We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
205
181
55
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
181
55
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fat cactus kloof street breakfast vouchers great location restaurants downstairs kitchenette area table mountain long street small kitchenette choice of restaurants great bars and restaurants bar fridge off street parking rooms are huge your doorstep secure parking within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 459 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2016

The hotel's location is excellent - 20 steps from Kloof Street, close to the Wellness Mall and a 15 minute walk to the historic center, where you'll find the Sightseeing Bus office and its main stop, on Long Street. There are 2 bars downstairs, which can be an attractive option for groups of friends or anyone looking for the young urban nightlife. The hotel offers free parking, some of it indoor. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, neatly decorated and generally nice. Staff was very helpful with bookings for attractions and when we needed confirmation - at 3:30am - that our transport to the airport had not forgotten us.
However - two big however's - were:
1. The inconsistent removal of trash from the bathroom - some days it was removed, some not. For no obvious reason.
2. The noise from downstairs - Monday to Wednesday it was bearable and we were able to fall asleep, even if there was music and chatter from the bars. On Thursday, however, we could feel the beat of the music on the wooden floor and even understand the words spoken. We were particularly tired from the hike at Table Mountain, so waiting until 11pm for the music to die down seemed like forever.

Room tip: If you want a quiet stay, ask for a room away from Park Road
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Elisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, General Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us. We rely on guest feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Guest feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations. Your feedback has therefore been truly valuable to us.

We are aware of our noise levels and have already started with double glazing in the rooms and will continue for the rest of the year to completing the double glazing in the front rooms.

Once again many thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Boutique Hotel when next you visit Cape Town. We welcome another opportunity by offering you a back facing room or a suite so we can show you Hippo Boutique Hospitality at its best!

Kind Regards

Adine Perel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2016

Just got back from a week long business/vacation trip in South Africa, where I stayed at the Hippo in Cape Town. On the positives, it was a great room, in a great location, the hotel was trendy without overly doing it. We had one of the large 2 story rooms and enjoyed having the extra space. We also had a fantastic view of Table Mountain which was great to wake up to everyday and see. One of the odd things about the room was the bathroom, where the shower was directly in the upstairs bedroom, which made it difficult for someone to take a shower while someone was still waking up and the little glass partition did little to stop the water from getting all over the floor. But this was a minor gripe and the rest of the room was great. Also be aware that there was only a limited number of tv channels, which we found odd, however we didn't fly for more then a day to sit in a room and watch TV, so this really didn't matter to us. The staff was helpful and were able to setup several great tours for us and the overall cleanliness of the hotel was great. For the price it was fantastic and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great room at a reasonable price in Cape Town Central.

Room tip: Higher floors are more quiet
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Casey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

The room was nice, clean and well appointed. The bathroom with heated floor and a sweet shower was well appreciated after spending time in the bush. Below the hotel there are convenient restaurants, though Kloof and Long streets are nearby and offer plenty of options. Best to watch yourself walking any side streets at night for risk of getting harassed or mugged...though daytime is totally safe bear this centrally located hotel. Company gardens are a short walk away, table mountain a short über ride, and other sites all easily accessed.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Guest Relations Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Good Day,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for giving positive feedback regarding our spacious rooms and the central location with the variety of restaurants.

Yes, at night time it is important to take extra caution when walking around the area, but as you mentioned also very safe during the day.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016

The location is very nice near Longstreet (centre) and lots of restaurants, most of the staff are friendly en helpfull. The room at the left side of the building was quite annoying due to the noise of the cars passing by and the noise of the restaurant guests. In addition, a rebuilding took place at the time of our stay, also in the building next to the hotel. This noise was loud and lasted a few days. It would have been highly appreciated and polite if guests that are staying and/or would like to stay had been informed about this extra nuisance. The tvs are very outdated, HD view quality tvs are essential. The fridge which is a metre from the bed, made a lot of noise. The cleaning lady mostly didn't clean the whole room, you had to ask for the floor to get mobed and the sheets to get changed. The windows were dirty as well. The electricity fel out 3 times. Eventually we asked for another less noisy room, which we got. 3* sure, but not yet 4*. Would go back but only if i got a nice deal again, but wouldn't pay the regular price (website).

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Guest Relations Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed the location and complimenting our friendly staff on being helpful.

I am terribly sorry to hear about the nuisance of the noise that was coming from the building next door - i truly apologize as not even I was aware that there was construction taking place, for then i would have definitely informed guests.
As to the noise from the Restaurants, the Hotel is busy implementing ways to eliminate and reduce the noise - as we have already placed the soundproof doors between the corridors and reception to reduce the sound travelling up the stairs and down the passages ( these doors are new ) as well as some of the front rooms have already received double glazing and the rest is still in progress.
We apologize that the television was not up to standard - some of the rooms have brand new tv's but not all of them yet (also still a work in progress).

As to our cleaning staff - i am very sorry about the lack of cleanliness you experienced. This is definitely unacceptable as we pride ourselves on delivering clean hygienic and fresh rooms to all guests on a daily basis. Housekeeping will receive warnings and further training will be implemented.

Thank you for making me aware of these issues and we will definitely take all your concerns to further investigations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

Amazing hotel in a very interesting part of Cape Town. Everything about the interiors; decor, cleanliness and overall comfort was 10/10. Atmosphere around the hotel and nearby restaurants was tourist friendly which made us feel very safe. Absolutely loved the idea of using the R70(?) vouchers each morning to put towards our breakfast. Kned Bakery on Kloof Street deserves a standing ovation for the quality of their food. WARNING: jerry's burger bar service was a big disappointment, waited more than 40 minutes for breakfast, didn't even receive an apology when left to the airport with empty stomachs. It's an okay place to get a few drinks later in the evening but mornings staff - very disappointing.
Overall experience in Hippo Boutique 10/10.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank klaudia95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hippotique, Guest Relations Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience.

I am happy to hear that your liked the image and feel of our Hotel and enjoyed the comforts of your room. Thank you for the positive response regarding our breakfast variety with the R90 per person limits which is definitely more than enough :-)
Knead Bakery is a very popular choice amongst our guests with their wide variety of menu and food- and i will happily report to them your feedback!
I have informed the Manager of Jerry's regarding your concern, as it is highly unacceptable, and needs to be attended to as this cannot happen again. So on behalf of Jerry's I would like to apologize for your experience with them that morning.

We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews