We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee”
Review of Caffe Blu

Caffe Blu
Ranked #4 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Hermanus
Price range: US$2 - US$5
Description: Caffe Blu is a counter service espresso bar located in a beautiful historic former station building. It serves top quality coffee, made from Arabica beans sourced specially and ground locally, with a top quality espresso machine and trained baristas. It serves a wide range of hot and iced espresso based drinks such as Americanos, Cappuccinos, Flat Whites and Lattes (plain and flavoured) plus milkshakes, smoothies, a range of special teas, craft beers and wine. It has a large breakfast menu. Lunches include a selection of light meals, mini-pizzas, sandwiches, wraps, paninis and salads. Food and drink can be eaten at the shop or taken away. The shop has a mix of easy chairs and upright chairs, including a family table seating 8, and both internal and external seating.
Restaurant details
Description: Caffe Blu is a counter service espresso bar located in a beautiful historic former station building. It serves top quality coffee, made from Arabica beans sourced specially and ground locally, with a top quality espresso machine and trained baristas. It serves a wide range of hot and iced espresso based drinks such as Americanos, Cappuccinos, Flat Whites and Lattes (plain and flavoured) plus milkshakes, smoothies, a range of special teas, craft beers and wine. It has a large breakfast menu. Lunches include a selection of light meals, mini-pizzas, sandwiches, wraps, paninis and salads. Food and drink can be eaten at the shop or taken away. The shop has a mix of easy chairs and upright chairs, including a family table seating 8, and both internal and external seating.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

Probably one of the best cappuccinos in Hermanus! good atmosphere with a friendly staff. the chai lattes are also great

2  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Caffe Blu, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2016

Sorry for exceptionally belated response. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2016

Eggs Benedict are my favourite - and they are made to perfection - the staff are friendly and efficient - they make lots of yummy stuff too - really worth a visit

2  Thank jonomad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Caffe Blu, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Thanks very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2016

Walked in... staff didn't acknowledge you. Seated myself, waited and waited and waited for service while watching staff behind counter chatting in long conversation in one of the official 12 languages... eventually went to counter and asked for menu. Waited and waited and waited to place order. Eventually got up and placed order at counter for cake and coffee.
Cream in cake was sour.
No follow up service.
Back towards counter to get the tab and paid.
Really a waste of time and money experience.
Menu variety poor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Caffe Blu, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

I am very sorry about that, but we are, like most espresso bars around the world these days, counter service. You would have received instant service if you had gone to the counter and ordered. The great thing about counter service is that it is much faster than waiter service. It is quite easy to see that it is counter service, I think, and it says in bold letters on the front of the menu. The staff must have been doing you a favour to open a tab because we don't have tabs! We are an espresso bar as opposed to a restaurant, and the menu reflects that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2016

loved the freshness of the food and the new way of presenting - the staff is well trained and the cake is delicious

2  Thank Timsnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Caffe Blu, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2016

That is very kind of you. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2016

I moved down to Hermanus recently to stay for 6 month period and stumbled upon Cafe Blu. I enjoy the coffee shop atmosphere. I can sit and read the newspaper or work on my laptop and have great coffee. In the past week I met Nina, the manager and her staff. They are all very friendly.
I walked in earlier today and Nina was calling out my regular coffee order as she saw me. Now this is the kind of place I can call "home". Thanks guys. I feel welcome in Hermanus.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peterjaquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, Owner at Caffe Blu, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Many thanks Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Blu also viewed

 
Hermanus, Overstrand
 

Been to Caffe Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing