We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything in one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in George
Pretoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Everything in one”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Thank you for the wonderful experience FPD HCM had at your hotel. Bernard and David, you were great. Canrad, you were my electrician, IT manager and tour guide. Whatever I needed, was provided. Friendliness and smiles all around. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzettevisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deleur S, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Hi Suzette, thank you very much for your kind comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time spend with us...we also look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

PS: Conrad, Bernard and David sends their regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    96
    51
    22
    12
See reviews for
65
70
3
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Tetbury
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed 4 nights here to golf in the George area. Good size bedroom with large terrace overlooking golf course (if requested) but slightly dated and our bathroom was very, very small. Pleasant and helpful staff. Probably best value hotel to stay in George although Wilderness and Knysna much more interesting and scenic destinations. If you are a golfer, could be worth considering the Simola Golf Resort if you don't mind the 20 minute journey into the mountains from Knysna. Stunning!

Room Tip: Request room overlooking golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfinMinchinhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deleur S, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel!
Yes, our rooms are quite spacious with the 2 double beds and ideal for both golfers and families and we are in the process of upgrading the couple of smaller bathrooms to more spacious and modern facilities.
Please let us know the next time you are in George and we can assist you in making your golf arrangements and ensure that you get a golf course facing room again!
Your comments are extremely valuable to us and we hope you will be staying with us again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Deleur Stander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Nice and clean hotel. Good value for money, considering the options in George. Problems: Our room, 201 is very noisy as people dragg their suitcases from parking to their rooms or vice versa. My companion was surprised by a bill of R155 for breakfast, which in any world is ridiculous. My friend only ate a couple of eggs, bacon, toast and coffee and even if the eggs were golden, such exorbitant charge soured the taste of an otherwise great experience.

Room Tip: Do not take room 201 if you intend to sleep past 5am
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabeloN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deleur S, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Good day, thank you very much for writing a review about your recent stay at the hotel...without feedback, we will never know where we can improve in our service to our GUESTS.
Regarding our breakfast prices that seem a bit high, we do offer toasted sandwiches and smaller buffet options for those that prefer a smaller breakfast...

Regarding the noisy room, I want to invite you to contact me directly when in the area again, so that I can personally see to it that you stay in the quietest room in the hotel, as most of our international GUESTS are up before 6am...

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Deleur Stander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had a very good weekend in this hotel. We were in a suite with a mountanous view over the golf course. Really loved the super king size bed. Staff was very helpful and polite. Would surely recommend hotel for a peaceful weekend!!

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious and almost the same price of the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WagsCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed at George for 3 nights. We were given a family 2 room - 2 double beds which was not in the hotel area. I did not realized that there were also suites which was the same price as the room I paid for - the suites had an additional lounge area and a bigger bathroom and was in the hotel. Our friends decided to stop at George to play golf at Fancourt with my husband. They got immediate booking into the suite. When I saw the suite, I asked reception if we could move into the suite next to them as my friends had advised me that the suites are available, the first receptionist said yes but he had to ask his supervisor. I waited for some time until the supervisor came to me and said we cannot allow this as the computer system is not allowing them to do that. If a room is vacant and a client wants to use the room as it would make the client happy, I believe irrespective of computer systems etc, the client comes first. The supervisor could have wavered the system by asking her manager - but they point blank refused even though I begged them to rethink their decision. We went for dinner the one night - was not happy at all and very expensive. We then had pizzas delivered to our room and went to other places to eat. There are not much restaurants in George. You will have to travel a good couple of kilometeres to get to a good restaurant.

Room Tip: Always research the place you are going to stay and always choose 2 rooms instead of 1 when you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelocity312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

spent 3 nites here. good hotel staff very accomodating
clean facilities
lovely set up and surroundngs
rooms were comfortable and clean
scrumptious breakfast
lovely pool setting
home away from home
great place to stop over after a long day of sightseeing
we were with friends and the hotel saw to it that we were all in close proximity to one another
the kids had a blast around the poolside and the jumping castles at the breakfast venue
will definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: rooms facing the outeniqua mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maimunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This hotel was very average and there was nothing special about it,they had 2 small pools, but they weren't even heated.This hotel isn't in a special location either.yes, there are nice grass areas in and around the hotel, but it wasn't close to a good view, and the rooms were not special at all, there was a small TV with a few channels, and 2 beds, while their resturant was average and the buffet wasnt very good, so I eventually just gave up and went to go eat at restaurants surrounding the hotel, which were far better.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanro567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
10.1 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
1.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
3.5 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
1.7 km away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
52 reviews
4.6 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott King George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott King George

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Address: King George Drive, King George Park, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott King George 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of being on the doorstep of all the Garden Route has to offer! The Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is centrally located in the Heart of Eden and exudes tranquility and beauty. With the Outeniqua Mountains as a back-drop, this magnificent 4-star hotel, with its country-style setting is the ideal location for conference, business and leisure travelers wanting to explore the Garden Route and surroundings. You can be assured that you will never run out of things to do and see! Nestled between two of the country's top golf courses and in close proximity to other world class courses in Mossel Bay, Knysna and Plettenberg Bay, the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is the perfect destination for golf enthusiasts to tee off from! This secure, upmarket hotel is merely a ten minute leisurely drive from the George Airport and a stones' throw away from all the pristine beaches with its clear water and white sandy beaches. The spacious and stylishly designed rooms and luxury suites are equipped with all amenities for your comfort. The Fairway Terrace Restaurant with its elegant dining atmosphere and superb blend of classical and contemporary cuisine is a gastronomic experience that will not easily be forgotten. Children are always welcome and with the dedicated Prokidz entertainment program over weekends and school holidays, you can be assured of absolute relaxation, friendly and efficient service and home-away-from-home comfort in the Heart of the Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott King George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing