We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poor hotel. Our little boy became ill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Stunning suite, nice restaurant. But they let wild birds land and swim in the pool. Our little boy caught a really bD ear infection meaning we have to leave South Africa and fly home. The hotel had little interest in talking about it. It has put us off Belmond as a brand.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Moriati1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for your compliments on your suite and the restaurant at our hotel however we are very concerned to read about your son's ear infection. Please could we ask you to be so kind as to e-mail gabrielle.palmer@belmond.com to let us know what happened, as we have checked with the relevant departments, and there doesn't seem to be any record of this incident and we would very much like to be able to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

I visited for business in half term week in February. There was a mix of business people and families at the hotel. Was absolutely fantastic staff were excellent I stayed in a junior suite which was well appointed. Amazing views. Only downside is you can't walk out the hotel like the cape grace or other water front hotels. However the hotel has cars and I used uber so the waterfront and camps bay are both under 15 mins away and easily reachable.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank danjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you very much for your glowing review. We are delighted that you loved the views from your room and that you found our staff to be excellent. Because of our fabulous location adjacent to the cultural and historical centre of the city, as well as trendy, vibrant Kloof street, most of our guests do walk from the hotel to see the many attractions of The Mother City that are so close by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We had been traveling for almost 2 weeks and after safari finished in Cape Town and stayed here. We stayed in one of the out buildings and I swear we were the only ones there as we never saw or heard anyone else. The bed was so comfy and I loved the big bathroom. This meant we had to leave the building to walk to the main building for breakfast.

The breakfast has so many different kinds of hot/cold food plus you can order off the menu for things like pancakes which were delicious. We even asked for takeout coffee when we had an early morning tour. Then we were told we could have asked for a boxed breakfast. Instead we grabbed a muffin and piece of fruit and headed back to the lobby to wait for our pickup.

The door men are all very nice and helpful, we especially loved our interactions with Wilson. All our interactions with hotel staff were excellent.

We are not tea drinkers and did not partake in high tea. Our last day we did eat in the lounge and had a burger with fries. Fries were excellent, burger good and big.

I definitely would stay here again. We didn't spend anytime at the nearby attractions within walking distance preferring to spend it down at V&A Waterfront. However we did eat at Nelson's Eye and had steak and I can recommend that restaurant on the side street next to the hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

We are delighted that you loved our super comfortable beds (the mattresses are custom-made for our hotel) and thank you as well for your compliments on our breakfast and the delicious lunchtime burger and fries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Belmond for the first time last month. My room was on the 4th floor of the main building with table mountain views. There were some renovations going on but they didn't really bother me - the lobby and entrance should be nicer when they are done tho.

The room was spacious but since it was winter a bit cold. The heater in the bathroom was disconnected and the room heating didnt work but they installed a mobile heater when I told the receptionist about it. The mini bar was quite poorly stocked, no snacks and only a few drinks.

The gardens and buildings are very beautiful, there are some animals roaming around including squirrels and hawks.

The food was good and the high tea very nice.

The Spa is very nice with several treatments and sauna / steamroom. There are two pools but it was too cold to use them, in Summer it must be really nice.

Overall a very nice property with old world charm, quality service and great food. The rooms could be a bit improved to increase guest wellbeing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you loved the views of Table Mountain from your room, our beautiful gardens, and the wildlife : ) as well as our warm and welcoming Librisa Spa. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the fact that the heating system in your room was not working and we do hope that the mobile heater warmed things up for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

A High Tea at the Mount Nelson should be on everyone's bucket list. I am pleased to say that I recently ticked it off mine. It is a wonderful experience: a myriad of teas and eats, sweet and savoury partaken of in an ambiance reminiscent of times gone by. The food, service and the music cannot be faulted. The High Tea experience is presented and executed in a well honed and executed manner.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffsallym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We are delighted that you loved every aspect of our Afternoon Tea including the ambience of heritage, history and times gone by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Our family visited Cape Town in September 2014 and hired a private guide for 4 days. We'd read that high tea was a relaxing pleasure and having had a long cross-continent flight, our guide suggested the Nelson Hotel for tea. What a delight!!! The gardens were beautiful, the service was exactly what we needed after such a long flight, the scenery was serene and the lobby only made me wish we'd booked a stay at their location. An elegant and peaceful throwback in time. Don't miss it!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank mims119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We love the description of our hotel offering an elegant and peaceful throwback in time, which our guests find very welcome as they step off the vibrant buzzing streets that surround the hotel and walk into our beautiful gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The art in the gardens around the hotel makes for an interesting walk if you do not get stuck at the first flower-beds. Well kept and well run establishment with space to breathe. Good service and good quality 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rhino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

What a lovely review. Thank you so much for your compliments on our gardens, the art in the gardens and all the space in which to breathe freely and fully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2.7 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
2.6 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,708 reviews
1 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,394 reviews
3.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,823 reviews
2.5 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $572 - $1,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, in Cape Town’s buzzing heart. We invite you to relax in our iconic pink buildings, airy rooms and dreamy gardens. Enjoy imaginative local cuisine, nourishing spa treatments and eye-catching artworks. Captivating visitors since 1899, Cape Town’s iconic resort hotel is a tranquil hideaway just moments from the city’s buzzing heart. Our 198 individually designed rooms and suites and a host of fabulous facilities appeal equally to romantic couples, families or adventurous groups. Stroll through our expansive gardens, take a tree tour or browse the outdoor sculpture exhibition. Discover the hotel’s history, art and culture on self-guided tours. Enjoy imaginative cuisine in our restaurants and soothing bliss at the spa. Just beyond our gates lies the pulsating city, with stunning beaches and historic hotspots moments away. Forever watching over the hotel is Table Mountain, another wondrous Cape Town landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing