We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!!”

Ocean Basket Seapoint
Ranked #125 of 1,288 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: At Ocean Basket Seapoint you'll find friendly people, a home-from-home feeling and great value for your hard-earned bucks.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Glad to have wondered in to this place for dinner. The food arrived in around 15 minutes and it was a closely packed restaurant on this night. It was a wonderful experience to taste this authentic local food. Bread was served up front. The sushi was on cue and fish chowder was flavorful. There were several choices, thus the decision of which was not an easy one. One may want to try different meals should one visit this venue on more than one occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Seapoint, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So glad to read about your experience with us at Ocean Basket Seapoint. We hope to see you soon!

The OB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely meal here on our first night in Cape Town, it's in a good spot in Sea Point in a nice little shopping 'mall'. Food was delicious and the service was really good too - would not hesitate to recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JakeCampbell127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Seapoint, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Jake,

Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Basket Sea Point. Glad your meal was a hit. We look forward to having you back again, soon.

The OB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018

The food at the Ocean Basket in Sea Point is normally quite good but the wheels came off this Wednesday evening when they were reasonably full, but not turning away patrons. After ordering our fish and chips/salads soon after arriving, we had an unbelievably long wait of more than 35 minutes for the food. My wife's fish had a bone in it, and also her salad arrived with dressing even though she had very clearly specified 'no dressing'.

From our table near the drafty door, we could see the cooks in the Grill section struggling to cope, while waitresses slopped salads into bowls so quickly it was surprising nothing was spilled onto the floor. Our own waitress ignored us whenever she charged past our table, and were it not for the manager asking someone else to give us our bill, we would probably still be sitting there. We paid in cash to avoid further delays in getting out of the madhouse.

Altogether a very disappointing experience in a restaurant that used to be so good!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Seapoint, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Geff99,

We are concerned to see that your experience was not a good one. Please follow the link http://eyerys.net/ocean to send us your contact details so we can get in touch with you. We look forward to hearing from you.

The OB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

I liked the place very much! It’s super fast in service, very tasty and cheap compared to many other options, and well placed on the 2nd floor at V&A (this is a chain, but we visited only this place). Specifically I can recommend seafood platter for two. It’s large, really good for two pax, and gives a good choice of different types of seafood: mussels, shrimps, octopus, fish, calamari. The octopus are tiny, well grilled and easy to eat. Usually I can’t eat them because of rubber like texture. This time even my wife who is mostly vegetarian tried everything and enjoyed it!

Thank Vacationer607098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanB21, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Basket Seapoint, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

This review is o-fish-ally awesome Vacationer607098.

So glad to read about your awesome experience. We look forward to having you back again soon.

The OB Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2018

A large group of us gathered here for fish & chips after our seaside walk. We enjoyed mainly fish & chips and the waitrons did a good job of serving our large group. The food was tasty with generous portions. The service was prompt & professional.
Ideal for fish & chips.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kardoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Basket Seapoint also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Ocean Basket Seapoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing