We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
205
97
31
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
97
31
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bell tavern the cottages smallest pub cottage number lagoon deluxe garden route knysna lagoon bedroom cottage a la carte restaurant main restaurant the main house lovely cottage idyllic location colonial style self catering well equipped kitchen sitting room
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 350 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

We have had a two night stay in one of the two bedroom cottages set in the grounds of the Manor, which overlooks Knysna Lagoon. A very picturesque location complete with its own pub that provides quality pub style food. The cottage is very spacious & well equipped. No hesitation in recommending the Manor.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paulahowlett365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your positive review Paul. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

We were three couples and stayed two nights in a three bedroom chalet.

Yes, it was basic, but it met our needs. We ate both nights in The Bell, the on-site Pub. The food was very good and also the beer.

Highlight was definitely Geoff, who seemed to be everywhere - met us when we arrived, took our drinks orders,our meal orders, delivered the meals, met us at breakfast, showed us the Elephant Tree. He does the job of four people - an amazing guy.

However, all of the staff wereexcellent ☺

The setting of the Lodges next to the lake is very pretty.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Garonne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Belvidere Manor. We hope to welcome you back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018

This little establishment has certainly nice clean accommodation, however sadly the owner manager has lost all interest (by her own admission to us!!) and this shows in the little things sadly lacking which ensures customers return. After booking and confirming on email the special occasion we celebrated and the reason for our trip the manager owner didn't even wish us let alone acknowledge by the standard fruit basket or bottle of wine in our room, let alone a note or comment of any sort! After mentioning it to the manger owner, she continued telling us her 'wish list' and wasted our time about her chef got married and how long overdue it was. Whilst witnessing several customers sending back inedible rotten fish including mine which had a terrible smell. Every meal order was problematic and had to be send back only later to be told by the owner (owner manager's husband) that he was well aware of the fact that they have problems!? We discovered the business is for sale and has sadly been for some time. WHY didn't you inform us of this upfront and we would of spend our hard earned cash and time somewhere else as paying clients we would of been appreciated? Sadly this establishment is to be avoided as a clear 'no care, no love' attitude comes across loud and clear.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toulagounaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

We are disappointed with your review, but do feel we have been misrepresented. Confidential discussions were held after you indicated that you had come to Knysna to further investigate and discuss the property sale. It is in our interest to keep our property and activities at a high standard, and we are fully involved on a daily basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018

We were travelling down the Garden Route as a family and booked one night's stay at Belvidere Manor. We didn't know much about the place but booked it on two recommendations. WOW! We wish we had booked it for a few more nights. The accommodation was fabulous and our meal at 'The Bell' was great, and wait until you meet Geoffrey - 'Lovely jubley'

Room tip: Expect great things!
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephenlane61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Thank you Mr Lane for your positive reponse, and I'm glad you enjoyed Jeff's banter! He is an asset to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

Felt like we stepped back in time! Wonderful setting overlooking the lake. Some might say rooms could do with a revamp ... but we found it added to the charm. Very clean and the staff were amongst the most hospitable, friendly and giving that you could hope to come across. A fantastic stop on the Garden Route which I would highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank adammoghadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Hi Adam, thank you for your positive review. We hope to welcome you back to Belvidere in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews