We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$236
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$260
US$218
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$252/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Parliament Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$42
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$128
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,794)
Filter reviews
1,794 results
Traveller rating
1,481
230
60
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,481
230
60
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplanet restauranthigh teaoasis restaurantpink ladyfamous afternoon teachef's tabletennis courtscolonial hotelfinger sandwichesgrand dametable mountaingrand old ladymain buildingjunior suitecompany gardensoystersconcierge desk
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 1,794 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

I visited for business in half term week in February. There was a mix of business people and families at the hotel. Was absolutely fantastic staff were excellent I stayed in a junior suite which was well appointed. Amazing views. Only downside is you can't walk out the hotel like the cape grace or other water front hotels. However the hotel has cars and I used uber so the waterfront and camps bay are both under 15 mins away and easily reachable.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank danjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Thank you very much for your glowing review. We are delighted that you loved the views from your room and that you found our staff to be excellent. Because of our fabulous location adjacent to the cultural and historical centre of the city, as well as trendy, vibrant Kloof street, most of our guests do walk from the hotel to see the many attractions of The Mother City that are so close by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

We had been traveling for almost 2 weeks and after safari finished in Cape Town and stayed here. We stayed in one of the out buildings and I swear we were the only ones there as we never saw or heard anyone else. The bed was so comfy and I loved the big bathroom. This meant we had to leave the building to walk to the main building for breakfast.

The breakfast has so many different kinds of hot/cold food plus you can order off the menu for things like pancakes which were delicious. We even asked for takeout coffee when we had an early morning tour. Then we were told we could have asked for a boxed breakfast. Instead we grabbed a muffin and piece of fruit and headed back to the lobby to wait for our pickup.

The door men are all very nice and helpful, we especially loved our interactions with Wilson. All our interactions with hotel staff were excellent.

We are not tea drinkers and did not partake in high tea. Our last day we did eat in the lounge and had a burger with fries. Fries were excellent, burger good and big.

I definitely would stay here again. We didn't spend anytime at the nearby attractions within walking distance preferring to spend it down at V&A Waterfront. However we did eat at Nelson's Eye and had steak and I can recommend that restaurant on the side street next to the hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

We are delighted that you loved our super comfortable beds (the mattresses are custom-made for our hotel) and thank you as well for your compliments on our breakfast and the delicious lunchtime burger and fries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Belmond for the first time last month. My room was on the 4th floor of the main building with table mountain views. There were some renovations going on but they didn't really bother me - the lobby and entrance should be nicer when they are done tho.

The room was spacious but since it was winter a bit cold. The heater in the bathroom was disconnected and the room heating didnt work but they installed a mobile heater when I told the receptionist about it. The mini bar was quite poorly stocked, no snacks and only a few drinks.

The gardens and buildings are very beautiful, there are some animals roaming around including squirrels and hawks.

The food was good and the high tea very nice.

The Spa is very nice with several treatments and sauna / steamroom. There are two pools but it was too cold to use them, in Summer it must be really nice.

Overall a very nice property with old world charm, quality service and great food. The rooms could be a bit improved to increase guest wellbeing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you loved the views of Table Mountain from your room, our beautiful gardens, and the wildlife : ) as well as our warm and welcoming Librisa Spa. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the fact that the heating system in your room was not working and we do hope that the mobile heater warmed things up for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2017

A High Tea at the Mount Nelson should be on everyone's bucket list. I am pleased to say that I recently ticked it off mine. It is a wonderful experience: a myriad of teas and eats, sweet and savoury partaken of in an ambiance reminiscent of times gone by. The food, service and the music cannot be faulted. The High Tea experience is presented and executed in a well honed and executed manner.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffsallym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

We are delighted that you loved every aspect of our Afternoon Tea including the ambience of heritage, history and times gone by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

Our family visited Cape Town in September 2014 and hired a private guide for 4 days. We'd read that high tea was a relaxing pleasure and having had a long cross-continent flight, our guide suggested the Nelson Hotel for tea. What a delight!!! The gardens were beautiful, the service was exactly what we needed after such a long flight, the scenery was serene and the lobby only made me wish we'd booked a stay at their location. An elegant and peaceful throwback in time. Don't miss it!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank mims119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

We love the description of our hotel offering an elegant and peaceful throwback in time, which our guests find very welcome as they step off the vibrant buzzing streets that surround the hotel and walk into our beautiful gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews