We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but very good alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Basic but very good alternative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed in a private ensuite room of one of the 2 Ashanti guest houses on Union Street for a week, which is a short 3-minute walk from the main building. The room was clean and quiet, although the shower and toilet was only partitioned and not a separate room. This accommodation is perfect for couples or other leisure travellers who would prefer staying away from the young backpacker crowds in the dorms. A communal kitchen is available for you to prepare a simple meal but we didn't use it much as there were many restaurant choices in the neighbourhood, especially Kloof Street is just around the corner. There is also a verandah in the guest house - a perfect place for us to have some tea and snacks in the late afternoon.

The travel centre was excellent and the staff was very helpful for arranging our trips to the wine area and Cape Point.  The information available was comprehensive. We would definitely recommend you to make use of it if you want to plan some trips around Cape Town or beyond.

Free 1-hour Wi-Fi is offered to the guests every day but you can only get access in the main building, not in the guest house. This is enough for you to check your e-mails, etc.

The Kumasi cafe is a great place for breakfast. It only costs you R35 and you can have a basic buffet selection of cereals, eggs, pastry, fruits, cheese and coffee/tea. We sat on the terrace and enjoyed the stunning views of Table Mountain in the morning sunshine.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGeekz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Hi there!
Thank you very much for your review. I note that you stayed in one of our guest houses around the corner in January. Since then, we have done a major refurbishment on all of those rooms and I am sure that if you stayed there now, you would describe them as more than basic :-)
There is also unlimited free wi-fi in the houses and each room has a new plasma screen television with satellite channels.
I do hope that you come back to Cape Town one day and have a look. It sounds like you did enjoy our beautiful city.
Best regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    164
    64
    23
    12
See reviews for
21
92
188
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lubeck, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stayed at Ashanti for 6 nights.
The old house is really nice but unfortunately you hear everything. Even when people are talking at the corridor. My room was next to the bar and that was even worse! The music was so loud, you couldn`t talk while you where having a drink!? How could I sleep than? And even after midnight was music and people where screaming and what ever... But anyway, it`s a hostel/backpacker.
The travel centre arranged some very good tours, so that was much fun!
Some informations in the map in my rooms were wrong e.g. times and costs.
And the worst thing was, that I have to discuss things about money early in the morning at 05:45 with the guy who`s doing the night shift.My taxi was waiting for me and my Bus back home too. Why has nobody asked me before?I was there every day. I was really unhappy this morning.

Room Tip: Don`t go in the room next to the bar !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Gardens, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hi there!
Thank you for your constructive criticism. Unfortunately, you are right - the room next to the bar IS very noisy and we do usually warn guests about that and try and put people in there who are likely to be in the bar themselves :-) If you had come to reception after your first day, we would have definitely moved you to a quieter room and even possibly upgraded you. This is the first I have heard of your unhappiness!
The travel centre file in your room is updated as regularly as possible, however things change all the time and sometimes something does fall through the cracks :-( The guys at the front desk or at the travel centre DO have up-to-date info though.
In terms of paying on check-out. We actually do have a sign at reception asking for payment in advance and most of our guests usually do that. Surely if you knew you were leaving so early in the morning, you would have settled up your bill in advance?
I hope that one day you will come back and visit us again regardless of the above.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Ashanti hostel was the perfect place to stay in Cape Town. It is walking distance from long Street, but still on a quiet peaceful street with a stunning view of table mountain (Even from the restroom!). The staff was very good, bar was great, rooms and bathrooms were clean. I recommended this place to some fellow travelers and they loved it too!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank udaybalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Ashanti have really got it nailed for travellers. Scrupulously clean dorms, amazingly comfortable beds, a cosy bar and a great breakfast at really good price plus a little free internet time everyday for all guests. Oh and did I say they have a swimming pool ?

Room Tip: We were very happy with four of us in a dorm but if you are unsure about sharing the private rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Nice people are staying here, nice and friendly and helpfull staff, overall is there a good athmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolijn_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Everything you could need is offered here. Rooms clean and tidy and very easy to sort out any trips you may want to go on. The toilet upstairs has the best views in cape town!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Birrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

close to Company Garden, 15 min walk to Long Street. The hostel is divided into three buildings, the main one with reception, bar, kitchen etc. (dorms and some double rooms) and two smaller ones a few hundred meters away (only private ensuite rooms, also have a kitchen). We had a nice ensuite room in one of the smaller buildings for a few days, and after our SA roundtrip stayed in a double room (shared bath) in the main building. Unfortunately, the latter was next to the bar and quite noisy until late, so avoid taking that room. Otherwise a nice relaxed place with good Table Mountain views from the terrace and a reasonable breakfast buffet for 35 Rand. Swimming pool (but the water was a little murky...), nice BBQ on Fridays, WiFi available.

Room Tip: do not take the double room next to the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mate44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Lodge Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Property: Ashanti Lodge Gardens
Address: 11 Hof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian mansion boasts clean, comfortable rooms and handy innovations like individual reading lights, personal safes and international plug points. Our sparkling pool, landscaped gardens, spacious balconies and palm-fringed sundecks are great for chilling out - while our legendary Kumasi Bar is the place to party! We serve delicious meals in our bar and also have a well-equipped kitchen for self-catering. We offer all accommodation options, including private, en-suite rooms in our guesthouse around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Hotel Cape Town Central
Ashanti Lodge Gardens Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing