We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
796
23
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
796
23
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail chocolate covered strawberries garden route knysna lagoon owners and staff private balcony little touches our honeymoon knysna heads every evening hill overlooking boutique hotel dinner reservations south africa stunning views a wonderful stay beautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 822 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

Luxurious and perfectly maintained suites high up above with views over Knysna lagoon. Elegant decor with friendly and professional service. Top floor suites with balcony for the views
Great recommendations for restaurants and things to do in the area. Walk at Buffels Bay was beautiful

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights on a garden route trip. With hindsight wish we'd stayed a couple more nights and used Knysna (and this gem of a hotel) as the base to explore for a little longer. Everything was simply immaculate! Location stunning. Wonderful welcome and hospitality from the terrific hosts and their exceptional team, who provided perfectly attentive but not intrusive service in a luxurious and relaxed atmosphere. Fabulous room with stunning views. Top notch breakfast (can be taken on the room balcony or on the terrace.) Terrific attention to detail in all respects. If there's a better boutique hotel anywhere I want to know where it is and want to stay there!

Room tip: The higher rooms take advantage of what is already a stunning view.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NeilGill02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Our family of 5 stayed for only one night. We arrived after a very long drive from Cape Town, and as we walked in, were greeted with warm cloths and a cold drink. The rooms were bright and spacious, with all the amenities we needed. Our family occupied two rooms, and both were clean, comfortable and luxurious. The little attention to detail, with chocolates, water and little flowers were such lovely touches. We were disappointed that we left before the breakfast, but the staff had arranged for us a take away picnic with sandwiches, fruits and drinks. A great place to stop when driving through Knysna or Plettenberg Bay. Highly recommend!

Room tip: We stayed in Materolli and Spitskop - both perfect
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deana818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2016

We had stayed in Knysna before but only for a few days and I planned a return holiday with a longer stay. Looking at Trip Advisor Villa Afrikana stood out with wonderful reviews and wonderful photos from the bedrooms overlooking the lagoon and the Heads.

Communication was very easy and Bianca responded to all my messages. I booked for 8 nights.

Rossano and Bianca and Ona were so helpful with making bookings for evening meals for us. It is almost essential to make reservations for evening meals as the good restaurants in Knysna fill up very quickly for dinner.

They provided a cold bottle of white wine with a cold bag for our first evening out where we could take our own bottle.

We had a room without a balcony and I asked the couch be turned round to face the view which was stupendous.

The service was wonderful nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.

We ordered breakfast on a card the evening before. Every day except one we had breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lagoon. The fruit platter was such a treat each day. I counted 15 different fruits the one day and beautifully arranged.

We were met in the car park and an employee took our cases around the back of the house to the bedrooms. We were on the second floor and the only drawback was the narrow steep spiral staircase leading to the upper bedrooms. If you worry about stairs then ask for a bedroom on the lounge floor so you dont have to use the stairs.

The Villa is very popular and most nights the carpark was full often with foreign tourists. The carpark is a bit tight to get out of but usually someone is on hand to guide you backwards and out through the electric gate.

We spent a day at Penzula spa, another at Featherbed nature reserve, Plett game park, on a yacht through the heads and Sedgefield market.

So plenty of activities.

You will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 41michellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2016

We were travelling back to Port Elizabeth from Cape Town and had spent one night in Oudshoorn and we were actually going to travel straight through to Port Elizabeth and on the last minute we decided to spend one night in Knysna. Well we are really glad we did, this is a stunning property on arrival we had a wonderful welcome by staff and owners. The very first thing I noticed when I walked through the door was the beautiful clean very fresh smell. We were welcomed with a glass of wine and strawberries. The staff here are absolutely outstanding and pay attention to every details. The rooms are stunning a great size and extremely clean with magnificent views. We chose to stay in for dinner as we were tired of driving, they offer a very small light meal menu and this was more than sufficient for us, everything was beautifully served with great care. A wonderful extra which is not offered by many places is that you can choose to have breakfast in your room at no additional cost, which we did and it was wonderful. We spent a good amount of time chatting to Bianca and Ross the owners and we can clearly see why this place has a number one rating on trip advisor it is outstanding with owners that are very hands on, warm and welcoming. I don't think I will every pass through Knysna and not stay here. Well don guys you and your staff are doing an outstanding job.

Room tip: I would suggest you choose the top floor if it is available
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews