We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm and welcoming”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Carpe Diem House

Characterful with friendly cosy flat. Bedroom en-suite, with private lounge/ kitchenette and veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Characterful with friendly cosy flat. Bedroom en-suite, with private lounge/ kitchenette and veranda
Historic Knysna cottage - in original oak-lined avenue.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Characterful with friendly cosy flat. Bedroom en-suite, with private lounge/ kitchenette and veranda
Historic Knysna cottage - in original oak-lined avenue.
A place to relax, unwind and enjoy the beauty and adventures of the Garden Route.
Private lounge with comfortable sleeper couch (double bed size)
lounge
Self catering options available
Fully stocked kitchenette with cookware
Two plate oven combination. Kettle, toaster, microwave oven, fridge and washing area
lounge with TV (Digital satellite TV)
We welcome all travelers
bedroom with en-suite shower and toilet.
Extra long Queen size bed. Best quality mattress to guarantee quality and relaxing sleeping.
cosy bed
Treats for guests
En-suite shower and toilet
Our motto
Entrance to veranda and front door.
Front door in veranda
Outside veranda.
Very safe and secure
veranda
veranda
indigenous plants
street view from veranda
Street view of neighbourhood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Knysna, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
8684Peter...
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed October 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was a pleasant surprise, not only because of the generous space, but also thanks to a warm welcome we received from the hosts. They gave us excellent advice as to where to eat, shop, and hike in Knysna. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
Thanks Peter
We loved hosting you and your wife. You are the sort of guests who make it such a pleasure to offer our home to visitors to the Garden Route.
Thanks
Lex and Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlR543
1 review
“Grubby, under-equipped and major PT to unlock gates to park car”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What a disappointment!

This was supposed to be 4 and a half stars, equipped with cleaning goods and toiletries!
The cottage was grubby and dusty - unswept floors, un-vacuumed rugs, dirty shower (with a bit of old hair left on the floor), and the thinnest pillows I've ever seen.
There were barstools instead of bed-side cupboards with top-heavy grubby lights which were constantly toppling off the stool. The light-switch was somewhere near the ground and difficult to find. The first next to my side of the bed was unacceptable.
The toiletries supplied consisted of 2 x hotel soaps, and 1/2 bottle of hand soap in the bathroom. There was nowhere to plug in a hair-dryer in front of a mirror. The towel-rail consisted of a and-towel rail only and there were no hooks to hang up face-cloths etc and no dish to hold the hotel-soap in the shower.

The equipped kitchen was totally under-equipped with not even a jug provided.

Trying to get in and out of the property was a nightmare with a remote locking security gate that could only be unlocked from inside the cottage - the unlocking button worked only occasionally. At night to park my car behind the picket-fence gates was a mission. One was forced to fiddle around in the dark and put your hand through a hole in the gate to unlock the lock - all without being able to see what you were doing as the lock was on the other side of the gate and we were outside in the dark.

The cottage was not serviced or cleaned at all during the 5 days we were there.

I am astounded how anybody could rate the accommodation as 4 or 5 star but will admit that Lex and Michelle were friendly and welcoming.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
We sorry that your stay with us was a disappointment.

Our home has been given a high star rating by our guests on booking.com and we have been consistent 5-star super hosts on Airbnb for over a year. It seems that many hundreds of guests really like what we offer.

In your review, you expressed unhappiness with the furnishings of the flat, although they are exactly the same as shown in the over 20 photos on the booking site, which you used to make your booking. These photos feature the bedroom, including the bedside pedestals, lamps and bedding. They also feature the bathrooms in which the towel rails are clearly featured. Our toiletries are handmade by a small empowerment business in Knysna employing disabled persons, but we are sorry that they were not good enough for you.

We clearly publish and show our kitchenette to be what it is - a small, well equipped holiday kitchenette. It is not, nor is it advertised as a kitchen for preparing gourmet catering needs. Over 300 people have stayed in our house and we have never had one complaint about our kitchenette being inadequate. However, if you had needed a jug or anything else not available, we would have gladly supplied whatever you may have needed. Unfortunately, you did not once communicate your unhappiness with us, although we lived right next door to your flat and made it clear that if you needed anything, you only needed to ask.

A major issue for you seemed to be the gates. Unfortunately again, you did not talk to us, nor did you seem to utilise the front gate key, which we supplied. This would have easily opened the front gate, even if the electric release was not working effectively. You would then have enjoyed effortless access to the flat and to the parking area where you could have opened the gate from the inside, thereby solving the problem of opening the gate from the outside. (Again, this problem does not seem to have caused our previous guests much concern).

It is clear on Booking.com that we do not offer a cleaning service, nor do we charge for one. We did, however, offer you with a set of fresh and clean towels on the third day of your stay.

We are truly sorry that you had such an unhappy stay in Knysna. And we wish you a happier stay at wherever you or your friends choose to stay on your next visit to the Garden Route.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosielinf...
Nice, France
1 review
“The most friendly, comfortable place I've ever stayed.”
Reviewed June 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Nestled in the town of Knysna, close to everthing but in a quiet neighbourhood, I had such a wonderful stay with Lex and Michelle, they were so welcoming and so helpful.
Would definately go back there in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Thanks Rosiefor the kind words - we know it was not easy with the fires raging in Knysna. You were so understanding and compassionate about the events around us.
You were the best guest anyone could hope for - and I am sure you have become a friend for life!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin L
1 review
“Accommodation in Knysna”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Beautiful, well-equipped apartment within walking distance from main attractions in Knysna. Owners also very friendly and helpful to recommend places to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Thank you for the kind review Karin - we enjoyed your visit and you seemed determined to explore as much of Knysna on foot. Well done. You were great guests
Lex and Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen W
Aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly lovely apartment”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Wonderful and quaint apartment, all the extra touches were greatly appreciated. There was some water and milk in the fridge as well as a chocolate with the towels awaiting our arrival. Very warm welcome from the owners and we couldn't fault any of it. We had a very short but wonderful stay here and now comes highly recommended from us. We would definitely return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erefaan A
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very hospitable hosts”
Reviewed December 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Two minute walk from Knysna CBD. Very accommodating hosts. All the basic amenities you'll need and off street parking.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Thanks Erefaan.
It was a pleasure hosting your family.
Regards
Lex and Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masimba
New York
1 review
“Best place to stay in Knysna!”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We loved everything about this place. Lex and Michelle are wonderful hospitable hosts. Take their advice on everything! You won't regret it. The Carpe Diem house itself, is clean, with comfortable beds, beautiful and cool art and decor, very efficient WiFi, secure parking, and everything you need for self catering if you need it. The house is walking distance to the main street and a short drive to the Heads and waterfront restaurants, so a very convenient location. Wish we had more time to stay here longer, but I definitely hope to stay here again on my next trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Couldn't have asked for anything more
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Danayi and Sanbula, thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. You are the perfect guests and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing