We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
232
166
108
44
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
166
108
44
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterside grill cucina restaurant beautiful hotel whale watching garden route george airport kids club rooms are large main building herolds bay south africa cape town top class a wonderful stay hyatt golf pity
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 601 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

After reading all these "fantastic" reviews I was quite excited for our wedding weekend stay at this 4 star hotel.
I called reservations a couple of days in advance to confirm our room number in order to give the information to the vendors that helped me get ready for the wedding. After waiting on hold for a very long time, I managed to get through to reservations (on the 3rd try). They were not helpful at all and not very friendly either, very disappointed I hung up without the information I needed. I went to the hotel in person and spoke to one of the very few friendly faces we met during our stay. We were shown our room and it was confirmed for us.
The standard king room was lovely, spacious and clean upon arrival Friday. We had no hot water on Friday evening, and the water was very dirty. We called guest services multiple times with no answer, eventually the room service department was able to assist us, but still no hot water.
The breakfast on Saturday was delicious, and the lady by the omelette station was helpful and friendly.
Our room was cleaned and we were able to get ready for the wedding.
On our wedding night, we expected a romantic turn down (after reading reviews of this lovely service), but there was nothing, even though we have informed reservations and housekeeping about our wedding night. The room wasn't cleaned like the night before, and I was quite disappointed. We left early the next morning, and reception didn't seem very apologetic for our discomfort during the entire stay.
I don't see myself staying here anytime soon, and I won't recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chantelle_dT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, Front Office Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the unacceptable experience you had and would like to assure you that his is not the level of service we strive to achieve. All feedback received is considered constructive and is instrumental in assisting us to improve our service levels where necessary. All your concerns will be addressed accordingly. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

The tourism grading council of SA says that 4 star hotels are excellent and then lists numerous qualities and attributes to deliver on 4 stars. I am currently in the hotel and stay for another 2 days. That said the staff and their service attempt is 5 star.The place is clean. But its the details that require attention. From leaking roofs to cracked fireplaces,damp walls,a club level that serves hors d'oeurves one plate at a time, these are the small things that add up and could kill an establishment. Chris, Abe,Daphne and the rest of the team keep up the good work. To the owners and senior management decide what rating you offer as you cannot charge for 4 and get 3 stars, even if you have a promotion.That being said thank you for your outstanding efforts. PS. the Spa staff are great!

Room tip: stay inside the main hotel
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WaleedA2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Mr Waleed Abrahams

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are extremely happy to hear about the service level that you had received .
Al your feedback received is considered constructive and is instrumental in assisting us to improve our level of service where necessary.
Thank you for bringing them to our attention.
Best regards

Brian Ng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, great food, very fairly priced. Don’t believe the negative reviews from professional complainers, this hotel punches well above its weight.

Herold Cafe does a great value a la carte breakfast and the food quality across all the restaurants is just awesome. Can’t wait to visit again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank EugeneC1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Eugene C

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us,
we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Brian Ng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

We celebrated our 48th wedding anniversary at this magnificent venue.
Service, level of comfort,cleanliness,cuisine, all of top quality.
Highly recommended.
We received special treatment once the staff they were aware that we were celebrating a special occasion.

Room tip: Get a sea facing room
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dr Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Dr Derek K

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us,
We are very glad that we made your 48th wedding anniversary a memorable one, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Brian Ng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

The hotel is an easy 10 minutes from the airport, On arrival you are welcomed by the bellhop / Parker of cars - nice touch - escorted to reception and a seamless book-in ritual with friendly staff. You are then driven to your room in a golf buggy and shown around a massive well furnished room that is tastefully decorated. The only negative was when stepping out onto the baloney (a small private garden in my case) was not a well kept garden - it was over grown with weeds and poor maintenance.
The restaurants (two of then i visited) had good menus, food was well prepared and artistically presented by very friendly staff.
All facilities in and around the hotel are great to visit and to experience.
All in all a pleasant experience that was not expensive

Room tip: all rooms are great
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Johninjohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHotel, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Johninjohannesburg

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us,
We are in the process of updating our rooms' garden. Thank you for bringing it to our attention
We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards

Brian Ng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews