We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
44
60
12
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
60
12
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild fig main building has category hotel reward points close to the airport high security cape dutch stayed nights at this hotel nice lounge on site restaurant save water welcoming hotel road noise easy access egg station a lovely place to stay three star
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 126 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2017

Arriving at this Protea hotel we were welcomed with friendly service and hospitality. A professional porter took us to our suite which was spacious and warm. Travelling to Cape Town, we have requested (on short notice) a night stay for a family of three and we were very satisfied getting two bedrooms, each with their own bathrooms...wonderful! Breakfast the next morning, included in the price, was also to our satisfaction. Will definitely go back again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kleu005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMowbray, Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator at Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Dear Kleu005,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray through Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
LINDSAY PALIWODA
Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
lindsay.paliwoda@proteahotels.com
021 442 5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

Very good for Dutch themed weddings or any special wedding whatsoever. It was winter when I visited and I wondered what it was like in bright sunny summer day. I fell in love with the place and in my mind, I just saw a wedding venue. Do however mind that it has no lift, but plenty of garden rooms. I shall return :)

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 11dumisanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMowbray, Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator at Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Dear Dumisani,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray through TripAdvisor.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for visiting Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray. Goodluck with your wedding preparations and we hope you choose to stay with us whenever your travel needs bring you back to Cape Town.

Sincerely,
LINDSAY PALIWODA
Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
lindsay.paliwoda@proteahotels.com
021 442 5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2017

Stayed on business for two nights. Amenities of high standard and spacious rooms. Wifi free but slow. Hot breakfast of reasonable standard. Fine dinners enjoyed at adjoining restaurant. Problem came with provision of lunch packs for myself and colleagues. These were pre-booked and pre-paid, but were not supplied. Staff at front desk appeared less than willing or able to resolve the problem and gave blanks looks when service requests were made. The problem is not the hotel - the problem is the training and attitude of staff.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Groenjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMowbray, Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator at Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Dear Groenjean,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray through Trip Advisor.

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the miscommunication about the lunch packs and poor service delivery from our TEAM. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel TEAM to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Sincerely,
LINDSAY PALIWODA
Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
lindsay.paliwoda@proteahotels.com
021 442 5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2017

Stayed here for a couple of nights when working in the area. Its a quaint little homestead place in the main building with some modern (semi) suites outside which are more than adequate, well furnished and clean. Breakfast was excellent but the reception did seem to struggle a little when there was a queue waiting to check in.

The lounge here is a little small and don't expect to have a drink in the lounge in the busy periods as i found it only really seats about 12 people comfortably

Will need to look for a place to eat in the evenings outside the hotel so transport would be mandatory, although i did see a hotel shuttle bus in the car park on departure

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank martinw-sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMowbray, Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator at Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Dear Martin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding this issue. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will share your message appropriately within the organisation.

Sincerely,
LINDSAY PALIWODA
Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
lindsay.paliwoda@proteahotels.com
021 442 5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

This hotel is located near South African Astronomical Observatory and is relatively in a low population/crime area. When I first checked in I was told the hotel was overbooked and I had to somewhere else. Luckily I used my Gold status to get myself in but 6 colleagues were kicked out! Not a good way to do business.

I stayed on two separate occasions in room 154, a 2nd floor suite. I was very happy about this room. It had both tile and carpet, wall mounted flat screen TV, sofa and chair in a separate room, an entry room with table and two chairs and mini kitchen with microwave and fridge. Bathroom has a separate tub and shower and two sets of towels.

There are two phones, a mini balcony with garden view, desk in the bedroom, a big closet, 110V plugs and 240 plugs for charging. The property is a two floor hotel with no elevators. There is free wifi and it works well all the time. Next door is the Fig Tree restaurant which serves great meals! Regarding TV, they only have CNN and a couple of English movie channels.

I had no issues with check-in or check out and the staff were friendly and helpful. They could use public desktop computers and a pool and then the property would be really nice.

Room tip: A second floor room would be preferable as the likelihood of hearing noise is minimal.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDM77059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMowbray, Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator at Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Dear PDM77059,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray through Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.
Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and please do not hesitate to give me a call for future reservation assistance!

Sincerely,
LINDSAY PALIWODA
Marketing Plan Co-Ordinator
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
lindsay.paliwoda@proteahotels.com
021 442 5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews