We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical experience”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Lazy Island

View from Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Balcony
Kitchen Side entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
View from Balcony
Kitchen
Side entrance
Dining Room
Lounge
Deck Chair
Outdoor shower
Gate detail
Lounge with fireplace
Shell lamps
Beach unit bathroom
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Knysna, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Thea_CT
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Driftwood and Pebble which was an absolute dream. It was equipped with everything we needed and more. The luxurious spa bath and rain shower were truly heavenly. We loved canoeing and we were incredibly fortunate to see a dolphin and a sea otter while paddling out in the lagoon. After sunset one evening we realised that there was phosphorescence in the water and we were enthralled splashing about, watching it sparkle. Our visit was nothing short of magical. Can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelad1...
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Break-away”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in Pebbles (Lazy Island) on Thesen Island. It was very well maintained, very well priced and no task was too great for Corlia (the owner). Corlia went out of her way to make our stay really memorable and I can happily recommend any of her units to anyone.

Corlia suggested many memorable day trips and really took it upon herself to make our stay unforgettable. The island itself is beautiful and free use of the kayaks belonging to the units made exploring the island so much more fun.

Lazy Island is a definite must when staying in Knysna. You are close to all amenities yet it is so peaceful and quiet on the water.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
december...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing and peaceful stay in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Beach. The property is very comfortable and is very well equipped. It is within an easy ( and safe) walking distance of several cafes, restaurants and bars on Thesen island and is a 10 minute walk to Knysna Quays.The owner/ manager Corlia could not have been more helpful. Knysna is a lovely place to stay and there are many different activities that one can participate in from there or within 30 minutes drive. We would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: There wasn't anything we disliked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie R
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Getaway, Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Booked online through Hello Garden Route which was very efficient.
Spent 1night upstairs using the inter-leading rooms, spacious enough for an 11month and 4yr old to be entertained and 2 nights down stairs which included a lounge and kitchen.
We'll maintained appliances and sufficient crockery and utensils. Decor created a very relaxed ambience making you feel like you're on holiday.
Would recommend upstairs if you have little ones as there is the waters edge to contend with downstairs.
Security were warm and friendly and Theseun Island has the best breakfast/ lunch restaurant in Knysna called Ille de Pain, only a minutes drive or five minutes if you feel like walking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bluegoldh...
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Peaceful setting, lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We spent four nights in the Beach Unit at Lazy Island and had a wonderful stay. Booking was easy online, and communication was prompt and helpful with the owner.

The Beach unit is very spacious with large separate lounge, covered deck over the water, nice kitchen and dining areas, comfortable bed and great bathroom with large tub and open shower. The decor is charming and comfortable. We had breakfast every morning on our deck, looking out over the canals. So relaxing.

The community is secure and gated, with plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance, but still only a short drive to the waterfront and town centre. The unit feels very secure, and includes a safe.

The lights had some problems while we were there but Corlia was on hand to work it out quickly. The only downside was some very noisy upstairs neighbors which detracted from our enjoyment of the lovely setting. If there is a way to cut down the noise that filters down from above (a rug to absorb sound, a more robust door between the units at the bottom of the stairs) that would help a lot.

The owner was friendly and helpful, and was on hand whenever we needed something or had a question. I would recommend Lazy Island for a stay in the Knysna area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Noise from above
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eventr
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Place - Great Location - Nice Owners”
Reviewed 12 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Gorgeous well-maintained (REALLY clean) place with all that you could want and more. Beautiful views of the water. Safe location with a guarded gate. The only thing I would change is the windows in the upstairs rooms are covered with very shear drapes which let the gorgeous sun shine in and in and in. So, if you still have wicked jet-lag (like we did) you will be forced to rise early in the morning. But, the upside is that it gave us lots of time to explore the heads, the beaches, use the kayaks and eat at Ile De Pain for breakfast (YUMMY!) Also, WiFi was spotty. We were travelling as a couple with one other well-travelled couple. We had one of the upstairs studios and the whole downstairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is a stunning place! It was GREAT to have so much room to relax with our friends.
Liked least: WiFi was spotty & the sun shining in and in and in
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing