! The itinerary that was provided was so precise and thorough that we had absolutely no issues or worries from the moment we got on the plane! We were met by Andrew when we arrived in Kenya and met the two guides that we would be with for the week – Abdi and Joshua. All three were warm and welcoming! The Nairobi Serena hotel, Sweetwaters Serena Camp, Lake Elmenteita Serena and Mara Serena Safari Lodges were amazing! We greatly appreciated the thoroughness that Lion World Travel provided to us. The bags sent with our itinerary were a great surprise! Everything was first class and greatly appreciated! We cannot thank Lion World enough for making our #1 bucket list trip better than we could have imagined! We already have, and will continue to strongly recommend Lion World to anyone interested in an African trip.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LeeannLWT, General Manager at Lion World Travel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Dear Steve,
We love to hear that there were absolutely no issues or worries on your safari to Africa. It can be a daunting task trying to figure out how to best go on safari, and we're here to make it the easiest, most pain-free experience possible! So happy you had a great time in Kenya with us!

Happy travels,

Leeann Phayre-Mallo, Lion World Travel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2019

We had a fantastic time touring Botswana using Lion World Travel and staying at the Belmond Lodges of Savute and Eagle Island.
We felt so cared for by being greeted and guided each step of the way, once we reached Johannesburg.

The experience far exceeded any expectations we had. The experience of the guides, the comfort of the lodges and the vast number of animals that we got to sit and enjoy at length were all more than we expected.

We felt that Liz was definitely working to set up the trip we were dreaming about and we had many questions along the way - all of which Liz was available and answered very quickly.

This was a trip of a lifetime and we definitely took a step up in the pamper level and enjoyed it thoroughly. Our kids, 17 and 20, both were awed by the experience and expressed how glad they were that they were old enough to truly appreciate it and take it all in. We were happily surprised that Belmond Savute had filtererd water throughout and that there was wifi available,which we hadn't expected. We even got to watch the Women's world cup in the lounge at Savute on a large screen TV.

The guides were truly amazing. We loved hearing about how they ended up as guides, where they grew up and the vast knowledge they had about life with the animals. It was way more than just seeing animals and checking off what you had seen. We had time to sit and get to know the animals and watch their behaviors. We never got tired of watching them move, interact and even play.
Can't say enough about this trip.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LeeannLWT, General Manager at Lion World Travel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2019

Dear Susan,
The Belmond lodges are beautiful places, we're so glad you had time to relax and spend so much time watching the wildlife! What a fantastic family experience, thank you for letting us know that Liz did a great job helping you put your dream trip to Africa together.

Happy travels,

Leeann Phayre-Mallo, Lion World Travel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2019 via mobile

In short, absolutely amazing and unforgettable. The accommodations were beyond expectation, we could not have asked for a better driver/guide (thank you Robert!), and our Lion World representative, Elizabeth Panchyshyn, was wonderful to work with. We don’t for a second hesitate to recommend Elizabeth and Lion World Travel!!!

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank 1967karin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LeeannLWT, General Manager at Lion World Travel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Dear Karin,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your unforgettable safari in Africa. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated, as are your kind words for Robert and Elizabeth.

Happy travels,

Leeann Phayre-Mallo, Lion World Travel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews