We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Reservation Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Far Hills Country Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Reviewed 30 August 2017

I called the hotel 4 times today. Enquiring about a date I would like to make a reservation. The first 2 times I was told there was no availability. The 3rd time I called I was told that there was in fact availability. I then called a 4th time to double check and was again told by the Reservation manager that an Indian tour group had booked for the same dates but that it was unconfirmed. Here I was willing to give the Hotel a confirmed, paid booking but was turned away for the dates requested. The Locals would like to support the South Western District after it's devastating fires but with this kind of service you make it very hard.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jacqui v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

The view from our room was really lovely overlooking the mountains.

Spacious room and bathroom - could do with some upgrading as regards carpet and leak above the shower.

Staff very friendly and pleasant.

The location is perfect for touring around the area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Judelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Loved the place, sitting right in the lap of nature. The perfect place to refresh yourself and recuperate from the hectic pace of today's life style. Hotel staff is most courteous and helpful.

Would love to go there again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sandeep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Friendly staff and service was okay. We had chilly weather, but of course that didn't stop the kids from enjoying the pool and outside play area. Beautiful grounds that we walked around between rooms and facilities. Breakfast was kindof okay, not a lot of variety to offer, especially when there were less people staying the first night. Room we had was a small bit cramped, think we noticed this more because we had to stay indoors when it rained.....maybe have a few board games available in the lounge area, Otherwise, place was good!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank byronn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

AMAZING VIEWS , but that is where it ends the rest was horrendous - filthy everywhere, bedding, bathroom, tables. When shown to our room we saw the outside of our room door it looked like it had been broken into and the lock mended several times! We entered the room and it smelt of bad foot odour, the room was very dark. We walked to the patio doors to look outside and this was dirty and not very secure, the air condition did not work properly and the wiring was extremely dangerous. The balcony had a glass table which was filthy and there was a partially built wooden frame which looked like something was to be put up, but had not as yet! The view was amazing that is all I can say was good.

We went to go to the bar only to find we could not get out of the room! The door lock was jammed, luckily our friends were next door and heard us so opened it from the outside- we reported this and they did mend within an hour of our arrival. We ordered a drink at the bar and sat on wooden chairs, there was nothing else comfortable - I asked the waiter about sunbeds around the pool, which he didn't remember if they had any! He went to find the manager, who, after about 45 minutes came to speak to us and said he had never been asked about sunbeds in the six months of his working at the hotel and basically there were none! The gardens were very unkempt and the pool was cloudy and green.... not very appealing.
This was not even deserving of a star rating hotel - we left once we found other accommodation-

Room Tip: Unless happy with cheap, dirty bad service - don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank angelahE4710DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Mr/s Bailey

Thank-you for your review.
We take all reviews, negative and positive very seriously as we strive to maintain the standards of guest service.
Please note, since your visit (September of last year), we have removed all of the standard room types from our system as we no longer use them. These room types were offered to the specials that we were running last year.
Our hotel is now only a 24 deluxe room hotel.

We hope to see you again soon at The Far Hills Hotel, so you will be able to see the changes that we have been doing.

Regards
The Far Hills Country Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

I had to cancel my booking at Far Hills Country Hotel due to unforeseen circumstances. I informed them and the booking agency 18 days prior to arrival. 3 months later I am still waiting for my 50% deposit refund.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank careyannwhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Mrs Whittle

Thank-you for your review.
Please note we have only had contact once with the agent you booked through in regards to your refund for your booking in April.

As soon as the agent contacts us again we will be able to pay the amount owing by the hotel back to the agent.

Regards
The Far Hills Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

We had a delightful stay at this great hotel.

The accommodation was of a good standard, with the room flowing onto a beautiful view of the local golf club and nearby mountains.

The restaurant served fine food, although it was not what we expected. Would rather eat in town next time.

But overall an enjoyable stay, will visit them again.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Bluegum777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
13 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
4.1 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
756 reviews
7.6 km away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#6 of 9 in George
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
8 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#7 of 9 in George
76 reviews
9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: $75 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing