We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”
Review of Meade Cafe

Meade Cafe
Ranked #16 of 123 Restaurants in George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Awarded Best New Kid on the Block 2011, Meade Café is establishing itself as the place to dine in George. Set in a newly renovated 18th century Townhouse in the heart of George with the added bonus of a tranquil courtyard garden, Meade Café offers diners the best coffee, excellent food and service to match. Think all day breakfasts, a delectable lunchtime harvest table and a frequently changing evening menu that reflects the best of farm fresh, locally sourced produce. Come and experience the Meade Magic for yourself…
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

We stumbled across this place when looking for a lunch venue and WOW were we pleasantly surprised ... what a gem!!! The most incredibly tasting, fresh food and the most amazing and friendly service. We sat outside in the beautiful courtyard and then finished off with a little shopping in their beautiful shop upstairs. Will most definitely be back and rave about it to people visiting the area.

1  Thank 741sandyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 92 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2018

Hidden Gem is an often over-used term but it could not be more true of Meade Café. Quality ingredients, Friendly Service, a beautiful, recently remodelled interior, a truly lovely courtyard. Theyoffer best tea selection made from whole ingredients (not merely infused) - although their Green Tea is my favourite, the Goa Chai and the Berries are well worth a try. Do yourself a favour and have a look through their selection. Pretty, even if you are not a tea drinker. Their Barista is super friendly and very confident in his suggestions.
They offer a good selection of vegetarian options - the Lentil & Beetroot salad is a firm faourite.
Their prices are very reasonable and you can be sure that the ingredients are fresh and the food very tasty. They had no problem with our changing the menu and cooked a special request exactly as required - not something you often find. The lady who served us even suggested a few different options!
I have also been to functions that they catered - excellent.
Meade Café is truly excellent on all levels.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SonjaZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadecafe, Owner at Meade Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Dear Sonja
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is certainly appreciated and I'll make sure to share your kind words with the staff. We do try hard to always excel at what we do and believe that honesty and integrity is most important in everything one attempts in life. Thank you for appreciating this. Hope to see you soon (and often)! Kind regards. Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

Good vegetarian options and my fish was very good.
Reasonably priced and very pleasant. The service was good. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank joballengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadecafe, Owner at Meade Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Dear Meade Cafe Guest
Thank you for the positive feedback. We always strive to exceed expectations! I'll make sure that the kitchen and FOH staff shares in the kind words. Kind regards Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018

We four elderly gentlemen have a monthly lunch and visit various restaurants. Meade
Cafe was well up to standard and we have high standards!! It has a certain ambiance
that makes it so different. Our meal was excellent as was the service. We noted that
the wine glasses were of good quality,which is something which creates a good impression,and although possibly a small detail,can make a difference. We rated Meade
Cafe highly on our list of George's best restaurants.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank B9397IGjamiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadecafe, Owner at Meade Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Dear Sir(s)
Thank you so much for the kind words and positive review. We work extremely hard at what we do, and always appreciate a pat on the back. We certainly hope to see you again soon.
PS. we have just been rewarded with a Culinary Award!
Kind regards
Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2018 via mobile

Driving through George we googled “best coffee in George” and this came up as The Place. Whilst the almond and pear cake was Delish, the cappuccino and Americano was very mediocre. Also for a place acclaimed for ‘the best coffee’, it was disappointing that the barista did not know what a Cortado was.

Thank Nadia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meade Cafe also viewed

George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
 

Been to Meade Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing