We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Accommodation”
Review of Baleia de Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baleia de Hermanus
Ranked #52 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice Accommodation”
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I think I'm the first person to write a review since the new owners took over in June 2010. Chris and his wife are very friendly (Chris loves a joke) and seem to be settling in nicely. The rooms are spacious, not much storage space, but then people usually only stay for a couple of nights. They are clean and have all that is necessary for a comfortable stay. The pool though small is nice, set in a small inner courtyard. Breakfast was hearty. Within walking distance of town and the cliff top walk. Would we return - Yes

Margaret & Jack

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    24
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
30
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terang, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

The rooms here have a lovely beach feel about them, and the hosts are very welcoming. Parking is readily available and its only a short walk to town if you want to leave the car behind. Breakfast is very filling with a lot of variety, including cooked choices. Everything is clean including the pool.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentjaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Easy to find (off main road from Cape Town) and good walking distance from centre of Hermanus. The rooms are on the basic side (no air con or safe) but it was nice to have a kettle in the room. The service was very personal & the fruit salad at breakfast was amazing. The pool is very small, but that's not really what you would stay here for. All in all, this was a great value place to stay & nice base to experience Hermanus.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrwgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2007

We stayed at the Baleia guest house on November 3rd last year for two nights. We were so impressed that we stopped again on November 17 for one night on the way from Knysna to Franshoek. The rooms are large and are equipped with high quality furnishings with huge en-suite bathrooms which are kept spotlessly clean. Frank, the owner makes the best breakfast that you can eat and provides excellent service to all guests. If you ever find yourself in Hermanus, this Guest House comes very highly recommended for quality, service and location.

Helpful?
2 Thank wizz6g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.7 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 km away
Sixteen Guesthouse on Main
Sixteen Guesthouse on Main
#48 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.5 km away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#25 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
#26 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.4 km away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#33 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 km away
Aloe Guest House
Aloe Guest House
#30 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleia de Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleia de Hermanus

Property: Baleia de Hermanus
Address: 57 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baleia de Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide Unforgettable, Uncomplicated Hospitality. All our rooms come with en-suite bathrooms and electric blankets. There is a shared dining area, lounge & bar and swimming pool. All our guests are treated to a full English breakfast in the morning. You also get free use of our Wi-Fi, off-street parking, a safe at reception, concierge service and personal attention. All rooms are non-smoking. You can walk to town and the foreshore leaving your vehicle safely parked on the premises. We want you to not only enjoy your stay here, but also to provide you with a concierge service so that you can relax and take pleasure in the surrounding area. We offer a laundry service and airport transfers on request on a quotation basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Baleia de Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing