We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
258
51
22
8
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
51
22
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews course dinner tree house our honeymoon magical place two nights stunning views boma forest suite lodge bath accommodation picnic scorpion retreat deck spiders
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 352 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

This was our stop for a 6 course dinner. Breath taking views. Amazing food. Friendly service. Romantic setting. Costly but well worth it. Must do for dinner at some point in your stay. You will not regret it

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank neals396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended place to stay in Knysna. From the time of arrival we were picked up at the gate with a smile. Upon arrival at reception Elfie took us to our room (Strelitzia). Elfie had a real sense of humor and we were made to feel very welcome and shown around the room in detail.

The room is extremely well appointed and is in a luxury class. We did not have to ask for anything to be brought to the room which is normally the case. It was perfect

If you are worried about traveling in winter don't be as they have under-floor hearing.

The rooms are all in the tree-tops and the views from the room amazing

You have a lot of privacy as you cannot see any of the neighboring lodges.

We booked the additional dinner option and although the price is prohibitive we felt it is worthwhile. We were the only guests for dinner as all the others guests had done their own thing

Our waiter Gerald was exceptional, he was very attentive and we where given 5 star treatment. The food was very unusual but the combination of flavours sublime.

The homemade granadilla ice-cream is exceptional and my wife who is not an rice-cream eater had 2 helpings.

Would I come back here- most definitely , I would book for a longer period next time

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank D8058DWmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Thank you for your detailed review of Phantom Forest eco-reserve and the mention of the sublime flavours experienced in our Boma Restaurant!
We look forward to hosting and spoiling you once again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Lovely stay here and good service. Friendly staff. Food could be improved (ok food dressed up as fine dining) but the surrounding forest is magical and worth the visit. Ideal for a honeymoon or romantic couple getaway. Definitely looking forward to returning. Recommend the canoeing.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank RhodaR51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Owner at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Thank you for your review of Phantom Forest eco-reserve!
With the finest and freshest ingredients and one of the most creative chefs in South Africa, according to one of the Michelin Star judges, we are right up there in the global food scene!
We look forward to hosting you once again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2016

Phantom forest was beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. Friendly staff helpful staff only added to the pleasure of staying there. The 6 course dinners were amazing. Only wish there were other dinner options. Otherwise everything was excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sanchias404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Thank you for your review of Phantom Forest. Our six course dinners change on a daily basis and only the finest, freshest locally sourced ingredients are used in our Boma restaurant!
We look forward to hosting you once again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2016

The service was excellent and accommodation amazing. Would recommend this to anyone who has a love for nature or looking for something different. The 6 course dinner is a must !!! The Chef is very talented. Had a great stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank surinawernerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhantomForest, Guest Relations Manager at The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Thank you for your review and kind compliments regarding Phantom Forest in Knysna!
We look forward to hosting you once again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews