We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment doesn’t come close”
Review of BEERHOUSE on Long

BEERHOUSE on Long
Ranked #100 of 1,299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Belgian, German, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Beerhouse on Long, where it all began! The original and the vanguard of the Beer Revolution. We are the hub for all things beer, providing the best of local and international beer with our legendary ‘99 bottles’ and over 25 taps. We are also at the forefront of a new era of exploration which brings in a fusion of food and beer, the Brew Food Revolution, combining the best of both worlds! Our Brew Food Menu integrates smoking techniques from in-house custom made natural hard wood smokers. We aim to create a unique culinary experience of in house made from scratch brew food elements that integrate complementary beer flavour profiles and utilizes the ancient techniques of pickling and fermentation. Smoke. Meat. Beer. Welcome to the Brew Food Revolution!!
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I’m a frequenter of craft beer bars. This place has very boring decor, they were out of half their advertised beers and the barman was really unhelpful with selection. Part of being a craft beer bar is having a barman who can tell you about the beers and give you some interesting suggestions on things to try, especially when you’re looking for a local brew. Saw 3 cockroaches in the 30min we were there so glad we didn’t try the food. Also pretty sure the barman ripped us off. The only craft beer part of this place is their beer selection when they’re actually available. Otherwise this is just a dirty pub. I can think of better craft beer bars in Cape Town.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank CraftBeerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandBerg, General Manager at BEERHOUSE on Long, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Hi Sue

Firstly thank you for taking the time out to come and see us and then for giving us feedback on your experience. We are highly disappointed to hear that that experience was negative but can assure you that we have put new systems in place to see an improvement in almost all areas of the business.

The time you visited (which I assume was close to the date of your review) we were going through a menu change and so were running down most of our stock. We have begun weekly intensive training with our staff, allowing brewers to come and teach them about their beers as well as service training daily. Being on long street, we do sometimes face creepy crawlies but have also had pest control into the shop a number of times to get rind of them and have made some great efforts in cleaning up the shop.

We would love the opportunity to improve on your first visit, please email us at onlong@beerhouse.co.za so that we may organise something special for you.

Regards
Candice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 450 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

Went for dinner to satisfy my craving for ribs and to see the famous 99 bottles of beer on the wall.
Lovely waiters, however did muck up my order, was meant to have bottomless ribs for their Wednesday special however was bought the wrong order, requested my next plate and received nothing but the ribs (no sides etc as described) and yet still had to pay full price and the waiter did not bring back my change
The beer I was suggesting was great- and utterly hate beer but gave it a shot due to the theme of it. I had a fruit beer that was served on ice tasted great as well as the spare ribs despite the lack in communication.
Atmosphere to due for

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Ambi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandBerg, General Manager at BEERHOUSE on Long, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Hi Ambi

Thank you for taking the time to visit and review us. We apologize for any miscommunication or incorrect order taking. We will look into this and hope that if you visit in future that you make the manager aware of such events so that we may correct them for you. We truly look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2018

After having the most disappointing food and experience at Mama Africa across the street, we headed to BeerHouse to erase the memory. lol. I immediately wished we had thought about having dinner there to begin with. The onion rings and burgers looked fresh and scrumptious. We simply had beer. There were so many options to choose from, but the waiter was patient, professional and friendly. The views from the outside seating somewhat reminded me of the French Quarter in New Orleans. Long street at night is awesome, and taking it all in with a cold beer was memorable. Add this place to your itinerary for sure!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kee146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandBerg, Manager at BEERHOUSE on Long, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Thank you for the awesome review! We're happy to hear you had a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2018

99 bottles of beer on the wall and available, plus a good batch of taps. the beer is great, the people watching is as good as it gets along Long Street and the food is pretty decent! All worthy attributes of a pub. I have been here for both drinks and for dinner solo and with friends.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CFEIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine_van_Wulven, General Manager at BEERHOUSE on Long, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Good Day,

Thanks for the great review. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2018 via mobile

We found it while walking around with the help of a tourist information office and a kind lady on the street. Arrived just before noon on a Friday and got a table on the balcony - it filled up quickly shortly after.
Ordered a Drifter Scalliwag IPA - very good. Sharon had a Alpha Cider (Paarl) - vg. We ordered the smoked BBQ ribs and a burger - both worthy.

A very lively spot on a Friday afternoon and we expect that as the night wears onthe fun would increase! Good food. Good beer. Good fun - what’s not to like!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank fishnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine_van_Wulven, General Manager at BEERHOUSE on Long, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Good Day,

Thank you for the great review and feedback. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BEERHOUSE on Long also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to BEERHOUSE on Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing