We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and that is it .....”

Dutton's Cove Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 132 Restaurants in George
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dramatically situated, overlooking a sweep of pristine beach and rocky outcrops, Duttons Cove offers unparalled privacy and tranquility. The terrace areas extend from the restaurant and bar, offering magnificent views and sunsets over the bay.
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Great view over Herold’s Bay, but not really recommed as a restaurant. The waiter was below average and kept forgetting our orders, limted drinks menu (ie only two types of whiskeys available), two orders were not available and one order delivered wrongly. Food took a very long time to be served. The food (Hake and Calamari, Pork Belly Salad) was oily and tasteless.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank boendoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha V, Owner at Dutton's Cove Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dear Boendoes

So sorry to read about your experience with us.

Please do try us again and we hope that we can change your perception with an awesome experience next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 267 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We had the most amazing lunch today!! Excellent food and awesome service from all the staff!! Beautiful views and cappuccino to die for. If you are in the Garden Route, this is an absolute must. Thank you Wern and staff!!

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank 230japie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha V, Owner at Dutton's Cove Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dear Japie

Thank you so much for your support. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and do visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Sunday lunch time Easter week-end - beautiful day and good food - please guys sort your service out - food delivery guys were looking bewildered as to which table got what plate of food - your food was great - I had finished my food and the chocolate milk shake was still missing -

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ArthurL2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha V, Owner at Dutton's Cove Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dear Arthur

We are so glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Sorry about the service...It was our first wkd of running the restaurant in a very busy time of the year and were absolutely astounded with the volumes of customers. Thank you so much for your support and do try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

We had driven to Herold's Bay expecting to find somewhere for lunch down by the beach. Not so - there was only a caravan selling coffee, cold drinks and ice cream. Shame as the beach is really nice and it was a perfect day on the coast.

So we took the lesser road back towards George and suddenly spotted Dutton's Cove. Just right! With tables both inside and out on the terrace, great views back over the bay well below, and a reasonably comprehensive good value menu, it proved to be a great find. That was underlined when we later drove back through George - there seemed little attraction there. Service was prompt and pleasant - being midweek it was about half occupied outside and with very few inside diners. We were glad we stumbled on a restaurant that provided exacly what we had hoped to find down near the beach.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Elton_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

A lovely view!! We had breakfast and order the farmhouse breakfast. No finess at all. Food just cooked good enough to fill you and it is where it stop. If you like and enjoy food not a place to go. The cappuccino was good.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank LeaV319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dutton's Cove Restaurant also viewed

 
George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
 

Been to Dutton's Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing