We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bench mark of how a 5* hotel should be-in a beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I made my reservation last November and rather than be negative about the lack of precision from a reservations person,who is no longer with the hotel.I am going to praise Chantel Visagie,who once she had seen the emails that had been sent, she made sure I got the confirmation as it had been agreed.Sarah who was front of house before has now become the manager of the reservations-I have a feeling that the place will now run very efficiently,as accuracy is her watchword(but more on the new reservations team later).
This year I had my mum with me,as I wanted to give her a special holiday.We arrived at Cape town airport and were greeted by the hotel driver,who whisked us to the hotel.Crystal and Gillian checked us in,and I found myself back in my favourite room 410,whilst my Mum was in 411.The balcony with a view of Table Mountain and signal hill is one of the world's great views.The room is spacious and the bed is just so comfortable-the number one consideration for anyone wanting a great holiday.All my requests before I arrived had,naturally,been met-including a shredder in the room.This is one of the things that makes this such a good hotel is that they treat each guest as an individual.In the last twelve months there have been two major changes.The dingy gym(see last year's review) has been replaced by a modern state of the art one,next to the spa,with proper air con and natural late.The other is the new Oasis Bistro.This is a very modern restaurant with woodern floors and a curtain that can be brought down when it is not so busy.I do think it could just do with a few plants just to make it feel a little less big.Whilst talking about the Oasis,two of the stars of the hotel are here Margaret(known as Oma) is terrific,she makes sure all our requests are met at breakfast.Then there is Katie who is always smiling and again highly efficient.Breakfast is a wonderful post gym feast.You can order just about anything and they will make it freshly for you.The croissants are so morish and crunchy.My mum kept "borrowing" mine but they soon brought extras!!The pool is a lovely place to realx and sleep,I have my favourite spot under a tree.Chad ensured the bed was made up,and checked everyone was alright throughout the day.We had the famous afternoon tea one afternoon-Viki the pastry chef produces wonderful food-the savoury dishes are just heavenly.One of the joys of afternoon tea is watching how people fill their plates.It was a fun afternoon,which my mum adored.Whilst talking about Viki-one evening we had the Chef's table in the kitchen-this is a fabulous evening.Mum and I thought it one of the reall highlights.You can wander round the kitchen,asking questions-chat to the chefs and watch them plate up yor food.The thing that amazed us was how calm the place is.It is nothing like you see on TV.It is a nine course exravaganza,if you wanted you could also have nine glasses of wine,Carl(the sommelier) did the pairing-he knows his wines.The food was incredible-and the chef who had prepared it explained in minute detail how the elements were constructed.Mum and I thought the highlight was the curry leaf veloute which went with the Kakabeljou and fennel spatzle.But the guys all gave us an evening to remember.Wynyard Colin and Jaco produced the meats ,while the girls did the starters and the desserts!Kevin looked after us royally.Just one word of advice where light clothing as the kitchen is very hot.
We were so replete after the meal I did an extra 25km cycle the following morning in the gym.If you get an oppurtunity to do this you will not regret it .
Other things we did in the hotel,include my annual cocktail party,which this year was held in Taunton gardens a beautiful place in front of a majestic building in the hotel grounds.I have been coming here for 11 years and did not know it existed!(how bad is that)Paulo and Shaed ensured that the party was a great success.The canapes were fantastic-not many were leftover!!
Away from the hotel Cape town has so much to offer,fabulous restaurants(see my restaurant reviews),theatre,a trip up the mountain either by foot or by cable car.My Mum went out to Cape point,which she enjoyed despite the pick up being an hour late.I also go to Bhapumelele,a children's home run by the amazing Rosie.This brings such joy-the fun and the love the children have here.I love my visit as it helps to keep me grounded.The children are amazing and their ambition knows no bounds it is heart-warming that someone can give so much-a proper angel.
Getting back to the hotel.There are 2 groups of people that make the stay so perfect-the housekeeping team,who are immaculate,the room is perfectly clean and tidy.Everything is folded neatly-I do not know the names of the people-they are like magic elveswho slip-in whilst you are not there,and disappear again!
Last but by no means least,the amazing concierge team of Jo-Anne,Michelle Althea and the token bloke Byron.This has to be the best conciegre desk anywhere,efficient,precise accurate and always smiling.Restaurants get booked,theatre tickets are bought.They will even shop for you if you are as lazy as I am on holiday!Anything from suncream to Ostrich eggs!
The mark of a great hotel is how they deal with things when they do not go to plan.I will give one example,I noticed there was something wrong with my safe.I mentioned this to Michelle and she asked when would be a convenient time to sort it.As it was locked I suggested after dinner.When we came back to the Michelle,she got onto the security and maintenance team-bearing in mind this was at 10.15 at night.Within 10 minutes it was sorted.That is proper service.
I said at the start that I would come back to Sarah,she is friendly and professional when discussing room rates,for next year.I reckon that her and Chantel are going to be a great team as Manager and deputy.
Xavier the manager as I said last year is a great asset,he is hands on,and just wants to see the guests happy.
Joey the guest relations Manager always has a bon mot and is full of fun.My mum found him highly amusing-he had her chortling!
I only wish the Aussies had won the test as he would have become sheepish.!Be sensible when you are out and about-do not flash jewellery or cash.I,personally, do not wlalk about at night.I take a taxi out and the hotel car back.
This is a sensational hotel,where they do go the extra mile.It is based in a magical city.
I had a brilliant time and my mum adored her 2 weeks here!
Kendal mint

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KendalMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,554)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Just coming back from High Tea at the Mount Nelson. Not the first time, and hopefully, not the last time either.
One has not lived until they've experienced High Tea in this cozy salon, where you sit comfortably in plush sofas and enjoy live piano music. Decor is oh so traditionally English, with soft colors and the flower decoration, whether in pots or in the garden, is eden-esque, if this word exists.
The tea menu is mind boggling - I try a different tea each time I go. So far my favorites are Oriental Spices and Lapsang Souchong, the latter offering smoky earthy flavours that contrast beautifully with the sweet treats.
The treats... what can I say? a delight for the eye - presentation and decor is outstanding. All the pastry chefs must have some watchmaking experience: the decorations are so precise and for the palate - the traditional cakes are fresh, the chocolate is smooth, the flavours subtle and original. Today's surprise for me was a mini milk tart with a hint of lime - just divine!
Service is excellent with an understated yet efficient presence.
I've visited other places in Cape Town for High Tea - nobody, did you read well? NOBODY beats The Mount Nelson.

Tip: if you want to go during the week-end, you must book well in advance. The week is less busy and you could very well be able to book for the same day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank princesslyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Classic old hotel with good renovations. Setting is beautiful. Staff could not have been more helpful. Byron at the concierge's desk could get anything done. Really enjoyed our stay. It is a ways from the waterfront, but that was our preference. Many sites within walking distance and also many good restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhedge3156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

A Cape Town icon for so many years, we decided to try the Nellie again. Still superb! The High Tea, the rooms, the service and although the Oasis was under renovation, the food selection and service in the lounge was absolutely world-beating.
Can there be a better experience in the whole world? As travellers for over 40 years, we have yet to find one. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the gardens - simply colonial decadence.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonB589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

At the Mount Nelson you will find a perfect place to stay. The staff is vey friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and clean. I highly recommend the afternoon tea and the burgers on the terrace. A very special place to stay in Capetown.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed in one of their cottages adjacent to the hotel.

Could not fault anything. The whole hotel just gives memories of happier times in the world!

Well worth a stay.

Not just a hotel - a destination in its own right!

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is excellent!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viscountwalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Mount Nelson to start off our Honeymoon. We felt as if we were treated like royalty. All the staff knew us by name and treated us like royalty. Our room was upgraded and they had champagne for us numerous nights. The conceriege was able to book all our tours and dinners. Althea was a delight to deal with, she has a big heart for customer service. This hotel is beyond beautiful, decor is outstanding along with service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2.7 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,060 reviews
2.6 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,636 reviews
1.0 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,253 reviews
2.5 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
3.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $416 - $1,192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing