We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
57
80
79
44
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
80
79
44
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful stay star hotel breakfast was excellent visit cape town table mountain waterfront cbd rand ct
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 301 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Good location, fair breakfast and reasonable price. Our room was clean, spacious, comfortable (so was the bathroom). Don’t forget to take your own power outlet adaptor (my universal adaptor couldn’t fit in South African outlets, and the hotel didn’t have enough devices to lend to the guests). There were some insects inside the room, but that was easily sorted out.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank patricia_sayuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Patricia

Thank you for the positive feed back and comments, we really hope to have you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

Stayed for one night at the end of a two week tour. I did not have high expectations based on Tripadvisor reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. The only things to let the hotel down was a faulty safety deposit box and pretty poor WiFi. Good service at reception and looked after my luggage for most of the day when I was leaving for another hotel ( which I had booked in advance). Breakfast was excellent quality and variety. Hotel is in good central location a few minutes off Long Street and a 10-15 minute walk to the V&A waterfront. Bedrooms large as was the bathroom. Quiet too.
I’d be happy to stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Prospector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Prospector1

Thank you for the positive feed back and comments.

Sorry you safe was not working properly, and please know that the wifi has been improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018

This hotel is all about location - central in cape town - the staff is friendly, and helped us with a helicopter flight (thank you), and breakfast was also quite good. The rooms we first got had cockroaches, but within the hour we got a new room. the rooms do need an update though.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank K5313DBdanielg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Daniel

Thank you for the positive comments and feed back, really sorry you had a problem with cockroaches, we have our service done regularly, however, this is an old building and we really do have a problem throughout central Cape Town. Hope fully on your return you will get to see the refurbishments in progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2018

Put a Tulbagh Hotel visit on your bucket list!
We had a marvelous experience with the most delicious food, cocktails made with extra love and the friendliest staff.

Our stay at Winterhoek manor was one big treat. There is a calming, relaxed 'feel at home' vibe you can not describe but rater have to experience, an it is rounded off with most beautiful decor, ambiance and furniture.

We will definitely see you soon for another great visit

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nettania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Nettania B

Thank you so much for the great feed back and positive comments.

Hope to see you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

Great food, lovely establishement and entertainment. Leaves you feeling well-fed. Staff are very attentive from start to finish. Will not hesitate to recommend the restuarant. A definite must for visitors to the town!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MEL8WP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Mel

Thank you for the kind positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews