We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Harbour House. We loved the room (we had a room in the "stables" with a view of the sea, the pool and the garden) and the setting and found the service and breakfast quite excellent. We will be back.

Room Tip: The old building rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    301
    82
    41
    38
See reviews for
157
547
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honeydew, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The venue and settin speaks for itself. The staff at the hotel went put of their way to be helpful, friendly and accomodating in all requests. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0nelV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Unfortunately, we only had one night at this lovely hotel and location by the sea.
Our room was large with it's own balcony and the service was just perfect. Staff were exceptionally helpful and recommended several restaurants for us to eat, all within a minutes walk from the hotel. Wonderful outside swimming pool overlooking the bay.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Harbour house hotel hermanus - lovely rooms, good service, excellent location. Only complaint was shower pressure was terrible. Hermanus is a lovely town for 1 or 2 days. 

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed at the Harbour House Hotel on 17 February 2012 as part of a work retreat. We were a group of 17 people and I was very pleased with the manner in which the hotel staff accommodated our various requests. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable with lovely views from most of them. The hotel itself has a lovely old world charm and the best view from a pool one could hope for! The location of this hotel is its selling point - once you are there you barely need to get in a car.

My only complaint would be that for the cost per night breakfast really should be included.

Otherwise a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a guest house booked in hermanus but decided to take a drive around the town before checking in but while driving into the town we noticed this hotel with a gorgous pool at the edge. we decided to see if we could get a room in this hotel and we were lucky enough to get a romantic room in the new part of the hotel. The room was fantistic and exceeded both our expections that we booked it for two nights instead. We got to relax by the pool and staff could not have done enough for us. Would also recommend travellers to book a table at bergendy restaurant accross the road. This hotel is a really central location and staff are really friendly and could not have done enough for us

Room Tip: Book a romantic room with air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank high_flyer79ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Had the potential to exceed its star rating but fell down in 3 areas. Cleanliness reasonable but needed some more attention to detail ie shower drain clogged with hair and kitchen drain heavily stained. Attention to general maintenance ie button to air on control missing, one of the hinges on the cupboard door need screwed up and the toilet seat would not stay up due to the cistern being away from the wall. The plastic furniture and "plants" smelled unpleasant, better to replace with natural products.
The location is stunning and ideally situated for the waterfront restaurants and costal walk. The staff were friendly and helpful. If you want a great fish and chips recommend Lemon Buffa.

Room Tip: Few rooms do not have a see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_S-WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of Management and the staff at Harbour House Hotel, We would like to apologise for the unpleasantries that you experienced during your stay with us. These are certainly not the standards that we aspire to.

I can assure you that your feedback has been seen in a serious light and will be dealt with accordingly to ensure that this does not happen again.

We would like to thank you for the positive feedback as well as the negative. Without this we would not be able to make the necessary improvements.

We hope to welcome you back to Harbour House Hotel in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards
Reneê
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.6 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.5 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.8 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical village, Harbour House Hotel has been modelled after its original architecture, a thatched roof seaside manor house built in 1920. Being perfectly located above the Old Harbour, the hotel's understated luxury is offset by the soothing surrounds of the ocean. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to relax around the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and savour a sundowner from the pool bar in the Pavilion. Harbour House Hotel consists of the restored Manor House with intimate Romantic Rooms, all with views, as well as the New Wing with 18 spacious suites, featuring sophisticated modern decor, a kitchenette and lounge leading out onto a private balcony. Guests are afforded luxury at every turn, from 100% fine white cotton bedding to marble and granite finishes. Sleek lines and carefully curated art pieces add to the modern aesthetic of each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing