We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
west sussex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel to celebrate my 60th birthday. The room was lovely and was greeted by such friendly staff who could not do enough for you. As a previous reviewer stated that The Pavilion restaurant's portions were very small and did not satisfy us although the food was delicious and service was amazing. The breakfast was superb. The only gripe I have was that we ordered sandwiches for lunch requesting brown bread, when they were brought to us we were told there was none available only white, this seems strange in a 5 star hotel especially as there didn't seem to be many people staying there at the time. We loved Hermanus and would definately come back to this hotel. Our thanks to all the staff who made our holiday a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillybear3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Jillybear

I hope your 60th birthday was unforgettable and that the memories of Hermanus and The Marine will be with you for ever.
I must apologise about the incident with the brown bread mix up. A misunderstanding that has been dealt with.
I am delighted to hear that you would consider visiting us again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    138
    60
    20
    11
See reviews for
119
424
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2012

First class hotel in excellent location overlooking the bay. Our advice for first time visitors is to ask for a tea and coffee 'station' when you arrive as these are available on request (no charge) but aren't automatically provided in each room. Also, be aware that the main restaurant (great food and service!) is closed on Sunday and Monday evenings though the fish restaurant (lively and more bistro style) is open every night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear David
I hope we can turn that third visit into a fourth!
Tea and coffee stations will soon be available in all room categories and from August 2012, our restaurant opening times will be altering. Please refer to our website for updates.
We hope to see you again soon
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We rounded off a two week holiday in South Africa with three nights at the Marine. We wanted a touch of luxury and unrivalled sea views and that’s exactly what we found here. Having researched Trip Advisor extensively, we were interested to compare what we found with what we had read. OK, the Marine may not be at the cutting edge of contemporary chic (the bath isn’t on a pedestal in the middle of the room, and there were no illuminated twigs or silver walls) but the décor is calming and stylish in an understated way, and the hotel very comfortable throughout. (Of the five places we stayed at in South Africa, only the Marine came up with feather pillows - top marks there!) And yes, the clientele are in the older age group, but that spares you tattoos and squalling children, so maybe that’s not so bad either! We booked a sea-view Luxury Double, and were upgraded on arrival to a Suite, which was a real treat. It was however on the ground floor, and wanting some privacy for our anniversary trip we thought it would be a bit overlooked. This was no problem, and we were moved without fuss to a first floor room with an amazing view across the bay. The view was so good we chose to have breakfast in our room on two mornings, though we did dine in the Pavilion one evening. The restaurant is spacious and well laid out, with good attention to detail in the menu and service. Every member of staff we had dealings with was, without exception, friendly, approachable, courteous and helpful, but special credit goes to the Reception team who responded positively to every little request. The Marine provides what it offers on its website: book a sea-view room (you can wedge the windows to stop them rattling if it's windy!) and you’re unlikely to be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilGJ888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Neil
I am delighted that you enjoyed a special anniversary with us at The Marine.
Understated elegance and professionalism is what we are about, shifting the focus onto our guests and their experience to creat unforgettable memories.

I hope to see you back with us soon.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

When attempting to organise conference accommodation for 3 of our companies Directors I was put intouch with The Marine, proposed as 'luxury accommodation', by an associate. When filling out the room reservation document I specified SINGLE KING ROOMS and asked for these room types to be confirmed by email. When I received the invoice for deposit I queried the amount that had been taken and discovered that they had been placed in DOUBLE rooms for over double the cost; without informing us before hand. I have asked repeatedly for our deposit to be returned but Marine said:

"Because of the Cancellation Policy on their booking the amount they have taken is non-refundable "

They have issued this response eventhough they illegally took more money than was authorised in writing. We are now putting this through as a fraudulent transaction and when informed of this they haven't even bothered to respond. I am utterly disgusted by a company that is supposed to offer 5 star service behaving like this! they are black listed from our company and even our travel specialist (normally used when booking all company travel) was shocked and appalled by their behaviour.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 20NKW00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We spent one night in this lovely hotel. Room was very nice, staff were all really friendly. In the morning we even managed to see some whales. Would happily stay here again. Breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FizzChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
October is even better for viewing these denizens of the deep. I hope to see you here in 2012 where your experience will be even better.

Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from the 20th January. I had booked a deluxe sea facing room and the room we got was really lovely and all that I was expecting. The bathroom was a little ordinary but still very nice. The attention and friendliness from all the staff was superb. We celebrated our anniversay by eating in the Pavillion restaurant. Although the food that we did get was very nicely presented and I guess if you are really into Nouvelle Cusine it would be ok and it was very tasty but we felt that unless you ate all three courses (and we are not big eaters!!!!) you would be hungry. We were dissapointed with that restaurant. The breakfast however, was excellent. The location is excellent and the sea walk must be fantastic during whale season. We would definately go back again.

Room Tip: Sea facing are lovely but avoid the ones facing west as there is a night club in the next block and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
I am delighted that you had such a memorable time at The Marine. I apologise however that The Pavilion Restaurant did not quite meet your expectations. Next time you visit I gaurantee that we will enhance your experience.
You are quite right in saying that the cliff path walk is excellent. Especially during the whale season.
Hope to see you back soon
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Marine lived up to all our expectations over our four days stay in January. Great Location,Excellent Restaurants and very friendly and efficient staff!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnchristinewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear John
What a pleasure it was to have you at The Marine.
I sincerely hope that we can welcome you back to our sunny shores in the not too distant future.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.4 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.2 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
910 reviews
1.0 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Property: The Marine Hermanus
Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing