We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay with personal touch”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A stay with personal touch”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We can't do anything than recommend this place when staying in Cape Town. Behind a small door you'll find a tranquil place to totaly unwind and de-stress. One will be taken cared of by the charming Antony and his ever smiling staff. The courtyard is quite small with an small but adequate pool and different small areas fitting what ever you are looking for. A terrace in the shadow for breakfast and writing postcards. A lounge seating for afternoon drinks or sunbeds if one wants to tan. The whole place is well taken cared of with fresh bathrooms and charming interior. A place we'll stay at again when returning to Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,672
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
231
1,012
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mold
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We came across this hotel by recommendation, and we cannot say enough nice things about it. Such a friendly and warm greeting on our arrival, and such willingness to help with all kinds of questions we had regarding shopping, touring, bird-life, just everything. The breakfast was delicious, five star, and our bedroom and bathroom were wonderful. The hotel is located on a really pretty little street, very quiet, but it is within walking distance of the seafront (and nice restaurants), and a five-minute taxi-ride to the market and centre-of-town. A very special place, and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else if we go back to Capetown. Extremely highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We recommend Blackheath for a friendly, comfortable stay!

There was no formal check-in, just a warm welcome from Antony and the rest of the staff. After picking Antony's brain about what's best to do, we jumped in the Blackheath mini convertible to explore the seaside towns of Cape Town; taking with us beach bags provided by the hotel and also a pair of Antony's designer sunglasses (very generous of him). The service at Blackheath is impeccable and there are a few nice touches that make Blackheath an absolute standout, for example the mobile phone available for use during your stay is a great one. The standard hotel items such as bed and breakfast were also brilliant! Could not fault this place. Thanks to Antony, Michelle and all the Blackheath staff for making our stay in Cape Town an extremely comfortable and pleasant one. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I traveled to South Africa to visit my daughter who is studying there. We stayed at Blackheath Lodge for two nights. It was wonderful! The room was very comfort, sleeping was easy in the quite neighborhood and we were close enough to several restaurants to walk to dinner.
We rented a car from the inn the next day and explored the coast. If I ever come back to South Africa I will stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbloveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

No doubt this is a fantastic place that we would recommend to all our friends and family.

Our room was so clean and so nicely decorated with high attention to details .
There is just nothing to complain about !
You can go and won't be disappointed at all ...
Florence and Gerald Davignon- de Briey

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lommel, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

From the moment we arrived at Black Heath Lodge (yes we did) we were welcomed by Michelle and the whole Black Heath team. You will be treated like princess, sleep like roses in their wonderful beds and eat each morning a delicious home made breakfast.
This is more than just B&B: this is home and stay!
To all staff members and Michelle .... thanks for all your help, support, tips and love during our stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The staff is super friendly, always making sure that you are comfortable, happy and safe, also at night! They have all sorts of nice services, such as the free-of-charge beach bags you can borrow (consisting of a blanket and 2 big beach towels) and the pre-paid cell phone you find in your room. We heard they were planning to also introduce a Mini Cooper convertible soon that guests can rent at a competitive price level and that they would soon add Apple docking station to the rooms so you can play music from your own I-phone/ Ipod. We also liked their DVD-collection, which were perfect for our first night there, after a long trip. There is free wifi, too. Parking space around the guesthouse is fine. Breakfast is good, fresh and prepared with love; although I must admit some reviews made me expect the best breakfast ever... Which it was not. But good nonetheless! The rooms are pretty and the owners have put a lot of time, love and effort into decorating the place with lots of detail.The garden is beautiful and the pool is kept clean. Compared to other places in South Africa I think the price is pretty steep, but then again: Cape Town was more expensive than the other places we visited in every aspect. All in all: a very nice, comfortable place to stay in Cape Town with a warm and personal touch.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarliesAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing