We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
359
85
21
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
85
21
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lady anne garden route fabulous hotel large bedroom country house waters edge sitting area lovely spot mini bar swimming pool long drive oysters very pleasant stay stayed longer each morning attention to detail cape town
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 480 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2018

We were very warmly received by Gerald on our arrival. He also organized for our take away meal to be collected from our lovely room, warmed and brought back in great style on trays and covered. the ladies who brought the food also brought us cutlery and crockery. Breakfast was good with generous servings and the dining room staff well all wonderful people. we will go to St James again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mbomel436451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is fantastic.

Either the staffs and the facilities are above the line. The room is absolutely gorgeous cus it is big, comfortable and clean. The bed has a very unique system which make the mattress warm (phenomenal) and the breakfast deliver the expectations.

As soon as they know that we were in honeymoon they’ve upgraded our room (unbelievable).

I have nothing but compliments to provide to St James and it’s team.

I’d definitely recommend it and get back to it if I have the opportunity to.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018

On our South African holiday this was the most beautiful hotel we stayed in. Hotel is gorgeous and views are even better, elected to eat at hotel first night and it was supurb with the fire going, delicious food and wine. Great place to stay in Knysa with wonderful staff whom are always helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018

An amazing weekend getaway. The food is exceptional. We stayed in the Lady Anne suite, which is highly recommended. You have your own balcony with spectacular views to sit and watch the sun set over the lagoon whilst sipping champagne and eating fresh oysters. The staff were all very friendly and were always willing to assist. For me, that is always a very important point. The bedroom was very comfortable and had a nice bathroom with shower and a bath. Lovely little pub downstairs, with a big fire at night, was perfect to sit and relax after dinner and just unwind. Overall a great boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2018

This boutique hotel is a gem. Situated right on the lagoon a little outside of Knysna it’s a beautiful and peaceful retreat.
The hotel is charming as well as the staff, rooms and bathrooms are spacious, the breakfast buffet is amazing.
Our room situated in a quiet courtyard right next to the pool and a soothing fountain had a terrace overlooking the lagoon and if the weather was too chilly we could enjoy the view from the couch next to our fireplace.
In the evening returning from our hikes we could sit with our friends for a pre-dinner drink in the bar and bask in front of a roaring fire before enjoying a gourmet meal.

Great place to start a South African trek.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KareenC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews