We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$143
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 52% below average rates

The price you found is 52% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Commodore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Parliament Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$209
US$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$239/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,518)
Filter reviews
1,518 results
Traveller rating
1,412
90
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,412
90
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barkloof streettable mountainpool and hot tubour honeymoonlittle toucheshonor barmobile phonemillers thumbhome away from homesouth africacamps baycommunal areasstay in cape townevery eveningcar hireliving room
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1,518 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

From the moment we walked in we were made to feel very welcome. Staff are extremely friendly and attentive, asking each morning for our plans and if they can help with any arrangements and enquiring about our days at the end. Excellent interior design, with amazing artwork adorning the property throughout. Afternoon cake was a welcome delight after each day. Bedroom was split with spacious, stylish living quarters separate to a cosy bedroom with a mountain view. In addition, there was a large balcony attached. Lovely stay

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, General Manager at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear ElFentoni,

Thanks so much for this great commendation: "friendly, "stylish" and "boutique" are all our mantra at Derwent House, so we're overjoyed to get your kind feedback! Speaking for the team, we truly enjoyed hosting you two and helping plan / organise your Cape Town visit -- always glad to help prioritise when there's so little time and so much to see.

Our decor is definitely special and Anahid will be chuffed at your special mention of the art (good ammunition in her never-ending quest for more). We're also delighted that you enjoyed Florence's baking every afternoon as well--as is she: she puts her heart and soul in everything she bakes, so loves getting a mention from contented sweet lovers.

We really appreciate you choosing Derwent House for your visit and hope you'll be back again on any future trip to Cape Town. See you then!

Thanks from all of us,

Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Anahid and her charming team welcome guests warmly and then make sure they’re looked after in every way. Nothing seems too much trouble - from recommending and booking restaurants to advising on how to make the best of your time in Cape Town. Derwent House is stylish but cosy, rooms have super comfy beds and the breakfasts are delicious. There’s a lovely courtyard/pool area to relax in after a day’s sightseeing. A gem - we enjoyed our time here so much and hope to return.....

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Karen K, I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you here -- it always makes us happy when guests make the most of the lounge and common areas to relax and feel at home. And as discussed, we take special pride in our F&B passion and know-how, so I'm especially pleased to have saved you from a costly fish & seafood mistake and steered you in the right "African" direction . . . we're spoiled for choice in Cape Town and life--especially a holiday!-- is too short for less-than-wonderful dining choices .

I do hope you found your way around the vibrant Cape Town art scene and value your appreciation of our decor -- as you can tell, we love colour, African-style. But there's so much to discover here, you can come back ten times and still find something new you've never seen before. Cape Town is an art-lovers' paradise!

Thanks for sharing your lovely comments with other travellers here -- we really appreciate it and so do they. I hope we'll see you back at Derwent House soon, but meanwhile, will be sure to look after any friends and family you send our way . . .

Thank you again for your generous feedback.

On behalf of the entire team, we wish you both all the very best from your newfound Cape Town home,

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Absolutely loved our stay at Derwent House and highly recommend it.

The service is absolutely incredible; basically everyone does their absolute best to make sure you have an unforgettable stay in Cape Town. The morning breakfast is fantastic, the rooms are very comfortable and quiet despite the fact that Derwent house is just a few minutes’ walk to many of the hippest restaurants in Cape Town.

All in all, I think Derwent House is one of the best places we’ve stayed at anywhere given the very reasonable price and I absolutely recommend it to anyone staying in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

We loved having you here, Phil A, and grateful thanks for your glowing recommendation! "One of the best places . . . anywhere" is truly an accolade and we're thrilled to get it from you, discerning and widely travelled as you are.

It was great fun meeting you both and finding common ground -- definitely helps us ensure you enjoy your stay. As we talked about, the most important thing we need to do as hosts is to provide comfort, a great breakfast, congenial ambience and good advice . . . It's gratifying to get your feedback that we got it right for you. I know your Chapman's Peak drive was a highlight , as I believe was dinner at the Black Sheep . . . but there's plenty more to see and do in Cape Town for next time.

Please come back and see us again -- we'd love to see you. (And Amalga, in particular, sends personal thanks for the very helpful medical tips!)

Very best regards from all of us,

Anahid, Luca, Xolani and Amalga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Derwent House was the first hotel we stayed in for our honeymoon. On arrival the staff had decorated our room with balloons, confetti and a complimentary bottle of champagne. This was so thoughtful and such a great start to our holiday.

Throughout our stay, all the staff were super friendly and really helpful at recommending events, places to eat and things to see, which is a service we didn't get in the same way in any of the other hotels we stayed in afterwards. The owners also introduced themselves to us, which we felt was such a personal and special touch.

Our only criticism would be that the room itself, which we had was situated right by the pool area, wasn't particularly private. The door was next to all of the sunbeds and the room also had a window looking into the staff courtyard where they would spend their break times. It felt a bit like we were intruding on other peoples space, as well as others on ours.

Nevertheless, we were sad to leave Derwent house and so we will definitely be returning when we next come to SA.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mireille W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Warm congratulations again to you both, Mireille W -- it was an honour and great pleasure to host you for the start of your honeymoon in South Africa and I'm thrilled to learn that we helped make it memorable for you.

Yes, we do take our role as hosts in Cape Town seriously and want you to love our beautiful city as much as we do (the best strategy to bring you back again ). It's always helpful to have some local tips when visiting a new place, and we really enjoy sharing our experience and other with guests -- that's the most fun of all! I'm only sorry we didn't see more of you during your stay, but mostly because you kept so busy . . .

I'll be happy to help with your room choice for next time. Our pool-side rooms are favoured by avid swimmers and pool users, but we've plenty of options for all preferences at Derwent House.

We look forward to welcoming you again and wish you both all the happiness in the world meanwhile.

Warmest regards from the whole team,

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

This place is absolutely fantastic! The staff are super helpful, so friendly and always keen to make your day better!! The place is really nice and cozy with a living room to chill out if you don’t have plans for a couple of hours. They do a great breakfast and the rooms are really nice. The owner is so organized and keen to make your stay as great as it can be! Honestly, never been to a nicer place before and we’ve travelled a lot. There’s little touches as well that make it very homely, like putting out freshly baked cakes in the afternoon and knocking on your door in the evening to leave a one pager with the weather the next day and suggestions for things to do. Well done to the owner and the staff. Really well done!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marietta111100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

We just love it when guests make themselves at home like you two, Marietta111100 -- the best reason of all to stay at a place like our's rather than a big hotel. It was really a pleasure to have you with us, and incredibly gratifying to have such enthusiastic endorsement from seasoned travellers like you . . . I know you loved Florence's breakfasts, but also delighted that you enjoyed our afternoon spread as well. We've been working hard on our pastry selection, trying out new recipes and offerings, experimenting with new ideas, so it's great to have "live" feedback on our efforts. I'm so glad the tea spread added to your sense of "home away from home."

We'd love to see you back again should you feel the need for some Cape Town sun and hospitality . . . but meanwhile, looking forward to welcome your family and friends -- please send them to us. Thank you so much for your lovely review!

Sunny greetings from all of us,

Anahid
& the entire Derwent team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews